We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
156
236
213
115
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
236
213
115
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fitzwilliam museum traditional hotel trouser press night porter city centre kings college two night stay large bathroom breakfast was excellent buffet style comfortable hotel twin room enjoyable stay buyagift
Filter
Updating list...
713 - 718 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is a dump. A friendly dump and a convenient dump, but a dump nevertheless. It is unnecessary to list all the things wrong with the room and the hotel, previous posters have summed it up pretty well. However I am amazed at the manager’s response to the complaints, explaining away the problems with “this is a traditional hotel”. The Ritz and the Savoy are traditional hotels; traditional does NOT mean threadbare and beat up. The real reason has to be that no-one has thought fit to invest a penny on upgrades for at least 20 years. If the GM just said that they cannot afford to renovate, I would be much happier. It would, indeed, cost a lot.
The hotel was full during my stay. Maybe it is full all the time, which could be another reason for not caring. Who knows? But traditional it is not.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here for one night while in Cambridge for meetings. It was back in 2005 when I last stayed here and it hasn't really changed that much.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is looking somewhat tired and requires some much-needed tender loving care! That said, it is in a great location, very easy walking distance to the city and the river. Breakfast was fine and the free WiFi was much appreciated for work!

I think once they invest some funds into the property it go from strength-to-strength and I'll be staying again for sure.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The photo of the key fob sums up our 2 night stay at the Royal Cambridge - broken and battered. The hotel is close to central Cambridge putting it in a prime location. This wasn’t reflected in the quality of our experience when staying there. You came away feeling it was maximum price for minimum effort on the part of the hotel. It wasn’t worth the money.

You can find Trip Advisor reviews as far back as 2004 criticising the décor and maintenance, but nothing has been done to address the issues. The manager comments that this is a ‘traditional hotel’. The word ‘tradition’ usually implies a sense of value and worth, not holes in carpets, dated furnishings and a run down feel.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solar2solar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Not sure what to say about this hotel. We had a voucher and upgraded it and had wanted to stay in Cambridge for some time so booked into this hotel in spite of all the bad reviews.

The hotel is very run down. We had requested before arrival a quiet room. On arrival we were given room 102 which was 1st floor front facing the road. There were almost full length windows and heavy curtains but no nets in bedroom or bathroom which meant if in the bathroom we had to keep the curtains shut all the time to preserve our modesty!

Although it was a warm weekend the room was extremely hot and we're not sure if it is because the room is over the kitchens - we certainly smelt the breakfast cooking in the morning.

On entering the room the carpet is covered in stains although the bedding was spotless and there were plenty of sockets. The bathroom was "ok" but the side of the bath was wooden and badly warped - didn't impact us at all but just the standard of the whole hotel. I would reiterate - everything was clean - just very "tired" and dated.

Breakfast was buffet style served 7.30 to 9.30 but we arrived at 9 and my husband refused to eat there as everything was dried up so we went out to town for breakfast.

This could be a fantastic hotel - absolutely perfect spot for everything and is a large imposing building. Understand when we got the receipt for car parking (£8 per day) that the hotel group (or could be just hotel) are in receivership which could explain a lot. Needs a good upgrade and then we will certainly be back again! Loved Cambridge (our first visit) and, as I said, absolutely perfect spot for everything.

We worked out we had paid over £100 per night for the hotel using the voucher and upgrading and not sure whether we would have booked if we hadn't had a voucher from our son for Christmas.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisyday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Daisyday4
Thank you for your post following your stay with us. I am sorry that it was a mixed review and the areas you highlighted that require attention. I note your comments regarding the overall fabric but I am pleased our location was convenient for you and that post investment you would consider using us again
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in Cambridge for a long weekend with friends. Hotel was a fantastic 5 minute walk from the centre of town and rooms were clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly, with the Spanish receptionist being particularly helpful when it came to working out where to go and what to do. Overall A nice stay.

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spannerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Spannerr
Thank you for your posting following your stay with us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay, the hotels convenient location and the friendliness of our team especially Ana on reception. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Cambridge Hotel if you are visiting again.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews