We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the Tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Hilton name has always prided itself on the label of excellence, my wife and I have stayed in three other Hilton hotel's being Brighton twice, Gatwick twice and London once, all of which have been really ordinary, however the DoubleTrees Hilton at Cambridge was in our opinion excellent indeed, as one of your previous reviewers has said "the staff were all so helpful & friendly", we also found the room had all the facilities that you could ask for including a large bed.
The price was not the cheapest nor the dearest in Cambridge but for its location we felt it to be good value for money, if you want that convenience and facilities in that location you cant expect it to compete with the local B&B calling itself a hotel.
Well done Doubletree's you are the standard to aspire to!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Sydney68
I cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay. It was particularly pleasing to see your impression of our staff and service and that your overall experience was ‘excellent’. Once again thank you for your valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,103)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a lovely stay in this Hotel located a short walk to the heart of Cambridge and the wonderful sights. Very comfortable but we had a few niggles. The WI-FI is not free and that bugs me. The room on the third floor was so so unbearably hot. The concierge tried his best to help improve our comfort levels but in the end it was just tooooo hot. We slept with the balcony door open all night, had a portable cooler brought up to the room and then still slept on top of the beds in very little clothing? Remember it is the early Winter at this time and the heating is wound up for all those in need but really, it was so mild and the A/C is turned off permanently to the rooms/hotel during this period we were told so no way of adjusting the temp in the room. The hotel staff were understanding, sympathetic and in the end as helpful as they could be. Otherwise a very nice place to stay in Cambridge.

Room Tip: try to find a room on the ground floor. We were told the heat in the rooms is worse the higher you g...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonsays3042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your constructive review. Although I was pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with our team members, I was very sorry to read that this could have been marred by the room temperature. When there is a sudden change in weather, like from very cold to mild, it is difficult to adjust the temperature of a big building such as this one to the liking of all the guests, however your comments have been passed onto the Maintenance Manager for his knowledge.
For now, I can only hope that this would not deter you from returning to us as we look forward to welcoming you back for a cooler stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The cookies are a great touch.
We were there 24 hours & felt relaxed, very well fed & happy.
The staff were all so helpful & friendly & had personalities.
The room was a great size & we loved the layout & having a balcony overlooking the river was amazing.
The food presentation was stunning & everything was very tasty.

Room Tip: Well worth having a King balcony room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryandCarol52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear GaryandCarol52
So very happy to see that you had such a brilliant birthday stay with us. Very pleased to know that you felt this was a proper treat and everything from the welcoming DoubleTree cookie to the food and staff were amazing. We really look forward to your next visit, hopefully before your next birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel has a good location, but is overly expensive for what you get. Rooms look dull and un cared for, wi-fi at £15 extra for 24hrs what a joke..... Food poor, breakfast poor just generally a poor experience.........

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 238robertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Robert T
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are generally very surprised at your comments seeing that during your stay as well as on check out you did not mention any major issue and in fact the team members remembered you as a happy customer. However, we are very sorry that this was not the case, we just wish these issues would have been brought to our attention during your stay as we always endeavour to make everything in our hands to make our guests stay an enjoyable one. For now, we can only hope that you will give us a second chance and return to the hotel when we are sure you will enjoy your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Everything fantastic except the business centre with 2 slow computers that often don´t even work, and the fact they charge for in-room WiFi which is IMO a well out of date practice for hotels of this price and category. Great pool, good breakfast, nice staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank JLG0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your constructive review. We are pleased to read that despite the disappointment of the Wifi charges, overall you enjoyed your stay very much and found the pool, breakfast and the staff to be to your liking. We really look forward to your bi-annual stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

we arrived at 22.00 and were greeted warmly by the receptionist. Our car was parked by the porter and the key taken to our room. We then ordered room service; sandwiches which were superb with nice fresh bread and generous fillings.
The room was fine if on the small side and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom belied the description on our booking voucher of ' spacious'. In fact it was quite small with only room for one person.
Irritating that they charge for wifi when so many much cheaper places offer it FOC.
However the staff were all welcoming and helpful and the receptionist ( Nancy) even rembered my name from the night before. The buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We used this Hotel to break a long journey and it fitted this purpose well. We arrived to a welcome cookie and comfortable surroundings and when we got to our room it was well equipped and also very comfortable, I slept well. In the morning I went swimming and I was very disappointed with the changing facilities which were cramped. The actual swimming area was very good with all the facilities like a steam room, sauna etc. Breakfast was good as well but it seemed to run out quite quickly. I can see this Hotel would make a good business destination as well. However, if you are coming to cambridge not for business and for longer than a a couple
of nights then this is not the place. Firstly, it is an incredibly ugly building and for those who have never actually been to ca,bridge and expect every building to be like the colleges then this hotel will let you down. However, the hotels that are in the traditional style are either bad or very expensive, remembering also that this hotel is in a good location, I feel as though I can glaze over that problem. Overall, I felt that this hotel was good and I would suggest it to others and stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,385 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
914 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £166 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing