We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight”
Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centennial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed overnight found the hotel very conveniently located for the station and city centre with bus stops nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms very clean and the bed very comfortable. The shower was excellent and hot. No complaints and very happy with the stay. I would definitely use again for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Booked a delux double which was at the back of the hotel very quiet away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick101_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    83
    80
    32
    7
See reviews for
27
74
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed in the Centennial for 2 weeks in January 2012 in a business trip.
It is a small but comfort hotel. Good cost/benefit. Well located. Staff makes you feel like home.

Location: Good location. It is in one of the main streets of Cambridge, with 2 bus stops right in front and 5~10 minutes walk from the train station. Right in front the Bothanic Gardens of the Cambridge University.

Appearance: Antique on the outside as in the inside...and indeed it is, but not in a bad way. It is well conserved.

Staff: Excellent! Like I said before, made me feel like home. The only observation is that the reception closes at night so, if you come back late at night you will have to ring the bell and wait outside a little time...sometimes not so little.

Cleanliness: Very good!

Rooms: The room I stayed was a little small for 2 people and the bags were in the way all the time because it was difficult to put them in the room. However, the beds were quite comfortable.
I stayed in a room in the back of the hotel, so there were almost no noise, but I guess the rooms in the front could be more noisy because of the busy street.

Food: The breakfast has little variety of choices but it is very tasty and well served.

Infrastructure: Internet free and fast. It worked the whole time I stayed in the hotel.

Plus: It is a standard comfortable small hotel...just that...

I recommend for a short period because if you are going to stay more time maybe it is best to stay in a larger place. But if you are not so critical, you're gonna like it. It was great for me because I was just beside the place I was working and the cost/benefit is good.
Best for alone or couple travellers.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArturGasparetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here recently while on business trip and as previously was very pleased with the quality of service, the cleanliness of the rooms and the good food. Travelling by train this is an excellent place to stay: just three minutes away from the station. Staff are very friendly and the room very comfortable. Ideal for a two or three night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I come here each time I visit Cambridge, at least half a dozen times a year, and It is certainly the best value-for-money hotel in which I have stayed. What makes it stand out is the friendliness of the place generated by the owner and his staff who could not be more welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped with work desk, free Wi-Fi, and the usual facilities. The hotel has an excellent chef and the food is superb, and with a good range of choice. For those visiting Cambridge on holiday, the hotel could hardly be better placed within easy walking distance of the railway station, and there is ample free parking for those journeying by car. Having stayed in several hotels in the city, this is my first choice.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear are as quiet as could reasonably be expected in a busy city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The Centennial does have a great location, near to the railway station, and opposite the CAMRA pub of the year, The Flying Pig. However, this hotel is very quirky, and not in a good way. Many rooms front the very busy Hills Road, and I know that you can't move a hotel to a quieter place, but you could have triple glazing, or at least better double glazing. A poor night's sleep, with the added bonus of the hotel's own floodlights shining directly into the rooms (yes there are thick curtains, but there is light spill). In the morning, the new but old school Triton shower just couldn't summon up the effort, and gave up after supplying lukewarm water at low pressure in five second dribbles. Breakfast is served deep downstairs in a depressing, crowded little area. Freshly prepared, not a buffet, but very limited choice.The leaflets in the rooms are very aggressively worded, with warnings of £1,500 fines if found smoking, and strict orders about the dangers of bringing back any takeaway food into the the hotel. Not good value this one.

Room Tip: Ask if your room look onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidPrescott16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of friends last week and we were all very happy with the level of service provided. Si the owner was more than accommodating and he kept us entertained while we enjoyed a casual drink in the hotel bar. This is a quaint family run hotel in a great location. They know how to look after their quests!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taskiemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have stayed here many times over the past 12 years and am treated like an old friend. One of the hotel's advantages is its location relative to both the station and the centre of town.

As others have noted there is a wonderful personal atmosphere provided by staff, not least the current manager and his parents who looked after the hotel for so many years and still help out. There is a gradual process of freshening and refurbishment going on, but the work does not disturb guests in any way.

Food is good and plentiful, served with a smile. The set evening meal is superb value at £16.50, with ample choice and daily changes of menu. Drinks are very reasonably priced - and they have Calvados in the bar, which I love. Breakfasts are freshly cooked, which is a bonus. This is a change from the dried up and cold bacon and eggs provided in too many large hotels' 'breakfast buffets'.

Beds are comfortable. Some rooms, as noted, are on the small side but this is a result of the architecture of the original buildings. Wi-Fi connection is simple and with a very good signal.

But above all, it's the sense of a hotel lovingly looked after in a family atmosphere that is the winner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Property: Centennial Hotel
Address: 63/71 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Centennial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing