We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy to stay here again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centennial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy to stay here again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We were in Cambridge for one night only (sadly!) and chose this hotel because it is only a 5 minute walk from the train station, which meant we could leave our luggage and walk into town without the heavy loads. We had a bedroom on the ground floor at the back, overlooking the car park. The room was small for a twin room, but it was comfortable, and the bathroom was excellent and super clean. We really appreciated the coffee and tea making facilities in the room, which is often lacking in more expensive hotels these days. An excellent walk-in wardrobe meant the luggage could all be packed away. Breakfast was very good - in fact, the bacon was great, well cooked and not too salty. Staff were extremely helpful. I needed an ironing board and iron, which arrived outside our room door within 2 minutes.

Some people might prefer to stay closer to the centre of Cambridge, but there is a shortage of good accommodation in Cambridge, and to be honest - the walk into town was a nice 15 minute walk. For those who don't like to stretch their legs, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel from where buses leave just about every 5 minutes. Bear in mind that at rush hour traffic the traffic in/out of the centre is at a standstill quite regularly, so at those times walking is a much better option.

Make sure you go to the Fitzwilliam Museum, again a pleasant 15 minute stroll, which has an amazing exhibition on Vermeer's Women until mid-January. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Our rooms at the back was quiet - other travellers have complained about attic rooms, so you could j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    81
    79
    33
    7
See reviews for
27
71
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I recently stayed in the Centennial Hotel Cambridge on business and thankfully only for one night. My room was in the attic and I banged my head no less than four times on the angular staircases on the floor above to the left and right of my bed. I think there's a health and safety issue here. When I got up in the night to go to the loo I did bang my head really hard.

I ate in the restaurant and waited 25 minutes for my duck breast only to discover that when it had arrived it was way over cooked and if I hadn't been so hungry I would have sent it back. I spend a lot of time in hotels and this was not a good experience.

Staff very friendly and responsive but not one hotel I would recommend or contemplate staying in again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

lancaster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

After a long tiring journey this was not the accommodation I had hope for! On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful, there were tea and coffee making facilities, the room was clean and there was free car parking. BUT the room was extremely noisy, with constant banging and crashing, which I think came from the bar and restaurant area. The room was very warm with no air conditioning; decor tired; in fact it was like a trip back to the 80's. I don't think that I will be repeating the experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalkaboutLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I was lucky enough to get one of the famed attic rooms! Sloping roof, bed positioned such that care was needed when getting out of bed as you were likely to hit your head on the ceiling. The decor was tired and in need of some TLC.

Bathroom was recently put in, which begs the question why the room hadn't had a lick of paint to spruce it up at the same time whilst out of commission. Either they have an extreme recycling policy, or the housekeeping is poor - the soap from the previous occupant was still in the shower.

Breakfast a total disappointment, bland and tasteless to say the least.

Service - well I hope they care more for the pounds (£92 for a small double?) they're lining their pockets with than they showed to their guests. At no time was there a welcome, thank you, enjoy your stay.....

All I can say is that it is walking distance from the centre and has parking.

The room guide looked like it had been typed sometime in the seventies, and was a list of rules and regulations!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's in the annex/not in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Positives: Tea & Coffee making facility in room & modern flat-screen TV. Friendly staff. Free car-park.

Negatives: Poor shower. Dated furniture. No Fridge in room. Small double bed: length & width (this was a 'deluxe' double room - I would not like to see the bed in a 'standard' double room). Breakfast finishes very early (0900 weekday & 0930 weekends), you are on holiday and expect it to run till at least 1000.

Verdict: Overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

10 minutes walk from railway station and 15 minutes from the magnificent town centre, the Centennial is well-placed for a stay in Cambridge.

We stayed in a deluxe twin on the first floor at the back of the building, overlooking the car park from which we heard little, if any noise. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom comprised bath, shower and bidet, with complementary toiletries. Shower could do with an upgrade as the head didn't give a very wide spray and it was also a bit tricky to get the required water temperature for the shower as the mixer taps seemed to turn for quite a while with little or no effect on the water flow.

The staff were helpful and courteous and as we had to rise early we were offered an early breakfast - 7am rather than 7.30am or a breakfast tray in our rooms.

I would have no doubt in recommending the Centennial to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b56c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We arrived on friday and were given our room keys to an attic room with a sloping roof, difficult when your husband is over 6 foot, I call reception who agreed to more us to a new room, which he said was one of the deluxe rooms, we could not see how it rated as delux, it was clean and confortable, but not deluxe.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was good, staff were pleasant and willing to help, the hotel was clean but dated, in need of some TLC, and a make over to make it a bit more modern.
Saturday night we chose to eat in the hotel resturant, this was dissapointing to say the least, food was bland and micro waved, I chose the cheese board which consisted of 3 crackers and 3 very thin sliced cheese, oh and 4 grapes, it has two menus both expensive for what you get, the bar is also overpriced, you are far better walking in to town to eat, we had a much nicer meal in Zizzi in town.
It is walking distance to town along a very busy main road

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.6 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Property: Centennial Hotel
Address: 63/71 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Centennial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing