We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Centennial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$144
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
44
97
89
33
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
97
89
33
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget roomcertain charmrailway stationbotanical gardensfree car parkcity centrebit datedbusiness travelminute walkcooked breakfastpriced hotelclean hotelleave the caron site parkingplenty of parkingcomfortable stayshort break
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel is on a busy road, about 20 minutes walk from the centre. We had a room at the back so it was quiet. There are no views of anything as the front is on the main road and the back is the car park. We had wifi and free parking which was good, although we were paying £120 a night which we felt was a bit expensive considering the location. Staff were helpful and pleasant, but the hotel seems a bit dated, and very dark i.e. dark wood everywhere.

The price included breakfast which was good. However, be prepared to wait for a seat if the hotel is busy. Breakfast is in the basement and the stairs are very narrow, there’s no lift in the hotel and bedrooms are on the ground, first and second floors. You get an old fashioned huge key ring with the room key, which you have to hand in when you go out.

The room was a ‘luxury double’ but we couldn’t see how it was luxurious. It was not a king sized bed and there wasn’t much room to move around. The wardrobe (with three doors) was in the entrance to the room, opposite the bathroom door, meaning there were five doors which could be opened in a small area. This did cause problems with two of us trying to get around.

The room had a desk, chair (in front of the long mirror), small TV, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. The cups were really small so you couldn’t have a decent cuppa. There was one spare socket by the desk, we had to search around for other to charge our phone/laptop etc. There was no fridge.

The bathroom had a bidet which seemed strange, along with a bath and toilet. The shower head was over the bath and was really slow. It took a while to adjust the hot and cold water, which just trickled out, and then went totally cold part way through having a shower. There were the usual bathroom amenities available.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkAnnie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I'd say it's perfect if you're travelling by train and want to make the most of your stay in the county, maybe with an half day trip to Ely? or a day trip to London: City centr about 1 mile away or frequent buses nearby. Friendly staff, very good breakfast, rooms clean but furniture is not really modern.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my family. We had 2 twin room which were both spotlessly clean and comfortable. The beds were a little short. I am average 5ft 4" and my feet touched the end of the bed so anyone taller might get cold feet, but fine for me. Although the furniture is not modern it was all very clean and perfectly fine for a short stay. The bathroom again was spotless, good strong shower, soft clean white towels, nothing fancy but all you need and I am a bit OCD when it comes to cleanliness. Staff were very helpful. Receptionist even looked up the postcodes of all the car parks and fees so we could put them in our sat nav. Breakfast was very nice. All the toast you could want with choices of cereal and fruit juices. Tea and coffee , full English with your choice of types of egg.We went in to breakfast at 9am and plenty of tables available. Walking distance from Cambridge Centre about 20mins which was a bit too long for my weiry mother but fine for us spritely 40/50 somethings. Only gripe was the doors, which needed to be slammed shut sometimes and wake you up, but this was a minor problem that could probably be fixed with a bit of rubbing down.Plenty of parking too, there always seemed to be a spaces. Didn't use the bar area but looked very nice. I would rate 3/5 but give 4/5 because the staff were so helpful and I always think good customer service is so important.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park at the back so that you are not disturbed by traffic noise or late night revellers.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

So, firstly the good points. The full English breakfast was very good and pleasantly served. The central location is very handy for exploring Cambridge and near the station too. The room was ok - a bit small (and the bathroom was tiny with only a handheld shower attachment), clean and functional. The TV was flat screen and neat.

However, a big warning to travellers that like their sleep: they put us in room near reception and next to the main staircase, which was very creaky; make sure it doesn't happen to you. We had been to the Cambridge Folk Festival and got back a little before midnight hoping for a good night's kip. No chance! Other people were coming in from the festival and other events in Cambridge and, although they weren't being noisy, sleep was impossible as they got their keys and said goodnight to each other. The last one came in about 3 a.m. Then, in the morning we were awoken by people coming down the staircase, so we couldn't win. After 1 a.m. they shut the front door and guests need to ring an intercom which, again, was clearly audible from our room. Maybe had we had a room away from all this we would have formed a more positive opinion of the place.

A very bizarre thing happened. Check out time is 11a.m. and we had finished breakfast by 9, so we decided to go for a wander in the city centre. It is one of those hotels where you leave your key at reception, which we did, fully intending to be back by check out time. At about 9.40 my wife got a call on her mobile from the hotel saying we hadn't paid (they don't take a swipe of your card). She pointed out that we hadn't checked out yet and our bags were still in the room. When we did check out (well before 11!) we did get a half-hearted apology and an assurance that they weren't accusing us of trying not to pay - but why call us then? Are we the only guests ever who take a morning stroll before checking out? It hasn't left us with a good impression of the place.

If you find yourself in Cambridge at festival time then you may choose to stay here, as accommodation is hard to find, but apart from that I can't see why it would be a natural choice.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near reception and the creaky stairs or take very good ear plugs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merglys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a fairly basic hotel but the staff are really friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and as I had a room overlooking the car park there were no noise issues. Hills Road is quite busy but the location of the hotel provides very easy access to both the centre of Cambridge and the station. Both bedroom and bathroom were in desperate need of refurbishment but clean. The main problem I had was the raw chicken at dinner. The sauce was simply delicious but I really didnt feel like eating when I noticed blood oozing from the meat. The waiter was really helpful and I should have asked for an alternative which I am sure would have been provided. Instead the chicken was returned fully cooked but I just couldnt quite manage it. The cooked breakfast was good but I would have liked the option of more fruit and yoghurt which is so commonly offered in hotels these days rather than a predominantly cereal option to start.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews