We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Lovely surroundings. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Food in restaurant very good. Breakfast were particularly helpful. Room very pleasant and I requested a room on higher floor which was met. Felt safe as a lone traveller and would definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 2012MSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
What a lovely review. We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly that as a lone traveller you felt safe with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    747
    359
    167
    62
See reviews for
415
799
92
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Used a groupon voucher costing £35 (50% discount) - afternoon tea was very poor egg sandwiches with no egg in them, round jelly blobs on flat sponge circles ! Cakes that were dry and scones that could seriously maim. Then the "spa" this was like a municipal swimming pool from the 70's dirty floor, water stained ceiling tiles, pubic hairs in the changing cubicles, would not recommend or return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Nicola D
Please accept our most sincere apology for the disappointing Afternoon Tea experience you had. This is quite unacceptable and certainly not up to our usual high standards. The Head Chef and Leisure Club Manager are now aware of your comments and send their deepest apologies and assured me that immediate action will be taken and most importantly further staff training so that this kind of situation does not recur in the future.
For now, I can only hope that this experience will not deter your from returning to the hotel or Spa as we are confident that on your next visit you will enjoy top class service and the high quality standards for which we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORWICH, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I so enjoyed my stay at the Doubletree Hilton that as soon as I returned home I cancelled a future booking I had at another Cambridge hotel and rebooked it at the Doubletree, even though it was more expensive. My room was spotless, food was excellent, location ideal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Helen M
I was delighted to read that you had such a fantastic and memorable stay that you are returning to us in the near future, it is such a pleasure to receive such good news! We await you with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited this hotel at the beginning of January. The location is fantastic, on a quiet spot, next to river Cam, away from the town buzz and at the same time in a short walking distance to the city center.
The receptionist that check us in was very friendly and helpful, she gave us brief orientation of the area and god places to eat for lunch.
Our room was on the first floor benefiting from a balcony, overlooking the river Cam - really nice. If you chose this hotel definitely book a room with the view of the river or ask for one otherwise it is not the same experience.
We went in the bar for afternoon tea and quick dinner bite. The service is fast and very pleasant, good was ok but nothing special.
The breakfast variety was quite good, they also have tables outside next to the river, so that is a must in the summer.
The only downside was the pool and fitness center. The pool was overcrowded, mainly with kids ( looking like from outside) and at the same time very small, steam rooms and sauna outdated - - the are definitely needs some refreshing. The guy sitting at the desk there was not interested to help at all or point out any facilities as we were first time users.
Overall very good hotel for business or pleasure if you find a decent deal, I wouldn't pay more than GBP 150 per night for a standard room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moontraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear moontraveller26
Thank you for your review. I was glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I thank you for your positive comments but also for your constructive observations about the pool and service as it is only through feedback from our customers that we can continually evaluate and improve the level of hospitality that we offer, your comments have already been passed onto the Leisure Club Manager and he will take immediate action.
In the meantime, we simply look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

great hotel for exploring Cambridge city , located in quiet area of the city, it makes a great base, lovely oasis to relax at the end of busy day . The only moan I have is that the car park is on the expensive side at 18.50 pounds per day, with no alterative.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank smithy363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear smithy363
Thank you for your recent review. It is great to read that you found the hotel a great base for exploring the city and a lovely oasis to relax. I am however sorry that you were not happy with the car parking charges. These charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was there last January with my daughter; got a wonderful room with balcony overlooking the river Cam. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast excellent and the rooms impeccable. It is also very well located, right in the centre of town, just besides the Graduate Center, and five minute walk to Kings College.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Mauricio N
Thank you for your kind comments on this website. I am pleased to read that you and your daughter had a fantastic stay and found the staff, breakfast and rooms impeccable as well as enjoying the perfect location. I look forward to welcoming you both back to the DoubleTree Cambridge very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I are big fans of the Doubletree brand; we even got engaged at The Doubletree Chester. However we feel the Cambridge Hotel lets the brand down. We were given a very small “King Room” considering there were two of us staying for two nights. The concierge even said we had a small room but also pointed out it was ok as it had recently been refurbished so was more modern. We had one half length wardrobe and a shelf to store our clothes/shoes/gym kit. Not sufficient.
The room was very hot even with the air con on the coolest setting. Opening the window was a mistake as in the morning there was a film crew filming a noisy rowdy scene right outside our window. These people were hanging around in and around reception so I assume they had the hotels permission. Not exactly taking guests peace into consideration. Some warning maybe or a room away from this area.
Anyway, onto the spa/gym. Gym facilities good, very quiet, choice of all equipment (Friday afternoon 4ish). The Pool/Spa on the other hand not so good. The Pool area and changing rooms were generally a little grotty and outdated. The Steam Room was out of order, the Jacuzzi was cold and the tiny pool was overcrowded. There were swimming lessons going on in a quarter of the pool. My husband and I decided to swim in the same lane as there wasn't much room but then someone else decided to join us so upon completing a lap I’d turn around to finds someone else swimming up behind me. I can’t blame the hotel for other peoples rudeness and lack of etiquette but there should have been a lifeguard or attendant in place to monitor usage. Normally I will use a spa daily on a weekend break (hence why we chose a hotel with a spa) but didn't bother again on this stay.
We used the food and beverage facilities in the hotel on both evenings and the food was lovely, of a great standard and the staff were very friendly and efficient.
Personally, I would recommend eating here but not staying the night. No where near value for money and a poor representation of the Doubletree Brand.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeti1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Yeti1980
Thank you for your constructive comments on TripAdvisor. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. All the relevant managers have already been informed of your comments and necessary actions will be taken where appropriate. Thank you for staying with us at the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing