We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Breakfast & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Poor Breakfast & Service”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is well located and the rooms are well equipped and modern. Breakfast from the buffet was poor, the food was cold as were the plates. I complained but it didn't improve much the next day as the plates were still cold. Parking is at the back of the hotel, quite expensive at £18.50 but nearby hotels charge a similar amount. The Wi Fi charge is extortionate, this is something that should be free in a hotel of this price, as it is now in many hotels and restaurants. My major complaint was the service. My wife fell as a result of a loose paving stone outside the hotel, her leg was so swollen the next day that we had to leave early as she could hardly walk. The receptionist went into damage limitation mode asking if we had reported it at the time, what we had done etc. She showed no concern and didn't even want to know where the paving stone was dislodged. I ended up not only paying for the room but also for the upgrade to a room I didn't use, very poor uncompansionate service. I shall go back to staying at the University Arms, which I do most weeks lately

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear AstirGrob
Thank you for your review. I was mortified to read of the unfortunate fall of your wife and that despite being hurt this was not treated as compassionately as one would have hoped for. I am flabbergasted by this, since we mostly receive very good compliments about our team members being helpful and caring. However if this was not the case on this occasion I offer my most heartfelt apology. Please kindly contact the hotel directly and we will endeavour to put things right immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    777
    378
    179
    81
See reviews for
453
843
94
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice hotel by a river location. However the experience was spoiled by all those little extras. For example charging for internet access in your room - didn't bother. The car park - another charge. All so petty and spoiled what would have been a nice stay. So be warned!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Hilary M
I was very sorry to read that despite enjoying the hotel and facilities this was marred by the billing system. Car parking charges are widespread in all major cities and allows us to offer a secured site for our guests’ cars, charges are also standard and comparable to other hotels in the area and very competitive when compared to a NCP in the city. With regards to the internet charges, we are regularly working very closely with our Internet provider to offer the best price for our customers and in addition we do offer complimentary use of our Business centre on the ground floor, with free use of our computers, printing and WiFi access. I can only hope that you will return to the hotel in the future and enjoy once again your stay with us at the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Excellent Location & car parking. Good food & staff. Clean & Tidy but lacking in detailed maintenance. Corridors are maze like & internal directions could be improved. Pool size is misleading on web site. It is actually too small to swim in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear John S
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the location, car parking, food and staff. I have duly noted your constructive comment about the internal directions, I will pass them onto the relevant manager. I am sorry if you were disappointed with the size of the pool, although it is not an Olympic pool it is adequate for a leisurely swim, we do have in fact many members that come every morning just for a swim, however I am sorry if this was not to your liking.
John S, thank you once again for your feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

McDonald's dont do it
Starbucks don't do it

£6.50 for 1st hr....simply unacceptable. Was given a cookie whilst the wifi charges were explained.
Car park £18.50
Shower head clogged and calcified
Decor tired.
Competition in hot in Cambridge so won't be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoiler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Spoiler68
I am really sorry to read that you will not be returning to the hotel, mostly due to the Internet charges. We do offer complimentary use of our Business centre on the ground floor, with free use of our computers, printing and WiFi access. My apologies if this was not explained to you on check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A large hotel in a prime location, we had a room with a balcony and a view of the wear (not the Cam). Room was not particularly clean with a lot of dust all about and the carpets had not been vacuumed. Bathroom was large with 50's style fittings, the wood laminates were peeling apart due to years of steam attack. Bar prices were astronomical!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Paul W
Thank you for your review. I was very sorry that your stay was marred by poorly vacuumed carpet in your bedroom and the state of the wood laminates for which I offer our most sincere apology, this is completely unacceptable and certainly not up to our high levels of cleanliness. Your valuable comments have already been passed on to the Head Housekeeper for immediate action. In the meantime, I can only hope that you will return to the DoubleTree Cambridge where you will be welcomed by our immaculate bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have just had a 2 night stay at The Hilton in Cambridge and from the warm and efficient welcome to check out the service was excellent. We had a river facing room with small balcony which was very good even although it rained for 24 hrs! We had a good snack lunch after our arrival and enjoyed dinner in the hotel that evening. The location of this hotel is great because you are close to all that is going on in Cambridge and yet you have the quiet surroundings and lovely view of the river - we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Venice211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Venice211
Thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled to read such positive feedback and to know that you enjoyed your two days stay in Cambridge so very much that even the rain could not mar it. It is an absolute pleasure to know that all of the team members’ hard work does not go unnoticed and that you will be returning to the DoubleTree Cambridge. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

At 170£+ (plus 18.75£ for parking) one expects a lot more than this. The rooms are ok, the bathroom was not cleaned properly (all matter of hair from previous guests on toilet, bathroom floor and in the shower), the building is very tired looking. If you can, take your money somewhere else, it is in a great location, shame they aren't making more of it. Poor, unfriendly Service other than from the front desk too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank viceroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear viceroy99
I was mortified to read your comments about your stay with us. Cleaning and service are of outmost importance to the overall experience of our guests and we are incredibly sorry to know that we have failed you on this occasion. All the relevant managers are already aware of your comments and will investigate further your comments whilst implementing urgent staff training to make sure that this does not recur in the future. Please give us a second chance when I am positive you will not experience these kinds of downfall again but just a memorable stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
905 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing