We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centennial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We travelled to Cambridge to collect a car and decided to spend a night there to break the journey. The Centennial is very traditional in style but was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The hotel is very central with access by foot to the bars restaurants and sights of the town. We had a room facing onto the street but there was no more noise than could be expected in a city centre hotel. Staff were polite and helpful but without being over fussy. Breakfast was well presented, tasty and with lots of choice. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    79
    78
    33
    7
See reviews for
27
68
24
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotorua
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

ok it's caught in a time warp,but the staff are friendly,parking is free.wifi not the best
stayed for dinner ,the steak was abit tough,they were very apologetic.
great collection of china in the lounge

Room Tip: We had a quiet ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had no choice of my accommodation this time, and would not have chosen this myself. This is more of a guest house than a hotel in the modern sense. Furnishing-wise, everything is either dark or patterened or both (including the white dining room walls that are stained with food and drink marks - for god's sake - if you have a food fight in there, then please clean up after!!) Carpet stains are everywhere... Rooms are too small to turn round in and wifi is intermittent and slow. The room keys are the style that went out about 20 years ago and need handed in at reception every time you go out. Bottom line - if you're from the US or far east and want that quaint England experience then maybe this is the place for you, otherwise I'd go for something cleaner, more modern and less depressing next time!

Room Tip: Maybe the higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room adequate and very clean although quite small. As it was raining we decided to eat dinner in, wish we hadn't it was awful. Breakfast was fine but it is a bit of a crush in the breakfast room and it seemed as though you were rushed along so that the table could be reset! Not the best place we have stayed but not quite the worst!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank frank h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stay at this hotel regularly, typically 4-5 times a year. It is ideally located just 5 minutes walk from Cambridge station, which also helps if you need a taxi, often difficult to get in Cambridge ! It is a traditional style hotel rather than a modern corporate hotel, which I like. The rooms are perhaps a little small but well finished with all the amenities required, including tea/coffee making facilities etc. I've never had any problem with noise, despite it being on the main road. Free wifi is good as well. Their restaurant does an excellent value fixed price menu, which I always find to be of very good quality. The house wine is quite acceptable and a very good price. Breakfast is equally good - cooked to order rather than a buffet that has been cooked to death. Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel and I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AstronomerPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here 2 nights this week in June and could not have chosen better. If what you are seeking is comfort, friendly and professional service at a good price then this is the place for you.

The rooms may be a liitle traditional but my bed was super comfy and spotless as was the bathroom. Plus the hairdryer was better than my own! Breakfast was a choice of full English (or variations of), with cereals, toast and juices/fruit.

This family owned hotel is ideal for business and as a single female traveller, I felt at home. What's more I didn't hear a peep in the night. It's super convenient for the railway station and centre of Cambridge was a short stroll away.

I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichCrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night on 2 June for a meeting the next day. The food was excellent, but the staff need to remember that you can hear everything they say in the kitchen in the dining room. My room was small but clean. I was near the stairs which was noisy. Parking is free and the wifi is good and comes in the room price. I paid £101.50 so not cheap. I would return but ask for another room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeffroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#17 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Property: Centennial Hotel
Address: 63/71 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Centennial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing