We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient for Cambridge centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very convenient for Cambridge centre”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Not sure what to say about this hotel. We had a voucher and upgraded it and had wanted to stay in Cambridge for some time so booked into this hotel in spite of all the bad reviews.

The hotel is very run down. We had requested before arrival a quiet room. On arrival we were given room 102 which was 1st floor front facing the road. There were almost full length windows and heavy curtains but no nets in bedroom or bathroom which meant if in the bathroom we had to keep the curtains shut all the time to preserve our modesty!

Although it was a warm weekend the room was extremely hot and we're not sure if it is because the room is over the kitchens - we certainly smelt the breakfast cooking in the morning.

On entering the room the carpet is covered in stains although the bedding was spotless and there were plenty of sockets. The bathroom was "ok" but the side of the bath was wooden and badly warped - didn't impact us at all but just the standard of the whole hotel. I would reiterate - everything was clean - just very "tired" and dated.

Breakfast was buffet style served 7.30 to 9.30 but we arrived at 9 and my husband refused to eat there as everything was dried up so we went out to town for breakfast.

This could be a fantastic hotel - absolutely perfect spot for everything and is a large imposing building. Understand when we got the receipt for car parking (£8 per day) that the hotel group (or could be just hotel) are in receivership which could explain a lot. Needs a good upgrade and then we will certainly be back again! Loved Cambridge (our first visit) and, as I said, absolutely perfect spot for everything.

We worked out we had paid over £100 per night for the hotel using the voucher and upgrading and not sure whether we would have booked if we hadn't had a voucher from our son for Christmas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Daisyday4
Thank you for your post following your stay with us. I am sorry that it was a mixed review and the areas you highlighted that require attention. I note your comments regarding the overall fabric but I am pleased our location was convenient for you and that post investment you would consider using us again
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    156
    146
    81
    51
See reviews for
82
185
28
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in Cambridge for a long weekend with friends. Hotel was a fantastic 5 minute walk from the centre of town and rooms were clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly, with the Spanish receptionist being particularly helpful when it came to working out where to go and what to do. Overall A nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spannerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Spannerr
Thank you for your posting following your stay with us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay, the hotels convenient location and the friendliness of our team especially Ana on reception. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Cambridge Hotel if you are visiting again.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Travelled to Cambridge for a family wedding held at the "Royal Cambridge Hotel". It was a fabulous afternoon and evening. Room set beautifully for the service, then reset for a very good meal. Evening buffet, disco and photo booth. Great day,very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear shellducks
Thank you very much for your posting, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable day with us and I will pass this on to the team.
Sincerley
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is entirely personal
Some rooms are Bette than others so do check.
We found that some rooms seemed in need of redecoration but this is to be expected given the space standards.
We had dinner in an empty and to us,chilly restaurant/ dining room.
We also felt that the food was a bit cold.
As i say,maybe we are fussy although i dont think so but maybe our expectations were too high.
Its location was convenient.
We did not use the fitness etc centre.

Room Tip: Obviously a generous double at the front...it has Better ,views etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Ronan A
Thank you for your post following your stay with us. I am sorry that it was a mixed review and the areas you highlighted that require attention. While we are a traditional hotel I note your comments regarding the overall fabric but I am pleased our location was convenient for you.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Royal Cambridge hotel.

This hotel is in a fantastic location just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Cambridge.

The rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel entrance is very posh.

A few members of staff really stood out and went above and beyond our expectations - thank to stewart the GM and the bar manager lady.

Will defiantly be returning

Thank you

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Burg1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Burg 1989
Thank you for your posting following your previous stays with us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay, the hotels convenient location and the friendliness of our team; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We used the Groupen Sunday Lunch voucher and had our lunch in the restaurant of this hotel. We were greated by a lovely lady who was attentive throughout our experience without being intrusive. A wonderful lunch food was good and well cooked couldn't fault it and definitely worth every penny, will definitely go again if get the chance. One very small gripe and I know it comes down to the choice of meat, but most Brits like a Yorkshire pudding with their roast regarfdless of meat choice - it would make the experience perfect. Very satisfied. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuck31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Stuck31
Thank you for your recent post. It is always nice to receive positive comments especially about the team. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again. Noted about the Yorkshire pudding.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmabridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having been given the Afternoon Tea as a treat & it had been booked for ages the co-ordination been Departments was terrible. We went to the restaurant & was told to give voucher in at Reception, who (unpromted) confirmed one of the Teas as gluten-free. Nice ladies. Sat in reception until got bored, went & found a waiter (sorry THE waiter) who didn't know of our arrival. Was shown to our table, I confirmed I was the gluten-free guest. Then - after another long wait a lady not in uniform, (Maitre D?) said Chef had no gluten-free bread in his freezer & she "....can't give you biscuits, can I?" said they had nothing in for gluten-free guests at all. "It has to be ordered in, you know!"
I was completely gob-smacked on three counts. Firstly, it's a Hotel, it's the 21st century - if coffee shops (for example) can carry gluten-free food at all times why on earth not a Hotel? Secondly, what if a gluten-free guest had arrived to stay overnight? No eating for them? Thirdly, WE HAD BOOKED & RECEPTION WERE AWARE OF OUR REQUEST!!
I was interested when I came to give this review on the comments made by other people. The Hotel is in dire need of a re-furb & the General Manager - Stewart R, just gives the same platitudes to all comments. The Hotel must be struggling or there would've been more staff around - it was a Saturday, (loos were obviously not checked on a regular basis), the wallpaper was worn & as Chef was not aware of our impeding arrival for gluten-free afternoon tea no one was co-ordinating orders with the appropriate staff.
A very disappointing visit all round.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Kitlegs
I am sorry you had a disappointing visit, clearly there was a communication issue between the front of house department and the food and beverage department regarding the gluten free requirements and I will investigate this. Regarding the availability of staff we did have a wedding in our function suite downstairs but we did have a dedicated person looking after the lounge in the afternoon and they should have been more attentive and again I will address this.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Property: Royal Cambridge Hotel
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing