We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad but stately”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This has clearly been a nice hotel in its day. There is evidence of sporadic repair here and there. But you know what? This place still has heart. It is staffed by people who genuinely want to offer good service. So what if the carpets are threadbare and there are no net curtains? It is very cheap for the location. The shower works, the beds are clean, and the breakfast is very good quality (excellent sausages and real scrambled eggs - hear that Doubletree Hilton at £300 per night??). Lovely ladies serving it too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Yankeegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is a dump. A friendly dump and a convenient dump, but a dump nevertheless. It is unnecessary to list all the things wrong with the room and the hotel, previous posters have summed it up pretty well. However I am amazed at the manager’s response to the complaints, explaining away the problems with “this is a traditional hotel”. The Ritz and the Savoy are traditional hotels; traditional does NOT mean threadbare and beat up. The real reason has to be that no-one has thought fit to invest a penny on upgrades for at least 20 years. If the GM just said that they cannot afford to renovate, I would be much happier. It would, indeed, cost a lot.
The hotel was full during my stay. Maybe it is full all the time, which could be another reason for not caring. Who knows? But traditional it is not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here for one night while in Cambridge for meetings. It was back in 2005 when I last stayed here and it hasn't really changed that much.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is looking somewhat tired and requires some much-needed tender loving care! That said, it is in a great location, very easy walking distance to the city and the river. Breakfast was fine and the free WiFi was much appreciated for work!

I think once they invest some funds into the property it go from strength-to-strength and I'll be staying again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The photo of the key fob sums up our 2 night stay at the Royal Cambridge - broken and battered. The hotel is close to central Cambridge putting it in a prime location. This wasn’t reflected in the quality of our experience when staying there. You came away feeling it was maximum price for minimum effort on the part of the hotel. It wasn’t worth the money.

You can find Trip Advisor reviews as far back as 2004 criticising the décor and maintenance, but nothing has been done to address the issues. The manager comments that this is a ‘traditional hotel’. The word ‘tradition’ usually implies a sense of value and worth, not holes in carpets, dated furnishings and a run down feel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solar2solar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Not sure what to say about this hotel. We had a voucher and upgraded it and had wanted to stay in Cambridge for some time so booked into this hotel in spite of all the bad reviews.

The hotel is very run down. We had requested before arrival a quiet room. On arrival we were given room 102 which was 1st floor front facing the road. There were almost full length windows and heavy curtains but no nets in bedroom or bathroom which meant if in the bathroom we had to keep the curtains shut all the time to preserve our modesty!

Although it was a warm weekend the room was extremely hot and we're not sure if it is because the room is over the kitchens - we certainly smelt the breakfast cooking in the morning.

On entering the room the carpet is covered in stains although the bedding was spotless and there were plenty of sockets. The bathroom was "ok" but the side of the bath was wooden and badly warped - didn't impact us at all but just the standard of the whole hotel. I would reiterate - everything was clean - just very "tired" and dated.

Breakfast was buffet style served 7.30 to 9.30 but we arrived at 9 and my husband refused to eat there as everything was dried up so we went out to town for breakfast.

This could be a fantastic hotel - absolutely perfect spot for everything and is a large imposing building. Understand when we got the receipt for car parking (£8 per day) that the hotel group (or could be just hotel) are in receivership which could explain a lot. Needs a good upgrade and then we will certainly be back again! Loved Cambridge (our first visit) and, as I said, absolutely perfect spot for everything.

We worked out we had paid over £100 per night for the hotel using the voucher and upgrading and not sure whether we would have booked if we hadn't had a voucher from our son for Christmas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisyday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Daisyday4
Thank you for your post following your stay with us. I am sorry that it was a mixed review and the areas you highlighted that require attention. I note your comments regarding the overall fabric but I am pleased our location was convenient for you and that post investment you would consider using us again
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in Cambridge for a long weekend with friends. Hotel was a fantastic 5 minute walk from the centre of town and rooms were clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly, with the Spanish receptionist being particularly helpful when it came to working out where to go and what to do. Overall A nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spannerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Spannerr
Thank you for your posting following your stay with us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay, the hotels convenient location and the friendliness of our team especially Ana on reception. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Cambridge Hotel if you are visiting again.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Travelled to Cambridge for a family wedding held at the "Royal Cambridge Hotel". It was a fabulous afternoon and evening. Room set beautifully for the service, then reset for a very good meal. Evening buffet, disco and photo booth. Great day,very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear shellducks
Thank you very much for your posting, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable day with us and I will pass this on to the team.
Sincerley
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 37 in Cambridge
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £94 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing