We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
300 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“River Views”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Older building (60s-70s architecture) with renovations to rooms. We had a quite large King room with updated bathroom (smallish but sufficient), balcony, and river views. Delightful views. Service was fine---except for one odd woman (short, dark hair, thick) at the check-in desk who seemed to dive for the telephone whenever guests appeared to avoid answering questions. Luckily the other guest services staff were on point (Concierge was delightful as were other front desk staff). Rooms not that well insulated but we had a white noise machine--thank goodness so we slept well. Hotel has small pool, hot tub, and steam room and sauna. Facilities were serviceable. Breakfast was good and varied (we had omelettes made to order, fruit, etc) and free for HHonors Diamond as was wifi. Hotel is walking distance to everything in Cambridge. It is not a luxurious property but it is perfectly fine and more importantly clean. I would stay here again if in Cambridge. We had a prepaid rate, making this hotel a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    767
    369
    168
    68
See reviews for
433
828
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A wonderful hotel in the centre of cambridge and on teh banks of the river Cam. Lovely riverside gardens at the back, private function rooms with garden access. Professional staff, excellent service and food. All rooms are excellent but the ones facing the river are the nicest and some have balconies. parking is expensive, but your ticket is validated by the reception desk and you can go in and out as much as you like during your stay for the reduced guest price.
Excellent venue for a celebration or wedding.

Room Tip: Room 127 has three windows and three aspect views of the river. Also room 102 has a lovely balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I have in recent years compiled a number of reviews on this site regarding various resorts, hotels and attractions, and have never before submitted a ‘negative’ review on anywhere I have stayed, so I do not consider myself to be a persistent complainer, but I do consider that the Double Tree Hilton at Cambridge does deserve negative comment.

Stayed there with my wife over a weekend in July 2012 to attend a wedding. So, first the good points. The bed was expansive and comfortable, with the room (on the third floor) being clean and reasonably well equipped with hairdryer, flat screen TV and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel was located fairly centrally with the main universities and the shopping centres being just a short walk away. The views from the room over the river were excellent. The fitness centre appeared to be good, but the pool, which we used twice was very small by hotel standards.

Onto the bad points. The room was small, by that I mean that I have stayed in larger Premier Inn rooms at considerably less cost. Clothes storage space was adequate, but only just, with no actual wardrobes provided, just hanging rails. The ‘air cooler’ system within the room was ineffective and did little to reduce the room temperature. The bathroom was cramped and the shower which was of the ‘over the bath’ variety, was dismal. I have watering cans which are more powerful. The so called balcony has got to be a contender for the ‘world’s smallest’ having sufficient room for two chairs - just

My major criticism is reserved for the extortionate cost involved. I reside in West London, so am used to paying London prices for accommodation and refreshments but, we were charged £229 per night for the room which included breakfast and car parking. I cannot comment on the cost of breakfast, but the car park adjacent to the hotel costs some £17.50 per day for hotel guests. The cost of drinks at the bar were eye-watering, in that a Bacardi and coke, together with a pint of bitter was £10.15p.

In conclusion, I considered the Double Tree to be expensive and mediocre at best. I would have expected a much larger, air conditioned room with a decent shower in a separate shower cubicle for that sort of money. You seem to pay a considerable premium for the fairly central location and the view. I notice that other negative reviews have attracted a response from the management, which is commendable, but rather than just providing a written response, I would strongly suggest they actually take some action to rectify guests complaints.

Would I recommend this hotel to others? No. Would I stay there again? Definitely not. I believe there must be better and considerably cheaper hotels within the City that are worthy of people’s patronage. In short, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
I was very sad to read your review on TripAdvisor with regards your recent stay with us. I can see from your comments that there were some areas of your stay that did not seem to meet your expectations. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused you. As you mentioned we do respond to all good and negative feedback, but we go beyond this, we take all of our guests’ comments very seriously and where possible we always carry out in depth investigations onto the matter and implement further staff training so that these kinds of issues do not recur in the future. I can only hope that in the future you may decide to return to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Nice facilities and location, right on the river and close to the city centre. Lots of nice pubs and restaurants nearby. Room rates were ridiculously expensive. The breakfast was very poor - fried eggs on buffet could have served as shoe soles – must have been under the heating lamps for a while!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We arrived early en route to a funeral, and asked to leave bags and just freshen up, but were told one of the rooms was ready for use. I had a room with a balcony, (to my delight the balcony had chairs, table and an ashtray), and a view over the canal and river and trees. An enormous bed, good bedding, and everything worked - TV, hairdryer, iron, etc. Decent sized en-suite and nice toiletries. Free cookies and chocolate as well as the usual tea/coffee/minibar stuff.

In the evening we ate from the bar menu, which was very good. Left too early for breakfast, unfortunately; could have ordered but too early for us! We ate the cookies instead.

Staff were attentive, pleasant and very helpful. Hotel very clean and relaxing. Just what we needed after a stressful day. Thank you to all of them for such a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We booked on lastminute.com and it was excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Jennifer
Thank you for your recent review, your feedback is always appreciated. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and you enjoyed the location, bedroom and the chocolate chip cookie. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I took a group of Italian VIPs to this hotel and they were very impressed. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. Only a bidet was missing, by Italian standards. But the beds were comfortable and the views lovely. Breakfast is excellent, the staff are extremely professional, and the position is ideal for discovering Cambridge on foot. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to any type of traveller - business or leisure, couples or families.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady-of-Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Lady of Harley
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on this website. I was very pleased to read that your Italian VIP guests were happy with their stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team, I know that they will be pleased to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed.
We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Went here for a girls weekend, room was overpriced, we asked for double beds and got twins. Rooms were small, and walls were paper thin, I could hear people sneezing in the room next to us. Maids tried to come in and clean our room twice before 10 am and check out was at 12. Had problems opening the pull out couch and reception was rude when we called about it, and the guy who came to help us had what looked like a mixed alcohol drink in his hand and was very short and rude. I will not only not stay here again but I will spend an hour of my time writing bad reviews for this hotel wherever I can! Trust me you can find WAY better and nicer hotels for $300+ a night!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Rheannon
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us, your feedback is always appreciated. I was very sad to read and certainly very concerned to see from your comments that there were some areas of your stay that did not seem to meet your expectations. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused you. I will certainly pass on your comments to the relevant managers for them to take necessary action where possible. In the meantime,I can only hope that you will decide to return to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,713 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
879 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing