We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambridge - Shopping, sights and polite staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cambridge - Shopping, sights and polite staff”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We chose the hotel because of it's ideal location. Once arrived we parked the car and found many things to see and do within walking distance.
The hotel decoration is "old world" and could do with a makeover. It does have some interesting period feature which are very much in keeping with it's history.
The beds are very comfortable with good quality linen. Our room was cold when we arrived but a member of staff soon resolved the temperature control issue.
We arrived early and our room was not ready. We were offered a free up grade for a room that we ready, very nice.
All of the hotel staff were very helpful. They gave a level of service that has been forgotten in many hotels and restaurants.
An overall pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Arrive in good time to get the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear RicahrdCSuffock

Thankyou for your recent post, I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's central location and our 'old world' period features.
I'm sorry to hear that you found your room to be a little cold, however I'm very pleased that our teams were able to remedy this so promptly.
I'm also sorry to hear that your room was not ready for your arrival but I am delighted that our reception team took swift action with a complimentary upgrade.
Thank you for your kind sentiments with relation to our staff. I am pleased to learn that our personal level of service that as you have so rightly pointed out is forgotten in many hotels has been noted. Nothing gives me greater pride.

Thank you once again I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards


Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here this weekend as a group of 4 girls. We stayed in 2 twin rooms and although I would agree with previous reviews about the tiredness of the rooms, we couldn't fault the staff (front desk, housekeeping and breakfast) who were all extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. Excellent location for 4 gals on heels and perfect for our needs. Would recommend for hen parties/weekend get togethers.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the park so had nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Hannah M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review.
I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us, and our teams were able to look after you so well.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our central location, and you found your rooms clean and comfortable.

Thank you again Hannah, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the University Arms in the near future.

Warm Regards
Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The hotel was rather disappointing - simply old and shabby. The room was average, bathroom as well and both in need of refurbishment. I was not impressed with the breakfast - only a cold buffet and warm food (eggs, bacon, etc) had to be ordered and waited for. The price I paid was ridiculous: £129 a night and it was a (large) group booking. Overall, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Irina I,

Thank you for your recent review posed on Tripadvisor. I was saddened to learn that you found our hotel disappointing over all. It is true that some areas of the hotel required some updating, and I am pleased to report that plans for a full refurbishment are already well underway.
I do however I must point out our hotel is decorated in a classical Georgian style, and we do not profess to be anything other.

At the commencement of this year we decided to abandon our hot breakfast buffet in favour of a cooked to order breakfast, including Full English, Kippers, Fresh Salmon, Eggs Benedict and much more. This helps to ensure its freshness, and encourages our guests to have a more interaction with our teams.

Over all, we believe these changes help facilitate a better breakfast experience. I am truly sorry that you have not found this to be the case.

Irina, Thank you once again for your review.
Warm Regards


Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I am just back from a two night break, was a bit worried as I have read other reveiws, but was pleasantly surprised. The reception area and downstairs were nice and staff were all pleasant and polite. Our room although a bit dated and tired was clean, bed was comfy and nice sheets and towels. We were a bit chilly in our room dispite turning up the radiator as there was a draft blowing through the window, it has just been very cold. We had a nice meal in resturant but we were cold in there too. Great location would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Melanie R,
Thank you for the kind review posted on tripadvisor following your recent stay here at the University Arms. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed you two night break, and my team was able to look after you so well. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal and your room was clean and comfortable.

I will be sure to pass your sentiments on to our teams.
I was sorry to learn that you found your room a little chilly, it standard policy to check the temperature of all of our arrival room prior to our guest's arrival. I apologise unreservedly that this would have been over looked in your case.

Melanie R, thank you once again for taking the time to review us. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the University Arms very soon.
Warms Regards

Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Yes, the bedrooms are a bit jaded (and the lighting dim) but the sheets were crisp and white, the pillows soft and the towels fluffy. The staff were really helpful and friendly and breakfast in the panelled ballroom was a treat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Massive,

Thank you for your recent post on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that overall had a positive experience here at the University Arms.

I really do appreciate your kind sentiments in relation to our teams, and I will be sure to this pass along. I must confess that we pride ourselves on the service delivery of our front of house teams, and the dedication of our housekeeping team. I'm delighted this has been noticed.

Thank you once again and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Warm regards


Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I booked this hotel largely on the centrality of its location in Cambridge and the recommendations on this site. I was looking for a basic, business-class hotel that allowed me to walk to the university, where I was doing some research. While the staff was all first rate, the room was below sub-standard. Outlets didn't work and the promised wi-fi was only available in the bar -- not my room. The bathroom was a patched up mess. It looked like nobody had put a dime into this room in 30 years. It was unacceptable. This seemed odd to me since the first floor looked like an English club with a lovely view of the park. I'm not sure what happened here, but management needs to invest some serious money to justify the nightly rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfw_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Johnfw_13

Thank you for your rent review, I'm both overwhelmed and gratified here the believe are staff to be "first rate".
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind sentiments.
It is true that some areas of our hotel are a little dated and awaiting refurbishment. I'm pleased confirm a refurbishment schedule is well under way; however we are still awaiting a date for completion.

Thank you once again

Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend break. I'd seen the hotel when in Cambridge before and really wanted to stay here, although on reading the recent reviews I was a bit concerned.
I'd asked for a room in the old part facing the park.. Luckily I rang on the day to find this wasn't logged but they were able to give us that type of room at an extra £20 per night.So for 2 nights I paid nearly £300.
The room (214) was small and a bit dark due to the little inset balcony. It was traditionally decorated which made a nice change from the generic modern hotels,and clean (apart from the chair arms and net curtain). I was surprised to see, when on the balcony, that we were actually in the modern part, you can't really tell from the inside.I would have liked a bottle of water and a shower cap, which we've come to expect in hotels nowadays.
There was a conference on the first morning so breakfast was in the Newton Suite. We were seated next to a draughty window and asked to remain there until someone brought our tea and took our cooked food order. The tea was plonked down (without any milk) and no one came to take our order. After waiting for a while, we went individually to the breakfast buffet which continually ran out of items of food, plates, bowls etc. No one seemed to be keeping an eye on things, though they did quickly replenish when asked. We eventually asked a waitress for our full English breakfast which, when it arrived, was quite 'petite' (ok for me , but not enough for my husband).
The next morning in the Ballroom the breakfast buffet ran smoother generally.
I wouldn't stay here again as I feel it is poor value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear, Kim R

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the University Arms. Naturally, where possible we try and accommodate as many of the numerous requests that we receive on a daily basis. I am pleased to hear that for a small supplement we were able to arrange this for you.

Having looked into your room allocation, I can confirm this was a Park view room, I appreciate that this room is not as large as some of our more modern accommodation offerings. With regards to the amenities in your bedroom this is something that we are constantly reviewing, and I have noted your comments for our next review.

Finally, regarding breakfast service on your first morning with us, this is disappointing to learn and I am truly sorry that you were kept waiting and that the service in general was not perhaps as smooth as it should have been.
Thank you once again

Best wishes

Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing