We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well situated but very shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of July 2014 just one night as we wanted to have a look around Cambridge. First of all the positives, it is very well situated and is just a 10 minute stroll right into the centre of Cambridge (we loved Cambridge) there is also a car park, so you don't need to drive at all if you are looking around the city. We paid £140 for one night including breakfast. The room was disappointing, you couldn't open the door fully as the bed fills the room, and not much room either between the bed and the wardrobe. The bathroom is shoddy, with no ventilation except to open the window, the floor and curtains were horribly stained. There was no hairdryer in the room, but when asked, one was supplied within a few hours. the weather was very hot and the lack of air conditioning very apparent, we had an electric fan which we found in the wardrobe. Breakfast was very average, horrible watery coffee from a machine and greasy cooked breakfast under heated lamps where you could help yourself. The convenience is about the only thing I could recommend - cant book in until 2pm check out at 11am.

Room Tip: you need a room with a large window if hot as there is no ventialtion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honestkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear honestkaren
Thank you for your post and I am pleased that you found our location convenient for Cambridge. I am sorry the accommodation was not to your liking but we are undertaking a review of all our services so we can improve our offer and overall guest experience.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Well situated in the middle of Cambridge. Clean and comfortable room and bathroom. Good facilities. Bed was very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The Murder Mystery evening was well run and the food excellent. Breakfast the next morning was very good, with a good range of food for every taste. The only quirky thing was that the lift only went up to the second floor. We were on the third. No problem.

Room Tip: My daughter had a room on the second floor. She said it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Colin S
Thank you for your post following your stay with us after attending the murder mystery event. I am glad you both enjoyed the event, the hotels convenient location and the breakfast; this is one of the areas we have recently improved our selection and standard of. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Cambridge Hotel if you are visiting again.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked one night at the Royal Cambridge on Saturday July 5th and were bitterly disappointed. The room was in an appalling state incl. dirty, broken headboard, damaged bathroom floor.
Please find attached pictures.

We complained straight away but were told that the hotel is full, all other guests had already checked in and we could not be moved to another room.

This turned out not to be true. We checked in in the afternoon and when we were still trying to resolve the situation at 7pm a large group of guests checked in.

The reception staff and manager were completely unhelpful. They said there's nothing they could do and we could find another hotel.

Since we were travelling with our one year old son this was not an option and we reluctantly had to stay.

After more discussions with the manager on duty she agreed not to charge us for the room and that the general manager would contact us on Monday. This did not happen and I'm still chasing the refund.

Do not stay here - there are much nicer places in Cambridge

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
4  Thank IMoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear ImoLondon
Thank you for your post and I am sorry you did not enjoy any aspect of your stay. As we have corresponded directly I am pleased we have reached a satisfactory conclusion.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked into this hotel when the Tour de France came to Cambridge. It was convenient for Parkers Piece and also on the route the tour was taking out of Cambridge. Arriving the day before the hotel is, without a doubt, in need of some serious updating. It still retains the old style of a by-gone era that is now seriously showing its age. Focusing first on the good things, my room was a single but a reasonable size. The bed was very comfortable, the linens clean and fresh. the bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom and although dated, did have character and I liked it. Although it was warm, the hotel had put a fan in the wardrobe for use as there was no air con. We ate in the restaurant that evening. The menu is limited in choice with the mainsmostly roast dinners but every course was excellent. Shame it was only us and a couple of film crews from France in attendance. For the purpose of seeing the TdF, this hotel was fine but I can understand how a visitor to Cambridge would be disappointed on the inside as the outside does look quite grand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Becky B
Thank you for your post and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your comments regarding the overall fabric but I am pleased our location was convenient for you and that post investment you would consider using us again
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

No Air Conditioning in the rooms! If you are staying here when the temperature is above 20 degrees C, you are going to regret it. While we were able to get a small fan to use and the windows can be opened, there is virtually no airflow. We spent as little time as possible in the room... not acceptable at this price point! I think the hotel was probably nice in its day, but now it is looking a bit shabby.

Even though the desk staff were nice enough, the management seemed a bit stingy. We had booked a double room for two people, but were only given one towel. We asked for and received another one, but it was promptly taken away the next day, forcing us to ask again. The wi-fi was free, but you had to ask for a code at the desk, which was only good for 24 hours for only one device. The one good thing was the breakfast, where they had the choice of a full English or continental, with cereals, meats, cheese, fruit and yogurt.

I would definitely avoid this hotel if you can help it!

Room Tip: The front rooms are noisier from road traffic and warmer because of the direction of the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbass_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Cbass_13
Thank you for your post following your stay with us. I would agree the hotel is in full sun during July and we do provide portable fans in all rooms to help if required. I am pleased you took advantage of the free WIFI and thank you for the positive comments regarding our breakfast.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had an afternoon tea for 6 here. Thought we was in for a wonderful afternoon. Although the entrance looked stunning it was not like this in the dining area and waiting areas. The tea itself was how can I say rushed through, the sandwiches were cut roughly and the bread was dry, the cake wedges were large , dry and shop brought. The scones were the best they had to offer.
So if your looking at your group on deal picture now don't bother your not going to get it .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

On the good side, this hotel/B&B is only 10 mins walk from the centre of everything. It is an old property and the condition of the rooms varies a lot. We stayed 3 nights. The down side... The room we were allocated was extremely poor and not at all suitable for 2 people. No air con, and extremely hot in July!! Impossible to sleep, as had to keep windows open, which meant noise early morning, and still could not cool down. Barely room to open 2 suitcases. Asked to be moved day 2 but did not have capacity, but the very helpful and friendly Angelica, did accommodate a change to a bigger room for the last night. This made a big difference to our stay, and we left with a better impression. Hence the rating as average and not poor to terrible as would have been the case if we were not moved. Breakfast (only on the 1st morning) is expensive and not at all worth it. There is a kettle in the room. The staff overall were okay, with Angelica the best. Very over priced in my opinion, as most of cambridge is!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Guest64Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £82 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing