We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value afternoon tea on groupon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After reading previous reviews I was a bit concerned about our visit. However, we had afternoon tea for 4 using a groupon voucher £9 a head. This I think was very good value, yes the sandwiches were slightly dry and a lack of choice of cake (just a shop bought cream sponge), but the warm scones , cream and jam were very good and a lovely cold glass of Prosecco, plenty of tea. I have been lucky enough to have tea at the Ritz which yes is fabulous , with far better cakes etc - but is 4 times the price. Yes the hotel is a bit dated but for a pleasant afternoon tea it's good value. The hotel should make the effort to make home made cake though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rossmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Rossmeister
Thank you for the posting following your afternoon tea with us and your positive comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Cambridge again.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Royal Cambridge. It is very conveniently placed for the city centre and a stop just down the road for the open bus tour. I felt the hotel is desperately in need of updating. Our double bed base was disgusting many tea type stains which could easily have been hidden by a valance. We did however sleep well both nights mattress was firm but comfortable. The bathroom had holes in the floor beside pipe work and the shower was very weak. There was plenty of hot water. The decor is faded in many areas for example curtains and wallpaper. I will say the room was otherwise clean. The tea making facilities were the usual you would expect but not sited anywhere near a plug socket for the kettle. There was no information in the room re what the hotel had to offer or 'dos and don'ts. The cost for residents cars is £8 a day which I felt was on the high side as we were patrons. We didn't spend much time in the room taking advantage of the close proximity to the city and all it had to offer. The staff were very polite and efficient. The breakfast was buffet style, again adequate nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Birdie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Birdie50
Thank you for your post following your stay with us. I am sorry that it was a mixed review and the areas you highlighted that require attention. While we are a traditional hotel I note your comments regarding the overall fabric but I am pleased our location was excellent and the team a big positive.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights and were not impressed. There are multiple reasons for choosing an other hotel:

* The bathroom was badly water damaged. The plumbing was constantly dripping water and the wood panel on the bathtub had soaked up enough water to look like a health hazard. Despite the obvious presence of water in the bathroom, the shower was all clogged up and did not impress (it didn't do much at all really).

* The bed was surprisingly small for a hotel. It's probably a standard British king size bed, but it is too small (seemed to be roughly 1.8m long and 1.2-1.4m wide) for average sized northern Europeans. It was even a bit too short for my girlfriend. The quality of the sprung mattress did not impress either, it felt like half of the springs were about to come out.

* The room lacked proper ventilation and had no AC. The only way of getting some well-needed fresh air into the room was through the single-glazed windows towards one of the bigger roads leading into the city. Needless to say, the choice was either noisy or stuffy and (slightly less) noisy. The corridors similarly lacked ventilation and smelled a bit like the boys dressing room in a high school gymnasium.

* Breakfast was over-prized and disappointing. The scrambled eggs were a boring dry yellow mass. The bacon was dry, it even tasted a bit off one morning.

There are however a few things favor of this hotel: the location, the staff, and the fact that it did not collapse upon us.

So would I recommend this hotel to anyone? No way! We spent a night at a much nicer hotel in central London with big air-conditioned rooms and a really good breakfast buffet for about £10 more per night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear asandberg
Thank you for your post following your stay with us. I am sorry that it was a mixed review and the areas you highlighted that require attention. While we are a traditional hotel I note your comments regarding the overall fabric but I am pleased our location was excellent and the team a big positive.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just read the reviews of your hotel, my husband and I are once again coming to Cambridge to visit our son at University, Kings, (2 minutes down the road ). We have stayed at this hotel a few times and have always found it clean, welcoming,with very friendly staff and staff that are always accommodating.There has always on our visits been excellent food on offer at the breakfast, it has been hot,and enjoyable.We are once again coming to Cambridge with my aged in laws and would not even contemplate staying at this hotel if I felt it was unsuitable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mammy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear mammy20
Thank you for your posting following your previous stays with us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay, the hotels convenient location and the friendliness of our team and breakfast; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Cons: dated decor, shower that took an age to warm up, mould in the bathroom.

Pros: close to centre of Cambridge, friendly and helpful staff, free wifi, surprisingly good scrambled egg for breakfast.

The Royal Cambridge desperately needs refurbishing. It's 20 - 30 years out of date. Sort that out and it would be a decent hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Uncle_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Uncle_badger
Thank you for your posting following your stay with us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay, the hotels convenient location and the friendliness of our team; I note your comments about our overall fabric. I do hope if you are returning to Cambridge again in 2014 then we can welcome you back.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The location of the hotel is very good. 10 minutes walk from the centre and 25 minutes walk from the railway station. The bar and reception area are both pleasant. Some real ale in the bar would be nice however.

My bedroom was large and comfortable. It overlooked the car park so was quiet. I note the earlier comments that the hotel bedrooms and corridors needs some renovation. This is true, but I think replacing just the carpets would go quite some way to improving the appearance. The slightly run down appearance is the reason I give this hotel a 3 rating rather than the 4 it would otherwise deserve.

Staff were efficient and friendly. I'd certainly stay there again if I had a business trip to Cambridge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear TravelingCelt
Thank you for your posting following your stay with us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay, the hotels convenient location and the friendliness of our team; I note your comments about our overall fabric. I do hope if you are returning to Cambridge again in 2014 then we can welcome you back.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel has a great location in Cambridge for shops and sight seeing, we had a short weekend break I found the hotel very clean the staff where exceptional friendly the hotel may be a little tired but it has so much character which fits in with the location in the surrounding area
Liz Easterby

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear liz e
Thank you for your posting following your stay with us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay, the hotels convenient location and the friendliness of our team. I do hope if you are returning to Cambridge again in 2014 then we can welcome you back.
sincerley
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £85 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing