We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Whereas the hotel is in an excellent location close to the city centre it is beginning to look a bit tired particularly on the outside. Our stay was marred by the fire alarm going off twice on the second night and a deep humming noise in the room caused, I presume, by the air conditioning equipment. When you're paying over £600 for two nights you would also expect the parking and wifi to be thrown in as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Chris A
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on return from your weekend stay in Cambridge. I am very sorry if this was marred by the fire alarm going off in the night. The alarms went in to evacuation mode due to a guest causing smoke to fill in their bedroom. Our nights team were working hard to get the issue resolved as quickly as possible with the support of the fire brigade. The incident was brought under control and the alarms silenced but the smoke was still within the bedroom and filter of the smoke detector of the bedroom and this caused the alarms to go off for the 2nd and 3rd time. The safety of our customers and staff is of paramount importance, and as such we were unable to stop the alarm from sounding until we were satisfied that the issue had been resolved. The hotel was not evacuated as the night team dealt with the situation in the correct manner and this was also highlighted by the fire brigade. Once again, I am sorry if this and the humming noise disturbed your sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    747
    359
    167
    62
See reviews for
415
799
92
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked 2 rooms through a website at a good rate. Nice greeting upon arrival with warm cookies but left to find our own rooms. The hotel has a nice style and facilities although some corridor carpets needed replacing. Visit started off badly with a toilet that didn't flush but we were quickly & efficiently changed rooms, Smoke alarms set off during the night - not the hotels fault but a guest drying clothing on an electric heater!!
Had a drink in the bar which was pleasant but top end prices.
Main gripe was the car parking charges - £18.50 per day and £15 for Wifi - not really acceptable in this modern era with everyone on line etc.
Would return at the right rate but wouldn't fancy paying the full hotel rate

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have stayed here several times and always enjoyed it.

The hotel is located literally on the bank of the River Cam so if you have a room at the back of the hotel you get a great view over the river to the fields beyond where there are cattle grazing freely during certain months.

You can walk out of the hotel over the bridge & across the path through the field. Find your way to the Old Water Mill which has been lovingly converted into a Bela Italia restaurant. What a fab building. You can see part of the the old water wheel in the river encased in a large perspex showcase in the restaurant.

Hire punts from directly next to the hotel. Great fun!

The hotel is well equipped & comfortable and has swimming pool & leisure facilities.

Stay in one of the junior suites for around £300 per night or a standard room for just under £200 usually. There is a larger suite £400 per night!

Not keen on the guests over night car parking charge of £18, I think this is extortion. I appreciate it's a busy City & space is at a premium but surely paying to stay at the hotel is enough without additional charges. Shame on you Hilton.

Located nearby just a short walk you have the City and other restaurants & bars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandsuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Standard Hilton fare including expensive bar. Rooms nothing inspiring but adequate for overnight stay. Breakfast good OK ran out of fruit and yes the toaster didn't toast well but that appears to be normal in most hotels of this class. Paid just over £110 and that included breakfast so it was good value. Gym was fine better than some. Downsides - standard, average Hilton, expensive parking & WiFi but then it is a hilton and you think yourself lucky if you get complimentary water. No biscuits with tea making stuff so do not expect any of the little niceties.

Room Tip: All seem pretty standard as far as I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is in a great location, staff were friendly and sorted out any issues we had quickly. Breakfast was excellent but the bar lunch we had was very average. All in all, this hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear William W
Thank you for your review and positive comments about the location, friendly and helpful staff and the excellent breakfast. I duly take your comment about the bar on board and hopefully on your next visit this will not be an issue. We look forward to your next stay with us at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Staying for a short business trip at the University, this hotel was an excellent option. It's location is very central to the City and to many colleges. Some rooms have great views of the river. The hotel is very impersonal however, even by chain hotel standards. Reception staff were reasonably helpful, others stay just on the right side of polite but have a general air of disinterest. Breakfast and evening meals were OK. It could be so much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a rvier view but be prepared to pay a little more for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick101215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Patrick101215
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service in a professional, friendly and caring manner and it would appear that on this occasion we have failed meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.
We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Not a bad hotel, but a few things let it down. Having to pay £18.50 for parking and £15 for wifi are two of them. I would have liked to see fresh fruit and local or at least UK yoghurt at breakfast, not French. There was some watermelon, tinned apricots and peach. Toasting your own bread on a toaster that didn't toast very well was a bind. All staff were very helpful, efficient and friendly. Room comfortable, small bathroom, shower trickle of water, hate minibars which trigger a bill if you accidentally move something. Very good location next to the river and central.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Sidan_12
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is always appreciated.
I was sorry to read that despite being happy with the hotel, its location, rooms and the ‘very helpful, efficient and friendly staff’ you were not happy with your overall stay due to the car parking and internet charges. These charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary. In addition, we do offer complimentary use of our Business centre on the ground floor, with free use of our computers, printing and WiFi access. My apologies if this was not explained to you on check in.
I thank you for your comments about the breakfast buffet and I apologise if this was not to your liking, I will pass your comments to the Head Chef for his attention.
In the meantime, I really hope that these matters will not deter you from returning to the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing