We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best room in the house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Arms Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Gold coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best room in the house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had not pre- booked our Cambridge accommodation so took a chance on this hotel in spite of the reviews. It was our wedding anniversary holiday so I am sure that is why we got a wonderful room over looking the playing fields with a lovely comfortable bed and a bath with a view. it was a little expensive but all the hotels in Cambridge seemed to be in comparison to other parts of the country. The staff were helpful and the dining room full of old charm. The hotel could do with a little revamp but it does add to its charm. would recommend it to others but maybe ask to see the rooms first. Cambridge is a fantastic city and is now one of my favorites,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l0vetravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_wilkes, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear IOvetravel13

Thank you for your review.
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us on your wedding anniversary holiday and found our team to be helpful.

Cambridge is a fantastic city and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located, which is its main attraction. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bar pleasant, and the breakfast decent. My room was just fine. The property is a bit old, as some reviewers have remarked, but although worn in spots is certainly not shabby. I enjoyed my stay, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenoBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_wilkes, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear RenoBa

Thank you for your review.
I agree the hotel has a great location.
Pleased our found the team to be friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel has been needing an upgrade for some time. Cambridge is such a busy city though that hotels are always busy which does not give some hotels the incentive to improve appearance or customer service. I was there to work so being put next to a low roof with very noisy kitchen fans was a major problem. They claimed they would go off at night -they did not. When I complained after the first night I got a 'sorry' and a shrug. I asked twice to speak to a duty manager and it did not happen. To add to the issues it took over an hour and a quarter to get a sandwich from room service. After six very disturbed nights I have canceled my next visit and booked a hotel where I can expect to be able to sleep.

Room Tip: Stay well away from any rooms around 131.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Examiner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_wilkes, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Examiner2010

The hotel does need a refurbishment and as previously stated in previous reviews development plans are going to be submitted for planning permission in July 2013.
We do have a Duty Manager on duty 24/7 and I would be very interested to ascertain who you spoke to and why you were not able to talk to one of our Duty Managers

I am very sorry you have decided not to use use again.

Please contact me on 01223 27300 so I can try and restore you faith in the hotel.


Paul G Wilkes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Despite the reviews that the hotel needs a refurb, I booked a superior room for an Easter break and I was looking forward to staying in a four poster bed, as advertised on the website. We did not have a four poster bed in our room; instead we found a shabby double room. I rang reception to complain and spoke to a very rude receptionist who did not want to put me through to the manager (as he would agree with her) and hung up on me during the conversation. When the manager arrived at our room, he informed me that the website does not specify that a superior room includes a four poster bed. Obviously it was foolish of me to assume this when the room is advertised with a photo of a completely different room. There were no other superior rooms available and the manager would not offer us a reduction on our room. Eventually we were offered an upgrade to a twin room, which was slightly better. Breakfast was rather good, with a range of hot and cold options. There is an original 1920s cage lift in the lobby (installed by Otis himself) which is a nice novelty. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel unless you have a spare 45 minutes to debate any complains with the hotel staff.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Not a good start when we arrived at the hotel as the ramp into the underground carpark was so high that we nearly grounded. Also when parked the access door to the reception was security locked. This was fine except that nobody answered the buzzer so we couldn't get in. We took our luggage back up the ramp to the reception area where there was an almighty row going on between a resident and the reception staff. We were then attended by another member of staff and told them we had been in the car park and nobody had answered the buzzer. They assured us that they were present all the time and that nobody had rung. We reiterated and when they checked they said the buzzer was not working!! Thank you, believed at last. Not a good first impression in more ways than one. However our room was clean and tidy although very dated and there were certain aspects that were not good - the lavatory pan had black stains in the base which could easily have been cleaned away with bleach, the shaver point did not work, the door frame was badly cracked and looked as though it had been forcibly broken to gain access and the grouting in the bathroom needed attention.
We were not looking for things to complain about as we were really looking forward to having a relaxing and pleasurable couple of days, but these things should have been picked up as general maintenance issues.
Our dinner on two nights in the restaurant was superb. The food was excellent, well presented and the staff were delightful. However the menu was small and repeated on both evenings. Breakfast was varied although if hot food was ordered it did arrive when we were still eating our cereals. We were not the only people this happened to and it did create a problem.
As a farewell we were overcharged twice on our bill.
Thank goodness the weather was lovely and we enjoyed Cambridge very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_wilkes, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Maureen S

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry the car park buzzer did not work on your arrival.
The buzzer has now been replaced by our Maintenance Team.
Very pleased to read your room was clean, but dated and that you found your dinner in R17 restaurant to be superb.
I am sorry the team attempted to serve the freshly cooked breakfast before you had finished your cereals. We will discuss this point with our breakfast team at our weeklly meetings.
Very pleased you enjoyed the beautiful city of Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The reception area and dining areas look half decent but was a little disappointed with the room. Felt like I'd been time warped back to the 1970's, really not sure who was left in charge of the interior design at this place but the rooms and corridors could do with some modernising. Neither of us slept particularly well on what appeared to be two poor quality single mattresses joined together but the room was clean and we were hardly in it.
Breakfast was good, the dining room has a great view and the hotel is well located with all the attractions being within walking distance. Parking was £16 per night.
I'd like to think there are better value rooms in Cambridge but maybe there isn't.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_wilkes, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Chris W

Thank you for your review.
Please you enjoyed our breakfast with the great vews over Parker Peace.
As explained in previous review our plans for a refurbismen have been completed, however I was unhappy that you did not sleep well due to the bed being uncomfortable.
We replace our beds on a regular basis and this should not have been the case.
I am not sure which bedroom you stayed in, but would be grateful if you could please advise me so I can arrange to change the beds.
My contact details are 01223 273000.

Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I really like this hotel but it does need a good refurbish as it can be a bit shabby around the edges. Staff are friendly and the breakfast is the most amazing I have ever had but it needs a good paint and fresh bathrooms put in!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_wilkes, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Greli

Very pleased you really liked the hotel and found our team friendly.
Our breakfasts are well known and it was nice to read they were the most amazing you have had.
We have just competed our plans for a very substantial refurbishment which is going to be submitted for planning permission in July 2013.

Thank you again for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing