We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and perfect location”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Though it is expensive, the Doubletree is perfectly located in the City Center on the river Cam, with some rooms opening up onto it on the ground floor. Large, well-apportioned rooms, comfortable beds and pleasant decor. Nice breakfast room, good food, lovely afternoon tea. Would definitely recommend! While you stay here be sure to punt down the river with some Pimms, visit The Eagle and tour the colleges.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarozaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear MarozaneS
Thank you for your review on the hotel and useful tips about things to do in the area. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your visit to Cambridge. I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    761
    367
    167
    64
See reviews for
431
821
92
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just a short stay in a River View Room which is quite pricey -£200 + per night -and although the room is comfortable and well equipped but its quite small, no bigger than a Premier Inn, but with a small balcony. The big upside is the fabulous view across the river, it's quiet situation and ideal situation for centre of Cambridge, easily walkable to all the colleges, the chauffeur punts are two minutes away as are bike hire options and the market square. If you have a car it's £18.50 per night - you can street park nearby for free after c 6.30 pm - and breakfast is on top at c£12 pp if you book on check in or c£16 pp. this is a good hotel but it will cost you.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Alfie B
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your concerns with pricing and we sincerely hope that this will not deterred you from returning to us in the future when I am sure you will enjoy your stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is moderately priced and much less glamorous than most hotels we visit when travelling. However, the location was great, right on the Cam, and the people were friendly and very helpful. They have lovely outdoor seating along the river. Our room was clean and had a nice balcony looking on the Cam. We could hear some late-night party students on the river, but they passed quickly. The city is easy to walk - this is a great choice for location and ease of getting around, 10 -15 minutes walk to see all the Colleges of Cambridge University.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the Cam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masoncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear masoncm
Thank you for your constructive review regarding your stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge. I am glad to know that you appreciated all of the services that the hotel has to offer such as the outdoor seating area along the river, the perfect location in the heart of Cambridge, the clean hotel and most importantly the friendly and helpful service from our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I am a member of the Hilton Doubletree 'living well' gym/pool and attend regularly and I also use the restaurant and hotel facilities. The gym staff are excellent, particularly Martin Coles who is an excellent personal trainer. The restaurant is situated overlooking the river, the breakfasts are particularly wonderful! It is a lovely place for afternoon tea, especially if you are able to sit outside. BUT...yes, here it is - the hotel has decided to demolish the gym/pool complex which is a huge blow to it's over 700 members. These members have remained loyal despite Hilton running the leisure facility down over the last 4 years with little or no investment. Demolision is very shortsighted of the management as I would suspect that the majority of visitors booking accommodation in Cambridge opt for this hotel because it is the only one with such a facility. Hilton wish to create more bedrooms on the gym site...once again, it's all about money not about the community and it is lacking in customer focus. They will certainly lose the custom of the current members who are unlikely to use their hotel once they are no longer members.

Room Tip: Although living in Cambridge and so have not slept in the hotel - friends who have stayed here have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for getting in touch.
With regards to the planning application submitted by the hotel's owners, our guests can be assured it is business as usual at the hotel.
Should the planning permission be granted, those staying with us will continue to benefit from the facilities available at the hotel, including a new gym.
We would also be delighted to continue to welcome non-guests like yourself to use our restaurant facilities and enjoy the lovely views of the river you mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Held an event at the DoubleTree this summer on the banks of the River Cam, with guests staying in the hotel. Event was executed flawlessly - and the setting could not have been better. Recommended for weddings or corporate events.

Food is surprisingly good for a chain hotel, even room service. Service is generally very good, with a number of very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Try to pay a little extra for the riverview rooms, and 2nd / 3rd floor rooms are better as they clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T1ggerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I was very pleased to read that the event you attended at the DoubleTree Cambridge was such a success and you enjoyed this and in general your overnight stay with us as well. We look forward to having you with us for an event or stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed two nights in this nice, clean and modern hotel. It is in an ideal location on the River Cam, and near the city center.

Because it is nice, it seems to be a popular wedding and party venue, which often causes the lobby bar and adjacent lawn area to be taken over by the party guests. The plumbing seems to need some work, as we generally had hot water from the cold water faucets. And unfortunately, this hotel is hanging onto their outdated wi-fi daily charge of seven pounds.

We would stay here again however. The staff was uniformly friendly, and the dining room provided a nice meal on one of our nights.

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear R H
Thank you for your comments on this website. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us including the restaurant and the service from our team members. The issue you encountered with the hot water on that weekend was an unfortunate one off event due to a third party handling of the water system that left us with no hot water until this problem was spotted and after some delay resolved. I am very sorry for the inconvenience that this may have caused you and I sincerely hope this would not be cause for marred memories of an otherwise happy stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The room was spacious and the hotel in a decent location. The hotel was overpriced, and clearly taking advantage of the graduation weekend rush however, with dated furnishing and unimpressive restaurant for such a world-renowned brandname. Overall, it is a safe stay but ultimately unimpressive and sure to be somewhat disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the River Cam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear tandan22
Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to know that despite enjoying your stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge this was however not a memorable one. All of our bedrooms have recently being redecorated, I am sorry if this was not to your liking. I can only hope you will not be deterred from returning to the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing