We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsbottom, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient location and pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for a 3 night break at the end of July/beginning of August. We had a 3rd floor river view room with a king size bed and a nice balcony with 2 comfortable wooden chairs and a coffee table. The room was not very big, but comfortable and clean and had a brilliant view of the river near the boat landings, so we had a fun time watching people learning to punt. The fridge and AC were both quiet. I agree with other reviews that the water pressure in the shower on the 3rd floor wasn't great, but Cambridge is in the fens and it wasn't terrible either- if you do need a higher pressure shower then the ones in the pool changing rooms on the ground floor were fine.
There were 2 small bottles of water and a chocolate bar provided each day in the room.
There were weddings on all 3 days/nights that we were there and we did not find that there was any noise from the weddings in the room, or that we were in any way inconvenienced by the weddings. There is a separate riverside area that the wedding parties use, so there is no interruption in access to the very pleasant riverside terrace and seating area when there is a wedding on.

The pool was an OK size for a hotel pool, and positioned so that you could see people punting past the window at eye level while you swim. There is also a hot-tub and steam room.

The car parking was £17.50 per night, which seems a bit steep to me as we were staying in the hotel.
It is also worth mentioning that my satnav tried to take me along a no through road to get to the hotel, so I would suggest not being as silly as me and actually looking at a map of Cambridge before you go there.

We would certainly go there again, but perhaps would find out about the nearest public car park before we got there, or use the park and ride. The hotel is convenient for the sights of Cambridge and is about 10 minutes walk from the bus station , so we didn't actually use the car at all once we got there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rblossomg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    769
    370
    171
    70
See reviews for
440
829
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our family of 4 stayed here and the end of a three week trip to the UK. Extremely helpful staff, very comfortable rooms, top notch location. Hotel is in the heart of old Cambridge, so very convenient for seeing the sights, and also sits right on the water, and is very peaceful and beautiful. Beds very comfortable, and property is clean and well maintained. No free wi-fi, which is one of my pet peeves, but computers available at no charge in the business center, so at least you can print a boarding pass. Needed an early breakfast before starting our journey home, so it was convenient to eat in the hotel. Perhaps the most expensive breakfast in all of England!!

Room Tip: Spent a little extra for a river view room--we thought it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YPMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear YPMEL
Thanks for posting a review. I'm really pleased to read that you had a peaceful, comfortable stay with us. Certainly the location is the best available for exploring the city. I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to the entire team for the great service. Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards Greg Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Best Parts:

The views from the balcony and bar are superb!

Check in was fast and friendly.

Gym and pool were very generous for a hotel.

Well equipped bar with my favourite whisky (rarity) and great staff (look out for Adam and Mark).

Perfect location, central but away from drunken loud 'yobos' of the night



Worst Parts:

Room was a little small for the price.

Hallways looked a bit dated in some parts of the hotel

Overall: My wife and I had a great stay and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank technical_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear technical_mike
Thanks for your review. It is always great to see our team members making a lasting impression with our guests. I will certainly pass on the great feedback to both Adam and Mark. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind regards Greg Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Excellent location with the city centre and colleges all within walking distance.

The property is old. It was there when I went to boarding school 35 years ago. The rooms are small. The bathrooms are small too. They should consider knocking down 2 rooms and making them into 1 room. Definitely not a room to spend much time in

I did not try the F&B outlets as there are some alternatives nearby the hotel.

The service at the front desk is efficient, and thats it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear siglo
Thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you found our location good. Our property certainly is well established and there has been a hotel on this site since 1922 however the hotel was rebuilt in the 70's. We have a continuous upgrade programme plan so that we are constantly improving the product and the services on offer to our guests. Recently our Riverside Brasserie and Twist Bar has undergone major refurbishment and is now finished in a most contemporary style. We are currently upgrading products and services in all of our bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Greg Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Hotel is very close to the river where "punting" takes place and is only 6 blocks or so from Kings College and the downtown. Nice outdoor area for drinks and snacks. Can walk from there to most restaurants in the classic downtown area. Internet is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123barrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear 123barrister
I am so pleased to read that you found our location great next door to the punting station and only a few minutes walk to the colleges. The weather certainly has been superb recently and our guests have been able to sit back and relax on the riverside terrace. Internet access is chargeable in our guest rooms however complimentary in the business centre. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind regards Greg Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at the Doubletree last weekend and found it to be superb. Although not much to look at from the outside, it has beautiful grounds and well kept gardens leading down to the River Cam and the interior is modern, clean and fresh. All service was impeccable. Our first allocated room was right underneath an air con unit which was very noisy. When I asked if it would be possible to move, we were instantly and with no fuss, given a beautiful room overlooking the river with a balcony. Very impressed. I also managed to grab a swim in the hotel pool which was clean and well laid out.
However, the Doubletree has a major flaw which is the restaurant. We dont usually eat in hotel restaurants but the menu looked so impressive and promised so much that we were swayed. Error! The food was almost inedible, over or undercooked, cold and overpriced. We were bitterly disappointed - especially as it was my birthday meal. My only conclusion is that, being a Sunday, the chef was off that day and being covered by an inexperienced sous. You have been warned! Do not eat here! Having said that, I would strongly recommend staying here if you are visiting Cambridge as all other aspects of the hotel are fabulous and totally spot on.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear AB72
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the hotel. I was so pleased to learn that your overall experience of the hotel and service was superb however sorry to hear that your birthday dinner in the Riverside Brasserie was disappointing. Our Brasserie certainly has a beautiful setting and we are well known for hosting many special occasions for both local guests and residents. I do hope we will see you back soon to stay and that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in the Brasserie. Kind regards Greg Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

At £239 per night I expected better service. Disinterested staff on the counter, no interest in helping a woman with two kids get a host of bags up to the room. We did get some fattening cookies on check -in but would have preferred some actual help. Paying £17.50 per night for parking alas did not mean valet parking or, as I said, help with bags. [There is a concierge but we were not told about it on check in and on check out they were too busy]. The room was fine, not massive and it was good they put a roll-up bed in there. The AC didn't seem to work but luckily there was a small window. Bathroom was excellent. Bedding great. The hotel overall is a bit tatty (our room chair was threadbare) but the worst thing was the generally sniffy and disinterested staff attitude. We had the usual tiny time consuming hairdryer. Breakfast was great (some fresh fruit) except for the service-station sausages but self service. Another problem was the unhelpfulness when it came to check out- I needed the bill in a certain format- person checking out was just not interested. The problem is that there is little else to choose from in Cambridge if you need to be near the centre so Doubletree will continue to get away with lacklustre service and a downbeat interior. Service is everything and this place compares really badly to places in Oxford that charge analogous rates but really give you a Rolls Royce time. There's a golden opportunity for a cracking new central hotel in Cambridge that does excellent food at a reasonable price - people would flock.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank womanbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear womanbird
Thank you for your recent review. I am so disappointed to learn that your recent stay was poor value for money and that you felt our service levels had room for improvement. It is always our aim to ensure that each and every guest has a seemless stay with us and I am sorry that this was not the case with yourself. Perhaps you would be so kind to contact me direct on 01223 259932 so we may discuss the matter and bring to a satisfactory conclusion. Kind regards Greg Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing