We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance and charm in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Elegance and charm in a great location”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We had only one night as we wanted a hotel close to the centre of Cambridge as we only had time for a quick visit. I had booked using the internet and later read some negative reviews so we were a little concerned about this stay. The hotel far exceeded our expectations and we would recommend it warmly to others. The room was comfortable and well appointed, serviced by a quaint elevator. The buffet breakfast in the dining room overlooking a common with people cycling to town was excellent both in food and ambience.
Our proximity to the town centre meant that we could use our time to see as much as possible of the colleges and river and shops.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I chose this hotel for its central location but that is the only thing it has going for it! The hotel is extremely dated (rooms with fleur de lys wallpaper-peeling off , huge old fashioned TV's, grubby chintz curtains and worn carpets) and quite depressing. Such a pity because, with a major refurb it could be amazing with beautiful views etc. Breakfast was rubbery fried eggs, sloppy scramled eggs, watery baked beans. Not a pleasant experience. The Doubletree, although more expensive (and not perfect in itself) is a better bet, but Cambridge could definitely do with some more nice hotels!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel itself is relatively large and functional, set in a convenient central location. It seemed more geared to those staying for business rather than for leisure. Rooms were merely adequate. There were a couple of minor incidents during the stay which would normally pass without comment and were certainly not significant enough to ruin our stay – e.g. the waiter giving us an out-of-date menu and then spilling the wine over the table; the barman who had no idea how to make a very simple aperitif (Kir Royal) and then got quite defensive when I told him how to make it (in the event he didn’t have any Crème de cassis anyway); the waitress who asked us at breakfast if we wanted her to get us some extra hot water for our tea, and when we said, “yes please”, didn’t bring any! However, it was the hotel trying to charge us twice that ruined our stay. When checking in I pointed out that we had pre-paid for the room and produced the email which clearly stated “This booking has been pre-paid” with the booking reference, amounts, etc. Despite this the receptionist somehow got it into her head that the room had in fact not been pre-paid. I asked her to check their records and went up to our room in the expectation that she would locate the relevant records. Just to be sure, a little later as we were on our way through the foyer, I checked with another receptionist who confirmed that payment had indeed been received. Imagine my surprise then when, the following morning, the bill showed a charge for the room. When I again queried this, the receptionist (yes the same one who booked us in) first tried to fob me off with frankly incredible stories in an attempt to explain away why she was still refusing to accept that payment had already been made. When I refused to accept her unconvincing explanations I was made to feel as though the hotel thought that I was trying to pull a fast one which I found embarrassing and demeaning. It was only after I decided to call my credit card company who confirmed that the payment had been made (over a month before) that the hotel finally accepted that they were wrong. Even then it was sort of grudging. That was until I mentioned tripadvisor! Suddenly, they were very apologetic. Too late.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhenInRome017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The University Arms yet again came up trumps. We always stay in Cambridge when visiting our daughter.We have stayed in all 4 & 5 star hotels in Cambridge,whilst they have all there own individual characters, from the first stay in University Arms we would not stay anywhere else.The food ,The Staff, the ambience is second to none.A bar meal looking over Parkers Piece watching the world go by is all I need.Well Done yet again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is well located only 10/15 minutes walk from the centre, the bed was also very large and fairly comfortable. However, the parking facilities are inadequate, there are not many parking spaces to begin with, some of the ones that there are you cannot even fit a small car into them and it is very difficult to manouver in or out of the carpark. The carpet in our room was held together with duct tape in several places. The bathroom is old and in need of renovation. The room was very noisy and we could hear all the noise of people and traffic in the street. We also came across some very rude members of staff. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The staff in every part of the hotel were excellent, nothing was too much trouble,
The breakfast was great, huge variety.
The room was spotless and the bed really comfortable.
The corridors looked reather tired but there is evidence that decorating has begun.
The area was no more noisy than you would expect in a city at night.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieJSouthport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

First impressions not bad until we got to the room, Cold and needing a lot of attention not what we expected for a De Vere hotel had to contact reception to get a few issues sorted ie Lack of heat, Bulb out in bathroom.
Evening meal in restaraunt -: wine choice not available, Beer run out after first drink (but found it was still available in Bar) Main brought to table before all Starter course plates taken away. Sunday Morning breakfast arrived at restaurant to be told no table for half an hour, but 3 larg table's layed for a wedding party and only one being used, and as we where there as a family of 6 we where not able on our return to sit together.
We are not able to recommend this Hotel as it came a long way short of our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing