We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a bit outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The location of the University Arms Hotel is definitely great and probably it biggest asset. The whole place is a bit outdated. The rooms are big and the beds are good - but that is it. The bathrooms look a bit cheap; the breakfast is terrible (if you have the choice book a room without breakfast) and parking is quite expensive. In general prices are quite high. The hotel staff left a positive impression - friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaultmillau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2010

its a shame this place lets itself down..
I have stayed here numerous of times for business, i have just got back and am dissapointed this time.
I have had a few complaints in the past regarding doors not locking etc. This time i was moved rooms 3 tiems as i refused to stay in the first 2 i was given. They looked grubby and run down and plants growing up the windows on teh outside is not a good view.
Like i say this hotel is a let down as it could be gorgeous. Its in a very handy location, but the rooms need a serious revamp..
Cobwebs on the ceilings would take minuets to clean, It has a very old fashioned feeling.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays24England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Oh my oh my! We've been using this hotel for almost 2 years as our company use it for our frequent visits! If it wasn't for this we would not be here!
Faulty towers is 5 star in comparison. The building is outdated, refit signs been visible for the last 2 years, although scaffolding has now gone up on the exterior, focus should be more on the interior! The cealing in the bar is undone and the rooms are in dire need! Focus should be with them.
It's a unique hotel where no 2 rooms are alike. Some, 214, 314, 213 are great and others really are a dive. Many times there have been ferrying from room to room as we've checked in to find dirty rooms, rooms with no locks, broken fixtures, including windows that don't close in winter! Internet connection very poor, wireless downstairs and wired in room, however most I've been in do not work!
Staff, well a selection are friendly but you have to be lucky to get these. Some are very rude and have been caught making rude jesters towards our group! Come back Neil you were their saving grace!
Food: a sore subject, we have an allowance to eat at hotel, there are 2 places to eat there restaurant and bar, both I would advise ordering at least an hour before if you don't min waiting. On receipt please expect cold food and items missing or even items are not ordered! This has been the same if there been 2 or 12! There is no allowance for alterations in the restaurant even if they have the items in stock, even though the menu is very limited and over priced for the quality and quantity and even the service! They offer promotions with no Ts and Cs and then tell you you can't use them or it's 1 per table.
Sorry to go on but really it's one to be avoided....
Breakfast is a mess, cold food yet again, raw eggs given, no just once even, again beverages ordered and never arriving. Service, not with a smile.
Back to rooms and they are really run down, I've had toilets that you can not sit on, some that doesn't flush well, baths that don't drain, showers that give a dribble and barely wash you! Creaky floor boards, beds that are 2 pushed together and have a ridge in the middle, beds that come away from the wall, I could go on!!!

Please it's one to avoid and I must admit that we are now going to request a different hotel, the Travelodge would be better!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mootropia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This hotel is not child friendly, unclean, cramped & over priced - but at least you get to listen to music till the early hours for free!! Upon our arrival a mature gentlemen walk passed us on our way to our room and said to us "I think we have arrived at the end of the world" He was right. Better of staying in a tent on the lawns opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy10040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Having just returned from a conference at this hotel where our company was exhibiting, we have to thank the manager William and his amazing team of helpful staff for looking after us so well, nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to help us.
While we agree with all the criticism regarding the tired bedrooms etc we hear that a refurbishment is planned soon and with the excellent standard of service they offer I am sure it will be wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icesk8terglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We had two nights here on a cheap bed and breakfast deal from the De Vere website. Accommodation in Cambridge is generally expensive, or not conveniently located. The University Arms Hotel has a good central location. The main problem, as others have commented, is the lack of TLC, which looks like it has been going on for years. The entrance to the hotel could never good great, given the architecture, but what made it really depressing were the old, faded, dirty, raggy, flags hanging up there. Why not just take them away? Empty flagpoles would have looked a lot better.

The reception experience was good, and given at the price we paid we did not expect a great room. Nor did we get it. There were two main problems. Firstly the riot of patterns, which could have been redeemed if the one on the walls had been painted over in a nice plain cream colour. Worse were the practical problems. There were twin beds and on one of them two of the feet were missing, which meant that the bed rocked unpleasantly. Surely the chamber staff had noticed this while changing the sheets? In addition, the telephone would not work. When we reported these faults, efficient and courteous repair men rapidly attended and put them right, but it would have made a better impression if the problems had been fixed before we arrived.

The dining room is impressive (although again suffering from the dated and heavy decor) and the breakfast was good.

There was free wifi in the lounge area downstairs, so I took my laptop there. This was the main foyer area of the hotel, under an impressive mirrored dome, but the coffee table on which I put my laptop had a veneered chipboard top. Over the years, moisture had seeped under the veneer and the table top edges were swollen and coming apart. It looked awful - a few years ago I tried to give some furniture to a charity shop. It was in much better condition and they refused to accept it, saying the condition was not good enough!

Come on De Vere - why have you got damaged, junk, furniture in the guest lounge area? Why are the basics in the rooms not checked before the guests arrive? Get the flags down, get out the magnolia, ditch the junk tables, and the University Arms hotel would be a lot better at little cost to the company.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macapuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

If your looking for a great hotel in the centre of Cambridge city centre then look no further. I stayed here for 2 nights with my Husband and young son and we couldnt fault this hotel at all. The room was spacious and very clean with a great view over looking the park. The staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble and the brekfast was superb. One of the great things about staying here had to be the location as you are no more than a 5 smin walk to the hustle and bustle of the shops, university, parks and canals. We throughly enjoyed staying at this hotel and have booked to go back in December.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyc074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Address: 1 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £61 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing