We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have just stayed at the Hilton Doubletree in Cambridge, we only stayed for 1 night. The hotel was very welcoming and we had a lovely room, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I could not fault anything with this hotel. Previous reviews say how badly organised this hotel was and the state of it. Its just rubbish all moaners!!! I could not fault the public areas, lovely thick carpets, nice rooms, clean, amazing service, fantastic breakfast, nice staff. The room we had was clean and spacious, nice touches in regards to bathroom nick naks includes a mouthwash which I have never seen before. The bed and pillows were very comfy and all had lovely white crisp bedlinen. We had a balcony although it was a view of a building site but yet very quiet. I will say yes the drinks are expensive but its the 'Hilton' what do you expect, yes the parking is expensive but £18.50 for 24 hrs is cheap for Cambridge as you would easily have paid £5 hour to stay in a multi storey car park!! My Aunt had arranged a meal for us at the hotel as part of my 40th birthday celebrations, all very good I have to say. The meal sizes were somewhat large and very enjoyable, service was excellent although they did have a slight wasp problem in the garden areas however not to much of an issue for us, the views of the river are spectacular and we all really enjoyed this stay very much. I am hoping to come again very soon. The chocolate cookie on arrival was lovely, thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from 20 August 2013, had a twin room with balcony and water views. We had room 102. Unfortunately it is over the bar and the cigarette smoke constantly drifting into the room meant we had to keep closing the sliding glass door to the balcony. Which negated the main reason for staying there. We stayed last year and had a balcony room up another floor and at the other end of the hotel (king room) and that had no problem with smoke, only a little noisy from the constant stream of wedding receptions under the balcony on the grassed area. But we got used to that. Being able to have the door open to the balcony on a warm summers day is great. Especially helps get over jet lag sitting on the balcony.
The lower room also gets a lot of noise from the punts that are moored just outside.
Aside from that the location is very nice for getting up in the morning and doing a walk or run along the river Cam. Also just sitting on the balcony and watching people attempt punting.
The rooms are a little dated. Our bathroom door was sticking quite badly and showed signs of attempted repair. It was quite hard to get out.
The beds are comfortable.
Wifi is through Swiss, at a charge as in other Hiltons. The main issue for us, both last year and this, was the poor phone reception. We had gone to the trouble of organising local sims to have phone and data, but the reception in the hotel is patchy. The other end last year was worse, meaning we could not use mobile phones in our room at all, but room 102 required that we sit near the window or on the balcony to get reception.
Our room had a black out curtain so you could really block out the light, must be new because I don't recall it last year.
The breakfasts are quite good. The usual spread, not much variety in fresh fruit. But fried and scrambled eggs, and bacon etc. no cook to order. We had to send fruit salad back because it was off, and and they sent out some freshly cut up fruit. Coffee was not the best so we changed to tea. Pleasant outlook from the breakfast room. Staff are very helpful in the dining room, as they are at Reception. We had dinner there one night. Average. They have an exotic menu, with amongst other things, python, zebra, kangaroo.
The tables out by the river Cam are nice for having a drink or afternoon tea.
There is a small indoor pool and gym. Which we used last year, but opted for the local walks this year.
Overall the place feels run down and dated. Fortunately beds are comfortable , and we love the walks nearby, so we will continue to stay there as it's one of the better options in that area.

Room Tip: High floor, with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoteladvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed one night on business. Hotel is well maintained and rooms very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Did not have food in the hotel. Location is good for walking to the centre of Cambridge and is 5-10 minutes by taxi from the rail station. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hello, stayed in this hotel recently as a birthday treat. The location (on the river) is great. You can access the riverbank through the bar doors. Rooms were ok. The bedrooms don't have curtains that you can pull across so if you are not an early riser and its the summer time, be warned!!! Room was clean, bed was comfy, but could have done with more pillows...... and one of the side lights wasn't working. I didn't bother saying anything but in fairness I am sure they would have sorted it, had I done so. Patio doors in the bedrooms only have very limited opening ehich was a shame. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your review. Your comments are very valuable and useful to make necessary improvements to our service. As you rightly mentioned all the issues you encountered with the pillows, side lights and even the curtains could have been addressed and resolved during your stay (behind the dress curtains there are black-out curtains that fully open and close), I can only hope you will decide to return to the DoubleTree Cambridge when I am sure you will not encountered any more of these issues and thoroughly enjoy your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is one of the best bars in Cambridge especially when it is sunny, prime location on the river. The cocktails and fabulous and the welcoming staff are more than happy to go off piste and make you whatever you fancy. All round good service!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

So, what can I say about the doubletree, the staff are very attentive and friendly and rooms are very clean.

Special mention to the cocktail staff who seem to know exactly what you want, even if you don't even know yourself.

Thoroughly enjoyable, would recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahjq1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great location, beautiful rooms with an amazing view, but what makes this place is the service. Everyone was friendly, welcoming and keen to ensure we had a good experience at the hotel. The bar, in particular, was highly impressive. The bar manager, despite being busy, took time to listen to our requests and ensure he made us cocktails we would like. All bar staff had an impressive knowledge of their ingredients, understanding of complementary flavours and great customer service skills. We were served nothing but truly excellent cocktails all night and would go back to the hotel purely to try more of the exquisite cocktails! 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie20133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
928 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £139 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing