We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but lacking in several areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, but lacking in several areas”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We selected the Doubletree Hotel for its great location by the river and close to the sights in Cambridge. We were not disappointed with this aspect.
The rooms were reasonable, clean and modern, if a little small. We only had breakfast in the hotel, during our one night stay. This was included in the room price and reasonably presented, but the buffet area was set out in a cramped location, which does not help the guests make a relaxed selection.
The things we were not happy with included, overpriced drinks at the bar, being charged for parking, being given information by reception staff, which at best was misleading and just felt like we were fobbed off just to have an easy time and not bothered about giving the guests false information and advice. Not impressed by the poor quality of this service, which involved the hotel arranging a taxi to take four of us the Newmarket Races, then being stranded with no means of getting back and the night manager gave the clear impression of " could not careless and it's not my problem". Never trust anything the Reception or Management tell you, make independent arrangements to make sure you are not stranded too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanBCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is always appreciated. I can see from your ratings and comments that there were some areas of your stay that did not seem to meet your expectations. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused you. I was very sorry to read that despite our booking the taxi driver failed to pick you up as arranged, I can only hope that you understand this is/was out of our hands, however I am sorry if you felt that our staff member was not as helpful as you would have hoped for in a moment of distress for which I sincerely apologise for. We take very seriously all of our guests' comments and following your comments we carried out a full investigation and further staff training so that this kind of situation do not recur in the future. In the meantime, I can only hope that you will not be deterred from returning to us and we look forward to welcoming you back at the DoubleTree Cambridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    761
    367
    167
    64
See reviews for
431
821
92
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We arrived just before lunch so our room was not ready ,but we had a nice lunch overlooking the Cam river .Excellent service and food.
Our room also overlooked the Cam so we enjoyed watching the punting from our balcony.
Breakfast buffet was very good.
I would certainly retun to this hotel if I was in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice in a span of a month and had a great stay except the service aavailable at the restaurant, it took a long time for an omlette to be prepared and also only two types of fruits were available. The room was quite spacious and very clean with a good view of river cam. Early morning visited the pool and saw the attendant busy with texting not bothered to attend the guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzamBacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently and I can only say how disappointed we were with the food and the quality of service in the restaurant and leisure centre. Initially impressions were good; check in was efficient and members of staff on the front desk appeared pleasant. Our room, although small was clean and comfortable. On the down side there were only net curtains at the windows as the main curtains were decorative only and did not close. Very puzzling?! Consequently we were awake at 5am. On visiting the leisure complex the member of staff on duty was reading a paper - she did not greet us, look up from her paper or acknowledge us in any way at all. We left. Evening meal was a challenge. Our wine was brought to the table already opened and poured straight into our glasses without comment. The quality of the food produced was probably some of the worse i have had in a hotel. As soon as the first course was finished our plates were whisked away and immediately replaced with our main course which had obviously been sitting around for a while as the fish was totally dried up and my risotto was covered with a glutinous film. All in all I would expect so much more from a hotel of this quality and price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bets56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your recent review, your feedback is always appreciated.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the problems you encountered in the restaurant and the poor level of service and professionalism from our restaurant and leisure club staff, this is quite unacceptable on our behalf and certainly not typical of the high level of service normally associated with the hotel. We have already carried out a full investigation and subsequently further staff training has been completed in order to improve the service to make sure that this kind of situation does not reoccur in the future.
With regards to your comment about the curtains not been able to close. Behind the dress curtains there are black-out curtains that fully open and close, I am sorry if this was not clear enough nor explained to you on arrival by our receptionist. I can only hope that this did not disturb your sleep too much.
We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We arrived a couple of hours ahead of check-in time and was told our room would be ready in about an hour, so we stowed our luggage with the concierge and took a punt tour down the river which is only a minute from the hotel's entrance. The hotel is in a lovely position on the banks of the River Cam and within easy walking distance of all the attractions of the city. We had booked a balcony room overlooking the river and although small was very comfortable with a nice range of toiletries, good quality towels and bedding, a very comfortable bed, robes and slippers and nice teak furniture on the balcony. The room was beautifully clean however the balcony floor was not, somebody had split a drink which had left a sticky patch and it also hadn't been swept. I ordered ice from room service which was delivered amazingly quickly and we had a problem opening the minibar which the waiter tried everything to try and sort but was unable to solve. Generally, all of the staff we came into contact with were friendly and most helpful. We asked for their turndown service whilst we went out for dinner and came back to find everything had been cleaned and we had fresh towels, toiletries and tea and coffee supplies. The leisure facilities are good, with a pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna along with modern and clean changing facilities.

There was an excellent choice at breakfast with fresh fruits, meats, a variety of breads, croissants, muffins, juices and smoothies, eggs cooked to order and a pancake making machine,

The hotel parking is £17.50 however bearing in mind you are right in the centre of Cambridge and are able to park for longer than 24 hours, ie we arrived at 1pm and could park until midnight the following day I think this is good value.

Having stayed at most of the larger hotels in Cambridge, I think this represents the best value for money in terms of its position and facilities and is my first choice for future visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My partner and i booked this hotel whilst it was on offer for a double room with a room upgrade for £130.00 for the one night. As it was a special occasion we had chosen the upgrade for a more memorable stay.
We has paid this before hand yet anoth £27.50 was added to my partners bill for car park and a room upgrade?

The hotel was very pretty, very clean and beautiful rooms, as we didnt eat in the restaurant or use the bar we didnt experience the service others had commented on.

The website states it has pool and spa facilities, be aware this is in the car park and not in the hotel and be aware of the times you chose to go as we used the facilities after our check out to find a waterbabies class was happening and we then could not swim.

Apart from the few blips the hotels location is perfect and right on the river for punting etc.

Room Tip: Riverside view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDJB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your extensive and constructive comments on this website. Although I was pleased you had overall enjoyed your stay with us I was sorry to read of the billing error you encountered and the problem with the access to the Leisure Club. We do have an entrance to the club via the car park as well as via the internal corridors of the hotel, I am sorry if you were not aware of this more convenient entrance to the Club via the hotel directly. I can only hope in the future you decide to return to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times and overall had a pleasant time. Positives - lovely rooms, great views, first class leisure facilities and a big car park. The hotel restaurant sadly lets the side down. My first experience in the restaurant was shocking - had an anniversary dinner with my wife and suffered some of the worst service and food ever in a Hilton property anywhere. The second stay was marginally better but I've now found some great local restaurants so dine out!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear DonnyUKtraveller
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, feedback is of paramount importance to us and therefore despite being happy to read that overall you have always enjoyed your stays with us, we were very sorry to read of your disappointing experiences in the restaurant. We are working very hard on both service and food aspects of the restaurant and hopefully on your next visit you will enjoy your dining experience at the hotel. In the meantime we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing