We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upmarket spot for a weekend away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Upmarket spot for a weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just come back from a good weekend away. Hotel is very centrally located, with all spots within easy walking distance and right by the river. Staff were friendly and professional throughout, rooms clean and they made an effort to make the rollaway bed that my daughter used look like a "real" bed. Food was very good for a hotel "chain". Only niggle was the rooms were warm at night (no air con) and I couldn't open the windows as the Peterhouse Ball was going on across the field and making a right racket! Can't blame the Hilton for that though....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on this website, feedback is always appreciated.
I was pleased to see that despite the noise from the Petehouse May Ball overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    747
    359
    167
    62
See reviews for
415
800
92
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Handy location, nice views, good rooms. Good value for Cambridge. Will use again next time I'm in Cambridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great stay in a perfectly positioned hotel. We were lucky enough to go over the beautiful sunshine weekend in May, so sitting on the balcony overlooking the river made our stay. Hotel was lovely, great room, good breakfast, we were lucky enough to be going as a treat, I would never pay these prices myself!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kez07London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review, your feedback is always appreciated. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to know that you managed to enjoy some sunshine. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

16 of us of all ages stayed for one night for a 70th birthday treat including dinner bed and breakfast. Cannot praise the staff highly enough. Everyone made us feel welcome, particlarly Dan in reception. We had a great time and made use of all facilities including the swimming pool and gym. The swimming pool water was warm, whilst the jacuzzi was the hottest jacuzzi I have been in, very nice! Knowing that the car park was £17.50 per day and there were four cars, we had planned to park away from the hotel and come back by taxi, saving £70.00. The weather however wasnt the best, really cold and wet, and we all decided to sacrifice the £17.50 each and park in the hotel car park. The weather did take the edge off the stay as we had this notion of aperitifs before dinner by the river, where the views were fab. The weather did pick up though on the Monday and we all went punting on the boats outside the hotel, great fun.Would definitely recommend this hotel. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and my Mum went home with a big smile on her face having had a great birthday away with her family!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Steve
I cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay.
I will personally relay your feedback to all the team members who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your mother’s enjoyable 70th birthday celebration. We at the DoubleTree Cambridge take pleasure in creating moments of magic for our guests. I am pleased that we were able to do so for you.
I truly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had to stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge for a business meeting that occurred there for a couple of days. The room itself was adequate and clean, a bit on the small side, but not cramped. We turned on the A/C to cool down the stuffy room, but after waiting a while and noticed the room was not cool, we called front desk to ask for someone to check our A/C, only to be told there was no A/C. What we had in the room was an air cooler, and we had to open the window to let the hot air out. So we opened the window, but there was no screen, so bugs flew in and bit us. The room temperature was never comfortable, and to add insults to injury, the curtains could not be closed. There're only half a curtain over the window! So by 6 am or so, the light started to brighten up the room. We only got 2 hours of sleep max each night. The bed was also not comfortable. It felt hard. The pillows were too thick. All of these combinations made it the worst for sleeping. As for the staff, for some reasons, we felt they were not warm or welcoming. They were nice enough, but we just got the sense they would have rather be doing something else than talking to us. The gentleman that came to our room to check on the A/C scolded us that it was not an A/C but an air cooler as if we should have known, and we were too stupid to know, or something to that effect. He just had a very short and curt way about him. If we had to be back in Cambridge next time, we'll try the Crown Plaza down the street instead. Colleagues who stayed there said they enjoyed it there very much. Breakfast here was excellent though.

Room Tip: There is no good room if the whole hotel doesn't have air conditioning, and the curtains cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Cher, thank you for your recent review on this website. I was very concerned to read of your disappointing experience with us at the hotel.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the fact that you found your room to be too hot. As you are aware, the hotel currently has only an air cooling system and I apologise for any discomfort caused. I should just like to mention that a fan would have been available upon request.

Air conditioning is becoming a more important requirement of hotel guests these days and we will obviously bear this in mind when our bedrooms are next re-furbished.

With regards to your comment about the curtains not been able to close. Behind the dress curtains there are black-out curtains that fully open and close, I am sorry if this was not clear enough nor explained to you on arrival by our receptionist.

I can only hope that you will return to the hotel in the future when I hope you will enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Booked the hotel for one night, on quite short notice. Although there were a couple of hitches with the booking, the staff were quick to rectify.
The room was really well thought out, the amenities were great, no having to search for a plug socket to plug the kettle in there was a set station for the refreshments, many hotels provide the tea and coffee making facility but then you have to re-arrange the room to make a cuppa! Not here though. Bathroom was modern and spacious.
Slight negative the blackout curtain didn't fit completely across the window so some light filtered through, not a problem for me but my husband likes a really dark room - (comments to your-selves please!).
We will definately return to this hotel when we next visit Cambridge, hopefully will book in advance to enable us to have a river view room.

Room Tip: A river view room would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssexCoupleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review, your feedback is always appreciated. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

In terms of location this is excellent everything in easy walking distance, staff our friendly. If the waether is good nothing can beat sitting in the small garden area watch the River Cam (and punters...) go by.
The negatives - personally do not enjoy the food in the Dining Room (good places to eat closeby)
- breakfast is Buffet and fine.
Have stayed here 5 or so times and would love to have one of the rooms with a view (most do not have this view) - rooms quite small and A/C not working.
Given the prices would expect Wifi to be free.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerlea45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review on this website, your constructive comments and feedback are welcomed. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and I have duly noted your comments and suggestions for future reference. I can only hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing