We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Beware the special offers - the gallery of room types doesn't match the reality!
I received an emailed special offer from De Vere Hotels and I booked a "King room" as the gallery photo of a large room with 4 poster bed, etc., looked great.
The reality after checking in - a "tired", executive corporate style, room in a modernish wing. Lights not all working, mouldy tiling sealant, chipped fittings. Not bad enough to move after a tiring journey but a big disappointment.
Response from reception staff and the manager to my queeries about room type and defects; I'd been upgraded and it was cheaper than other hotels in Cambridge !!
Not a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike01Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Dear Mike01Bristol

Thank you for your review
I am sorry you did not understand my reply to your questions.

Our offers are not misleading, but it is unrealistic to expect a luxury suite, which we were not offering at a room rate of less than £80.00 per night for the two nights.
The room you occupied does not have mouldy sealant, and the bedroom lights when I checked the room were working, but I accept that lights can blow at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for University Arms Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Apart from the good staff and the location there is little to recommend this hotel.

My "double" room was tired with chipped and flaky paintwork, wallpaper curing up in one it two places and a veneered chipboard head board to lean back on. Odd bits of furniture that did not match completed the sad sight.

However the worst features were the ventilation fans and chillers on the flat roof outside my window which kept me awake half the night.

When I asked the receptionist whether this represented value for my £160 night he, politely but unhelpfully, apologised and said that the hotel was due for a refurbishment.

My recommendation would be to wait until it has had one and ask to see your room before you check in.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear astonman

Pleased you enjoyed the location and our team.

Very sorry you expereinced problems with the ventilation fans and chillers outside of your room.
This is the first time that I have heard they are a problem and our maintenance team are looking at the as I type this reply to your review.

In future can I suggest you ask to speak to the Duty Manager if you are unhappy with the value for money aspect of your room, they are empowered to make adjustments to the room rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Having travelled for 4 and half hours my friend and I arrived at the hotel at a very busy time to check in. The car parking was proving to be difficult, to say the least as the spaces are very limited. However, on going to reception and explaining that my friend was disabled and that I was not sure where we could park, the very polite gentleman on duty could not do enough to help us. In fact he came to help with our luggage and luckily the only disabled bay became available as he was doing this, so we were able to park near the Hotel entrance. However, the charge of £17 I feel is way overpriced.

Our very large room with its superb, comfortable, massive bed was very much to our liking and as it had two large bay windows overlooking Parker's Piece green, we were more than happy. The view was beautifull and not too noisy so as to spoil our sleep. The decor could really do with updating but we found the Hotel to have character which more than made up for this.

All in all, our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minniemouseSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Dear minniemouseSWales

Very pleased you had a pleasant stay and found out reception staff helpful and that we could help you with your parking and your luggage.
Our parking charge is in fact £16.00 and is cheaper than other hotels in the city and the alternative council park parks.
Depending on the size of your vehicle some of our parking bays can be small particularly in you have a large estate car or a 4 x 4.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Handy for city centre. Reception staff friendly. Forgotten the luxury of double glazing, unfortunately although midweek our Regent Street room suffered from the exuberance of both male and female revellers up to 0400 on both nights from amongst the 11,500 students in situ. Be aware of the £16.00 per night charge for parking, also if you are a De Vere member the bar staff refuse your members 20% discount card for food and drink as they are no longer a De Vere owned hotel!!! Room was clean and tidy good breakfast.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room facing Parkers Piece for a quieter experience
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Mick B

Thank you for your review.

Pleased you found the reception team friendly and you like our breakfast.

Like most hotels we do charge for parking if guests want to use that facilty and our parking is cheaper than local car parks.
However a high percentage of our guests come by train and travel to the hotel from the station by taxi.

We are no longer a De Vere hotel and therefore we would not accept discount cards for De Vere staff for hopefully obvious reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We did not spend the night here, but we attended a private black tie dinner for over 100 people. The dinner and table decorations were tasty and festive. The staff was very friendly. We did feel like the bar was a bit pricey, even on house brands. The entire hotel could probably use a facelift but it was quite tidy, with nice bathrooms and comfortable furnishings.

The street side of the hotel is easy to overlook, the park side is quite beautiful. The taxi pickup is under the overhang on the street side and this is a rare benefit found in Cambridge but it is very handy when it is raining. Another favorite asset is that there is a large wood burning fireplace in the reception lobby and there are several comfortable seating areas if you want to warm up or just sit for a rest.

A great place for drinks is just across the street at The Fountain bar. It's 3 stories tall so you can really get a nice view of the city as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Angela H

Pleased you had a pleasant surprise when attending a dinner at the hotel and found our team friendly.
The large wood burning fiireplace is going to be well used now that the cold icy nights are starting.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Handy for Cambridge Centre, but car park very cramped. Rooms comfortable but those with city view can be noisy. Reception staff were most unhelpful - anything was too much trouble. Check your bill for extras, and take copies of any advance payment otherwise you will be charged again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear A R

Glad that you found our location to be good.
Being in the centre of a busy city there are occasionally noise issues.
I am sorry you expereinced problem with Reception.
We do have a Duty Manager who is on duty 24 hours a day, seven days a week to deal with any guest issues.
Please feel free to call the Duty Manager who will do whatever they can to ensure you have a trouble free stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Plus points- reception helpful and friendly, receptionist remembered by name throughout my stay. Breakfast good. Bedroom good size and reasonably warm.
Less positive- three heaters in bedroom but main heating came from the fitted radiator. Some noise at night due to clubs in Regent Street.
Dinner- probably more choice would be warranted for that price range.
One one evening we said we wanted to be out of dinner within one hour. But because waitress forgot to bring sweet card in timely fashion we were unable to have sweet course.
We were told De Vere is selling the hotel; we would expect the new owner to take what is a promising premises up a few levels to provide something truly first class.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Martin S

It is nice to read that you found reception helpful and friendly.
Our breakfasts are very popular due to the large slection we offer.
I am sorry the waitress did not bring your desserts as quickly as you wanted them.

The hotel has already been sold and we are always looking at ways we can improve the customer expereince so you comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £60 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing