We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What was a reminiscent of past glory old descent hotel (169GBP/a night) turned up to be a quite unhygienic hostel sleep.
The lobby is beautiful and quite a seller, it reminded me of the Grand Budapest Hotel setting.
The lift is lovely and reminiscent of old Haussmannian buildings in central Paris.
But that’s about it.
Coming to the room, it was large and quite a good size for myself, my husband and two children.
The wall paper was missing in parts, the drawers were dirty and had rubbish in them, behind the fading dirty sofa, hasn’t been cleaned for a while.
The bathroom door didn’t close and the sink and the toilet haven’t been scrubbed for a while. Had I stayed longer, I would have gone to the shops to get some bleach.
The air conditioning didn’t work at all. My husband who slept on the sofa, as the double bed wasn’t really a double, had spots on his feet and arms, but we didn’t see any creepy crawlies physically.
Breakfast was quite average but not bad. The grill stopped working every minute and guests kept calling the waiter to put it back on.
The only advantage is it was right in the centre and we really had a nice visit to Cambridge.
But I wouldn’t go back there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n_moutih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Cambridge University Arms Hotel, however sorry to hear your stay was disappointing. I have forwarded on your comments to the relevant departments concerned as it is through feedback that they can address any issues there may be, If you would be so kind as to e-mail me direct on christine.gallop@universityarmshotel.com we can have a look at the rooms you stayed in with regards to your comments.
Kind regards
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you've seen Grand Hotel Budapest, you've been to University Arms. Its charming and a little bit tired. But the complainers here are wrong: it's tired in a really pleasant way. The creaking lift was made in 1927 - you would make noises if you were almost 90, wouldn't you? The palatial lobby comes complete with a working (!) bakelite telephone. The staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms are adequate and charmingly olde England. Recommended wholeheartedly for a different, but pleasant, experience.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Superior room. Only 10 pounds more than a standard room but more space than some Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel with such lovely descriptive words that really do sum up the hotel. It is, as you say “charming Olde England”, different from any other hotel in Cambridge and in keeping with Cambridge itself, with is quirky individual style. I shall feedback your lovely review to the team, they will appreciate it!

I do hope that we will welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in what was called a classic double- we could not move in the room as it was so tiny. The next room we stayed in was unclean and very depressing will never stay here again. The service was terrible.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4g4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

It is most regrettable to learn that did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. Please feel free to e-mail me with your specific comments and I can look into any service issues you had. My e-mail is christine.gallop@universityarmshotel.com.

Kind regards
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Like many reviews on here, I must praise the excellent customer service of this hotel.
The food was good and the public areas were well presented. The website is careful to avoid the hideous 60s extension, which is a little naughty, but you only have to Google the hotel to know what you're really letting yourself in for.
Unlike others, I had no problem with the carpark, finding it easy to get around and find a space. The charge of £16 felt steep initially, but we arrived before noon and left just before noon the following day and you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else in the city that would charge less.

The rooms were tired, with stains on the ceiling, cracked bathroom tiles and a general feeling of neglect, but that is far more the fault of the past than the future and I wish the current owners the best of luck in refurbishing a once great hotel.
If the new decor matches the high quality of the staff, they'll be on to a winner.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to the rooms overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Dobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Mr Dobson

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and comment on the excellent customer service at the hotel. I will feed this back to the team, as it is incredibly rewarding when guests take the time to make good comments. Thank you also for your wishes with regards to the refurbishment of the hotel. It is certainly an exciting time for the hotel and the plans outline the refurbishment which will make the hotel what it used to be “the best hotel in Cambridge”. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Thank you again.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

just an over night stay…..large room, very comfortable bed and a superb outlook over Parker's Piece. Excellent breakfast and excellent service from friendly and helpful staff……..but De Vere's, the owning chain, let their staff and this lovely old building down….away from the beautiful public rooms it's a tired place, stained carpets, frayed wallpaper and decaying window frames……come on De Vere spend some money on the place.

Room Tip: get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor with a view over Parker's Piece.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelvinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Kelvinroy

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experience how friendly and helpful our staff are at the Cambridge University Arms Hotel. I will pass your comments onto the team as it is these positive comments that encourage and motivate. You will be pleased to know that the hotel will be having an extensive refurbishment and will be indeed the premier hotel in Cambridge. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.
Kind regards
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel has an old-world look and feel but this is more attractive in the public areas than in the rooms, which - at least in my case - are looking dated. I understand a refurb is being carried out, and probably not before time. Having said that, the room was an adequate size and was comfortable.

Location is very central, and also about a 15 min walk from the railway station. Breakfast is fine - orders are taken for hot breakfasts but they're delivered quickly. Staff were professional and polite. A dedicated taxi phone linked to a local provider and taxis would rush round in 5 to 10 mins.

One slight gripe was around the wifi; rooms do have free wifi but it was somewhat temperamental in my room, cutting out at times, and I did wonder whether the bandwidth was sufficient at peak times.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room on a higher floor to avoid the noise from late night rowdies in the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Philip

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cambridge University Arms Hotel. The hotel is indeed looking forward to a refurbishment, however in the meantime I will look into your comments with regards to the WIFI with our maintenance team. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back once the hotel has been refurbished.
Kind regards
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I agree with many of the poor reviews , I guess it would be a few years before the UA reaches 4 star standard again.

I was disappointed by :-

The poor state of the bathroom , rusty and mouldy windows are not acceptable - nor are poor standard botched attempts at resealing the surfaces around the bath.

The heating. Every corridor was like a sauna , and our room was no better. I was momentarily cheered by the air conditioning unit - but alas it did not work.

The noise from drunken students messing around in the park at 2am !

The noise from traffic starting at 6am (the price you pay from having to open the rusty windows).

The breakfast ! Tasteless bacon and sausages. A travesty when there is so much good local produce available.

Would I stay here again ? No

Room Tip: Ask to move to one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, however I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. In the rooms that do not have air-conditioning, we supply fans in order to offer guests a solution to the problem. I will pass your comments onto the chef with regards to the breakfast. We do use local produce wherever possible, especially in our R17 restaurant, which is rated 6 on Trip Advisor. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Cambridge University Arms hotel once it has been refurbished.
Kind regards
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#16 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Address: 1 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £58 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing