We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service but desperatally needs refurbishment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
cannock
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Service but desperatally needs refurbishment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Don't want to sound too negative here as this hotel has many good points i.e best breakfast you could wish for, the excellent service provided by it's staff and it is full of charm and charecter. However we are judging a 4 star hotel here and it is in desperate need of refurbishing. We stayed in an executive room (kindly upgraded too free on arrival) but the room was far from executive. The critical eye can see it hadn't been decorated in many, many years, the paint work was chipped, there were rub marks off the chairs on wallpaper etc. The bathroom had a bath pannel which did not fit and was not even fixed and paint was flaking off the ceiling in the corner to name a few faults. Another point we found a little dissapointing was a sauna/ swimming pool was listed by the hotel. Yes it does provide these facilities but they are a good few hundred yards walk away over the other side of the public green area, not what we wanted to do before breakfast on a very cold February morning.
This is a lovely hotel but needs to be refurbished to preserve it's status and the buildings historic charecter.
Overall i'm not saying it ruined our stay but we did expect better of a 4 star establishment carrying the de Vere name ,once again though a massive thumbs up for that breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhollsCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst visiting friends in Cambridge.

When entered the room what struck us was how creaky the floor was and wondered what it would be like when other guests walked around their rooms. Needless to say it was noisy.

The furniture, fittings and fixtures can only be described as shabby, antiquated, cheap and in the most awful colour combinations.

To top it all off, although one accepts that towel rails will be hot, one does not think that they will be scalding. I have a 3-inch burn on my forearm from simply touching it for less than a second (!).

I will not be recommending this hotel at all, especially as they charged £195 for what was a very sub-standard room.

I completed one of the De Vere hotel feedback forms yesterday and am yet to even receive a confirmation of any sort a full day later.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnoyedinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Im writing this review whilst sitting in the hotel room because i feel so passionately about my experience at this hotel. I have never been so disappointed in a hotel before. It claims to be a 4 star hotel, i would give it no stars! It cost nearly 200 pounds for 1 night. I have a long journey back home tomorrow and had an even longer journey to cambridge today. So the last thing i expected was to be incredibly disappointed with such a brand. I can forgive the dated decor but what i cant forgive is the mould growing in the bathroom, suspicious brown substance on the floor, exposed wires in the room, worst of all the dirty bed sheets on which i now sit, too scared to sleep in. there are too many things to list and frankly im too tired. This is for other people who might be thinking of staying at this hotel. Dont!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuress00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

The past few reviews (positive and negative) are all correct, so I think some additional context is needed. Cambridge does not have many hotels, and most of them are old and overpriced. I was part of a group of more than 20 people visiting Cambridge, some stayed in the University arms and some elsewhere, and comparing our impressions, I think that the hotel does represent very good value for money. On the plus side, the rooms are reasonably sized, the hotel has an old english ambience, the english breakfast is very good, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the location is very good (walking distance to everywhere, including bus and train stations). On the minus side, the furnishings are old, some rooms only have semi-portable heaters that I doubt are sufficient for low temperatures (below zero), Internet access is spotty (wired may work or not, wireless is available in some areas only) and the lighting in the rooms is insufficient. But, having stayed in two other hotels in Cambridge, I found this one to be quite OK overall, and very cheap compared to the acceptable alternatives. So I will definitely return on my next visit to Cambridge.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank xgeorgeAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We have visited this hotel now a few times and the best in Cambridge We have a daughter at University here and have tried other hotels but it is like coming home when we stay here. There is always a warm welcome from management, reception, breakfast staff and even the housemaids who now all recognise us. We agree with some of the reviews that the hotel is indeed becoming in dire need of renovation but the staff are wonderful, breakfast superb, rooms so clean and spotless with terrific beds The public areas are traditional but the different floor coverings are dated. So what - it is always a great stay for us and on our anniversary we were pleasantly surprised to be given a bottle of free wine, fruit and chocolates with lovely bathrobes and slippers. Nice to see the staff caring for their guests which makes up for the decor. Will be back every three months.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eauze
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Given a room with no central heating, just a small portable heater which was a problem when its minus three. Hotel suggested I should wait a couple of hours for the room to warm up so I went to the restaurant (the bar was also very cold). The food was fine but the service slow, over an hour and a half for one course.They should never have let this room, they knew the heating didn't work.
Complained about the room and moved the next morning. Both rooms small with tiny bathrooms.Hand basin so small in second bathroom I could fill the kettle had to use the bath tap. Peeling wallpaper, grubby furniture and poor lighting (very difficult to work in your room. Plus point-large comfortable bed.
Staff were willing but lack initiative. This is a hotel in urgent need of a major refurbishment. Not value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

This hotel is by NO means a 4 star hotel like the website and description says. I would say its a solid three if you combine the room, lobby, breakfast and deal that we received upon booking our stay. We booked for two nights, less than 200 total and that included free breakfast and free dinner. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the wait staff in the restaurant and breakfast room were the same. The lobby, restaurant and breakfast room were very beautiful and we were very impressed with our full English breakfast buffet and thought our dinner in the hotel was good as well (although we probably would not have chosen to eat there if it had not been included in our stay only because of all the other great restaurants in the area). The location was an easy 15 minute walk from the train station and 10 minutes from the city center.

Now for the negatives: our room was good sized for a European hotel room and it appeared very clean. As other posters had mentioned, we had water stains on our ceiling and lots of chipped paint on the walls and floor boards. The room reminded me a bit of my grandmothers house from the 60's - rather outdated and the furniture had seen much better days. The bed was comfortable and clean. The TV was a bit outdated as well as was the hairdryer and lighting in the room. The bathroom was clean, but very small. The hallways could use a new coat of paint and the carpets could be replaced. The place just seemed worn out. As I mentioned before, the location was great for walking into the city center, but it is right across the street from many popular bars and clubs so keep that in mind for Friday and Saturday nights if you need a good nights sleep.

Overall, a good deal for us but if I returned to Cambridge I would try a different hotel. Devere could invest just a little bit of time, elbow grease and money into the rooms and it would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing