We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Impressions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Arms Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Impressions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for just one night to be close to an event the same evening in the heart of Cambridge.
Booking was very simple and although I thought the hotel a little on the pricey side, it is probably no different from other central city hotels.
Hotels often divides the opinion of my wife and me, specifically the condition of them.
I saw a charming, old world, spacious hotel and room and a comfortable bed for the night. My wife saw any dirt, non-working appliances and poor condition of the paintwork, bathroom, etc.

Good points:
Great location
Spacious and clean room
Friendly and very helpful staff
Easy check-in/check-out

Tips for the Hotel:
Advise visitors using their cars where their car park/entrance is to avoid learning this, missing it and going around the block.
Ear plugs to counter the noise from outside. I slept through the night but my wife had a largely sleepless night due to drunken shouting from the park below for most of it. Premier Inn would have given us our money back! Still, we were in a student town on a Friday night.
Check the guttering when looking out of room 314 to the left! The hotel is heading for problems due to guttering support falling off the building (Health and Safety) and water damage to the fabric of the building.
Before the rooms are occupied, it might be an idea to check that the TV remote batteries are live and that the A/C unit in the rooms are operable. Saves having to call room service. We had hoped to counter the noise from outside by using the A/C however, room service could only report it unusable to maintenance the next morning...not much good to us. I suspect that this and other A/C units may have been out of commission for a while. I would have thought a check-list carried out by the cleaning staff would flag up issues like this prior to occupation of the room.

Otherwise, happy to visit again!

Room Tip: I can only advise that if staying on the park side of the hotel, consider ear plugs if things get ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Director of Sales at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review and tips with regards to your stay at the Cambridge University Arms Hotel. You have posted some very good tips which will be passed onto the teams involved to review and ensure that all the points have been addressed. The hotel is certainly the best located hotel for a city centre visit with all Cambridge’s attractions within walking distance. I will feedback you comments with regards to the friendly and very helpful staff too, as it is through positive feedback that we can encourage and motivate our teams.
Thank you again for posting your review and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for one night and had a fantastic experience. The room was refurbished and exceptionally clean and comfortable. The staff on the desk were extremely polite and helpful. A real positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently back form 3 nights at The University Arms whilst on business in the centre of Cambridge. I knew the location was superb, probably the best located hotel if you are wishing to use Cambridge's centre. I was note anticipating my stay to be as good as it was based on a number of Trip Advisor Reviews. First my room on the second floor was very pleasant indeed: a huge bed, thick clean carpets, thick new curtains, fresh wallpaper and an excellent shower. Yes the bath was a bit old but absolutely fine. My only grumble was a buzzing sound that appeared form near the air conditioning unit (whether switched on or off). This buzzed twice in succession and then every hour or so which was an irritation at night.
The breakfast room was beautiful. Very large, oak panneling and a great view onto Parker's Piece through large windows. Cooked breakfast was served to order at the table and a wide range of other foods were set out tastefully. Full marks.
The bar area and grand piano foyer added a grand impression to this fine hotel.
On reception desk and elsewhere staff were always helpful and cheerful.
Would I visit again? Most definitely, but next time it will be on a family visit to enjoy the many sites right on the doorstep of this splendid hotel. Be quick though for I gather there are grand plans for the University Arms is the not too distant future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chopperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Director of Sales at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Cambridge University Arms Hotel. The hotel is certainly the best located hotel for a city centre visit with all Cambridge’s attractions within walking distance. The bar and lounge area are truly grand, and provide the perfect area for relaxing whilst taking in the historic aspect of the hotel. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel while visiting Cambridge for a conference just before Easter. It was a "mystery" hotel offered by lastminute.com for a price similar to the college accommodation offered by the conference organisers. My room was spacious and charming and the breakfasts were excellent with a lovely view over Parker's Piece from my room and the lovely dining room. The staff were efficient and helpful and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here. I wished I had more time to enjoy the hotel!

Room Tip: I followed advice to ask for a refurbished room and my room was lovely. Characterful and well mainta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smallfrys_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased that enjoyed your stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that the staff were efficient and helpful and I will certainly feed this back to them, as it is though comments such as yours that motivate and encourage them to provide such a high level of service.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Yes, it is expensive but that is true of all hotels in Cambridge. Parking was an issue, there were no places at the hotel and my very stressed husband had to drive around Cambridge to find somewhere to park. Not an ideal start. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Yes, the carpet was frayed and it was certainly no modern, shiny hotel but that really added to the charm. Lovely location and helpful staff. Nice bar but very expensive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annielouh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel charming and the staff helpful. Here at the University Arms we strive to offer the highest level of service and whilst the hotel is waiting for a refurbishment, we still provide the charm and character that many hotels lack. I hope that you we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Perhaps we were unlucky to stay in one of the rooms in the 70's extension, as the original part of the hotel looked quite nice, but the Front of House is desperately tired and tatty and our room had the look of a seaside boarding house. The decor is appalling and the room very badly maintained - we reported the broken shower and broken air conditioning unit, but the desk staff didn't seem too concerned, so maybe the standards are deemed to be acceptable. The reception on arrival was very pleasant and the sheets were clean, they really were the only positives in what was a fairly depressing stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SaUsAgEs-are-TaStY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased that you found reception pleasant. I was, however disappointed to hear the that you did not enjoy your stay and found the décor of the hotel appalling. The hotel will be having an extensive refurbishment at the end of the year and I hope that you will return once this has been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Shabby, shoddy and over-priced.

Prime site , nice view at breakfast of the frolicking young but the last piece of modernisation was probably the installation of plastic key cards . Absurd lack of lighting in the rooms so could not read documents for a meeting the following morning. Parking overnight was £16 - though no information about this forthcoming when checking in . Not worth a quarrel when checking out with the perfectly decent reception staff. Coffee at breakfast probably Nescafe – or a decent impersonation . In a silverish pot. Sums up the whole thing really. £ 159 without the parking .

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the hotel. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I am concerned that you had no information about car parking charges when you booked your room as we endeavour to inform all our guests on booking at the hotel the cost and availability. We only serve Douwe Egberts coffee who are master blenders, however I will pass on your comments with regards to the traditional coffee pots that we use. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the reception staff, I will certainly pass this on to them and it always encourages and motivates them, when hearing such feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing