We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, quiet but central, and really good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent location, quiet but central, and really good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Despite the building not having masses of character, the position is lovely, overlooking the river, and only a five minute walk to the town centre. But most impressive was the service. For example, we left a bottle of champagne in the minibar when we went out, and the staff had put it into a bucket of ice with a nice note for our return. When we didn't drink it that night, they did the same the second night. All staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We would happily return there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team I know they will be pleased to know that their hard work and attention to detail does not go unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    756
    363
    167
    63
See reviews for
426
813
92
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I very much enjoyed my 2 night stay in the doubletree. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and the concierge was very helpful. One thing I would say is the rooms could have had more storage space e.g. draws and wardrobe space and the hair dryer could have been a lot better. The curtains also only closed halfway which was annoying when the sun was blazing through! The room was a good size but the space could have been more effectively used. Also the cost of the car park and the wifi were pretty astronomical! On a good note, the breakfast was delicious, the hotel was very modern and tasteful and the service was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiehodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very helpful staff, the requests we made re rooms at time of booking were met, lovely location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear James
Thank you for your recent review, your feedback is always appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Warmly welcome with tasty cookie. nice location of the hotel which facing the river , you can see trees , rivers and grass through your room window. it is convinience to walk to downtown and silence environment for you to have peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMAChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey, your feedback is always appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Doubletree Cambridge, and we were welcomed by the friendly staff throughout the hotel. The dinner menu at the restaurant offers many tasty options and we were not disappointed with any of our selections. The location of the hotel is perfect, for all the touring, sights and sounds of this wonderful city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your recent review, it is great to have feedback from regular guests, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your experience at the restaurant.. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were staying in Cambridge overnight for a short break. We were very pleased when we arrived at the Doubletree Hilton when we saw how close it was to the central town, the river and the punts. We booked a king room, overlooking the river with a balcony. We weren't disappointed by the room or the view. It was well appointed and we had everything we needed including the little extras such as dressing gown and slippers. The cookie upon arrival was a nice touch and unexpected. The reception staff were efficient and checked us in earlier than the 3pm checkin stated which was great after travelling some distance to get there. Breakfast was great - we were greeted by friendly staff, seated quickly and offered lots of choice of hot/cold food. We didn't drink in the bar, but it looked great - very modern. All in all, a great weekend.

Room Tip: If you can - pay a little extra and go for a riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear LouNewman, thank you for your recent review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the location of the hotel and the service from our staff in general. We take great pride in the service we provide and therefore it is always a pleasure to receive such positive praises from a happy customer.
We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Greeted warmly by a French sounding lady with a chocolate cake, we pointed out that our home address was not Singapore as appeared on the booking made by Agora. However despite our urging this was not altered, and remained so even on the fast-checkout bill. Although we do not live in a Police State, it is useful for hoteliers to have details of residents in case of emergency or for return of forgotten items.
We were offered express checkout. Fortunately I checked and discovered that I was being billed with 4 nights parking at £17.50 per night, when we had only stayed 2 nights. This was met with a shrug of the shoulders from the same lady who had greeted us on our arrival, although the young Englishman who was also on duty did express concern, and also for other matters relating to our room which I mentioned when asked if we had enjoyed our stay. Our clock continued to show winter time throughout our stay despite clocks having advanced a week previously;
there was no bulb in the reading light;
the bath tap lacked proper cover, hence the screw was exposed,
one could not alter the temperature of the bathwater without rising because the control was a shower height,
the bathroom lacked a lavatory brush
the bathroom lacked a drinking glass.
This is an excellently situated hotel on the banks of the Cam, formerly the well-known and highly regarded Garden House, now a Hilton Doubletree.
The fact that the Doubletree planted ceremoniously in the garden some years ago is looking tired is a further indication of the lack of attention to detail which one is entitled to expect in a hotel of this grade.
Breakfast generous, but not much point in being taken to one's table and immediately poured a glass of orange juice when denying one the choice of grapefruit and 3 others also available.
We denied ourselves the Chef's specialities, Zebra and Antelope, and chose to eat at the nearby Lock Fyne.........now that is a different and better experience.

Room Tip: As the hotel has a wide river facing frontage, corridors are very long, but rooms distant from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubliner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Dubliner21, Thank you for your very detailed review following your recent stay here at the Doubletree Cambridge. I am sorry to hear that you felt there was poor attention to detail and would like to assure you that the quality and standards of the hotel are of paramount importance to us and I will personally ensure your feedback is shared with the team to make immediate improvements. I am pleased that you found our team members to be pleasant throughout your stay as this is exemplary of DoubleTree and its Care culture. I hope that you may have the opportunity to return to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future and may decide to dine in the Riverside Brasserie. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing