We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and room! Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and room! Could be better”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Location is great, we had a view of the river and kingsize bed was very comfy and atmosphere felt good. I made an error with booking and reception was quite off putting, even though it was a genuine mistake and there were plenty of rooms. Afternoon cream tea, service poor and actual tea not good (no loose leaf earl grey and did not bring correct tea for darjeeling). Health club a bit tired, but Plenty of places to walk nearby! Parking is £18.50 per day.

Room Tip: River view best, but you may have to pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Rachel H
Thank you for your review and kind comments about the location and the bedroom. However, I was disappointed to know of your feelings regarding the check in process. Our receptionist did not mean in any way to be off putting and I am very sorry you felt this way. She was only trying to explain that you had made the booking for another date on a pre-paid non changeable and non refundable much more cost-effective rate, and she was only trying to help by finding the best possible solution. I sincerely hope that this will not deter you from returning to the hotel as we value your patronage and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    761
    366
    167
    64
See reviews for
430
820
92
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
beds
Level Contributor
417 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pleasant, not a wow but decor is quite stylish and I can imagine that on a nice day the views must be lovely. We arrived just after 12 but the lounge area was full. We enquired about eating in the restaurant but that wasn't open until 1pm (never come across that before). So we took a seat at the bar (they were nice seats) and looked at the Bar Menu. The barman was very polite and welcoming and we ordered a bottle of wine and 2 salads. The atmosphere was relaxed and we were able to enjoy a leisurely afternoon. However, at £96 for 2 salads, 2 bottles of wine and a cappuccino up at the bar it's not likely to become one of my regular Saturday lunch spots.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rosebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Love almost everything!!! The room was great , Spacious and clean- the staff very friendly and helpful!!! Excellent location!! I didn't like the breakfast - very poor - however the view while having our breakfast was stunning!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELEN_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were staying over for an Old Hall Formal dinner and needed accommodation. The location was excellent being very near to the function and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice to have breakfast overlooking the Cam. If the weather was nicer we could have enjoyed the balcony more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank CaptChaos179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Really fantastic. Great location to be in the middle of Cambridge. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms beautiful, as was the spa and the breakfast. Breakfast was especially good and incredibly high quality. The hotel is calm and quiet. Concierge was delightful. One small complaint is the quality of the late night room service food - not great but reasonable for a 24 hour menu.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Close to the centre of town and along the river. Nice views of the river from the dining room and rooms. Staff were helpful and service was very good. The rooms, especially the bathrooms, need some updating. Furnishing and fixtures look like they are from another era, though there was a (very small) flat screen TV. Wireless internet access is available for a fee, but it is not very consistent or fast. I would probably use this hotel again because of the location and on the whole things worked pretty well. But I expected more given the high rate.

Room Tip: Ask for river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Lovely surroundings. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Food in restaurant very good. Breakfast were particularly helpful. Room very pleasant and I requested a room on higher floor which was met. Felt safe as a lone traveller and would definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 2012MSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
What a lovely review. We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly that as a lone traveller you felt safe with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing