We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location . . . Quite good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
halifax
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Location . . . Quite good hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

The location is great, really central and with car park. Otherwise the hotel is unremarkable. It's what you might expect from a good hotel, but nothing stands out. we didn't use the leisure facilities so can't comment on that.
We did eat in the restaurant and that was nice, again nothing remarkable.
Top marks however to staff, very friendly, and very helpful.
I would definitely stay here again, mostly because of its location.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank harriete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Harriete
Thank you for your review, I was glad that overall you enjoyed your stay, however, very sorry to read that despite the helpful and friendly service received from our staff your stay was an unremarkable one. I can only hope that on your next stay with us you will be able to make the most of our facilities and leisure amenities in order to enhance your experience. Looking forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    772
    374
    177
    78
See reviews for
444
840
92
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

As a business hotel, the hotel is ok but in comparison to other Hiltons and value for money as a Gold member room upgrades are poor and there is no executive lounge. Hotel corridors and stair ways smelt musty. In general: Not bad, but not directly recommendable either.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Doubletree in Cambridge is ideally located just a few minutes' walk from most of the Cambridge colleges and the old center of the city, and sits astride the river. Rooms are pleasant, quiet and comfortable (though the standard size is small). That's about where the benefits end. The restaurant's food is quite ordinary -- a dull breakfast buffet in the morning, with an overambitious lunch menu that didn't live up to its prose, the one time I tried it. While the front desk was attentive and acted swiftly on any issue, the hotel's managers, who seemed to be international, were a bit fulsome. I sensed an operation designed to make money more than to deliver a quality of service consistent with the high cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had chosen this hotel for a business trip as it appeared the best option in Cambridge. The hotel was OK, but not more. On arrival, I found that I had to pay for Wi-Fi connection and breakfast. This was on top of the 189 GBP, I was already charged. The room was OK, quite spacious, but somewhat worn. For no obvious reason I was given a room especially suited for disabled persons which meant that everything was very close to the floor. I did not bother complaining as I had only a short stay.

Food in the hotel was OK, but not superb. Especially the lunch buffet was somewhat disappointing. Staff was OK, but their approach to service varied from person to person. Some were bvery godd and some were quite detached in the approach to their work.

Finally, an adapter for central european electric devices was not for loan, but had to be bought for 6 GBP. This is ridiculous for a hotel, that pricewise brand itself as close to luxury.

In general: Not bad, but not directly recommendable either

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We spent two nights at the Doubletree. The room was a good size, everything was clean and in good working order and the bed great. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I was disappointed in having to pay for wi-fi and finding out (after the fact) that the only breakfast available was a very high-price buffet. The options were good, but way more than we really wanted to spend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Some background: I lived in Cambridge for a few years and I would frequently eat at the University Centre, just adjacent to the Doubletree. I always wondered if I'd ever be able to afford to stay at the nice looking hotel on the Cam. Now 25 years later, the Garden House hotel is a Doubletree and my wife and I booked a 5-night reward stay there.

We were met at the front desk by two very helpful and pleasant agents who immediately checked us into our riverview room. The room was of reasonable size with a comfortable bed and nice view of the Cam. There was a very small balcony, but it was too small to really do more than stand out there briefly and take in the view.

Breakfast (as Diamond members) was free in the restaurant and featured a nice full breakfast buffet, a number of breads, some nice muffins and sweets, and the usual assortment of cold items and cereals. Service in the restaurant was efficient and pleasant.

Wifi was free (for Gold and Diamond members), but you need to use a new Swisscom card each day to validate the service (I was given 5 at check-in). It also appeared that you are limited to using a single device.

Location is a block away from Trumpington Street and very near to Kings College Chapel and an easy walk to the central market, shopping (Lion Yard, the new Grand Arcade), and many restaurants and pubs. We found the Anchor, a Greene King pub on Silver Street, to have good food, decent beer, and a nice view of the river.

I'd highly recommend the Doubletree for a stay in Cambridge.

Room Tip: The river view rooms feature a very pleasant and peaceful view of the Cam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefftiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My father, my brother and I stayed two nights at Doubletree in Cambridge, UK. Our room and bathroom were spacious. We had a third roll-away bed added and did not feel crowded. Very high standards of linens, toiletries, cleanliness and service was evident throughout. Tea and coffee (free)was available in-room, a nice touch, as well as a stocked small refridgerator (purchase). Our first-floor room had a small outdoor balcony that overlooked a bicycle and walking path; frequent activity was not noisy. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was served buffet-style; it varied from a "traditional English Breakfast" to cereals, cold-cuts, cheeses, yogurt, fruit and juices. A small business center provided free Internet access and we could print out our boarding passes directly. Location was excellent for walking almost anywhere in Cambridge, yet just far enough off the main throughfare for a quiet stay. The pool and fitness areas are staffed and looked excellent although I did not use them (not enough time). I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheatreJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your recent review, it is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the team, I know that they will be pleased to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is only through feedback from our customers that we can continually evaluate and improve the level of hospitality that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
889 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing