We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very impersonal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location but very impersonal hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Staying for a short business trip at the University, this hotel was an excellent option. It's location is very central to the City and to many colleges. Some rooms have great views of the river. The hotel is very impersonal however, even by chain hotel standards. Reception staff were reasonably helpful, others stay just on the right side of polite but have a general air of disinterest. Breakfast and evening meals were OK. It could be so much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a rvier view but be prepared to pay a little more for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick101215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Patrick101215
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service in a professional, friendly and caring manner and it would appear that on this occasion we have failed meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.
We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    768
    370
    168
    69
See reviews for
435
829
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Not a bad hotel, but a few things let it down. Having to pay £18.50 for parking and £15 for wifi are two of them. I would have liked to see fresh fruit and local or at least UK yoghurt at breakfast, not French. There was some watermelon, tinned apricots and peach. Toasting your own bread on a toaster that didn't toast very well was a bind. All staff were very helpful, efficient and friendly. Room comfortable, small bathroom, shower trickle of water, hate minibars which trigger a bill if you accidentally move something. Very good location next to the river and central.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Sidan_12
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is always appreciated.
I was sorry to read that despite being happy with the hotel, its location, rooms and the ‘very helpful, efficient and friendly staff’ you were not happy with your overall stay due to the car parking and internet charges. These charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary. In addition, we do offer complimentary use of our Business centre on the ground floor, with free use of our computers, printing and WiFi access. My apologies if this was not explained to you on check in.
I thank you for your comments about the breakfast buffet and I apologise if this was not to your liking, I will pass your comments to the Head Chef for his attention.
In the meantime, I really hope that these matters will not deter you from returning to the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A wonderful weekend in Cambridge, the hotel offered everything we needed and more. Loved the upgrade to room with a balcony, quality and service at breakfast. Wonderful friendly service made our stay a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Hayley R
I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful weekend. We take pleasure in creating moments of magic for our guests. I am pleased that we were able to do so for you especially on such remarkable occasion as a romantic valentine weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The breakfast was the worst we have ever experienced in our international travels; either not cooked or cold/lukewarm. Even the tea was lukewarm. Unless management is improved and deals with the problems, one cannot recommend the hotel restaurant which is a pity because of the wonderful location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 565peterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear 565peterg
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Please accept our most sincere apology for the disappointing experience you had for breakfast, this is completely unacceptable and certainly not up to our usual high levels of standards. The Head Chef and Restaurant Manager are both aware of your comments and will take action immediately. I sincerely hope that this will not deterred you from returning to the hotel and that you will give us a second chance as we are sure that on your next visit you will have a most enjoyable breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Have spent a very happy weekend at this hotel, had a wonderful stay both in the hotel and the area itself. From our arrival to departure the staff were friendly and courteous. Would fully recommend a revisit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Deborah L
So pleased to read of your fabulous weekend with us, we are thrilled to know of your happy getaway and that our staff were friendly and courteous and made your stay in Cambridge. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and for your full recommendation. We look forward very much to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My second visit to this hotel and as good as it was last July. Very central, beside the river and a short walk to go punting! Warm welcome with Warm cookie awaiting. Breakfast DEFINITELY recommended -superb. Comfortable with friendly staff. Most enjoyable and hope to be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank vvwBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear wwBelfast
Thank you for your custom and recommendation. We really value the loyalty from regular guests, especially pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you are hoping to be back to the DoubleTree Cambridge, we are equally looking forward to having you with us in the near future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The room was clean and comfortable...The cookies was yummy~~~The location is great, near the Mathematical Bridge..... 5 minutes walk to the punting wharf..... I can see the river Cam from the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear J S
Thank you for your review. So pleased to read of your great stay with us with especial mention to our superb location. Looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing