We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful afternoon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Telford,Uk
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful afternoon.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It is a wonderful setting by the River Cam. We enjoyed a delicious champagne afternoon tea for two sitting in the lovely garden. The sun shone as we sipped champagne and enjoyed sandwiches, scones and cakes. The service was impeccable and the whole afternoon was a delight.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyTelfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear JoyTelfordUk
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you had a delightful afternoon with us enjoying our wonderful setting by the river, delicious food and impeccable service. We hope on your next visit you also stay with us overnight and enjoy the rest of the facilities we have on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    773
    376
    177
    79
See reviews for
446
841
93
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Spent a couple of weekends ago with 7 girlfriends celebrating a 50th birthday and stayed at the Doubletree Hilton in Cambridge. Had two rooms which were fine for four people in each. The hotel staff were excellent and any requests were dealt with efficiently and very pleasantly. Breakfast was very good, everything you could possibly want. Hygiene and cleanliness was extremely high. In fact we could not fault the hotel and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We were at the back. If you want a good view ask for rooms overlooking the river cam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear AmberNorfolk
Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted that you and the girls had such a great 50th birthday celebration at the DoubleTree Cambridge. Your observations and opinions are very much appreciated, as they enable us to access the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay. Thank you once again for staying with us. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here recently on a DB&B deal from the hotel direct at a very reasonable rate. Hotel has a good location and check-in was quick, easy, and very pleasant, you even get a free cookie (I've never stayed at a hotel with a cookie drawer on reception?). No complaints there.

The staff were courteous and attentive, even for a very quiet Sunday night. Room was very clean and well presented, with nice views over the river, if you're in a Hitchcock kind of mood. All good so far.

The hotel stock some nice craft beers and the bar has a great range of drinks. Tom the main guy behind the bar had great knowledge and a passion for making some fairly strong cocktails. The martini passed inspection! Caveat Emptor if you have one of Tom's creations though....

Dinner was good, steaks were very decent, though mine was a bit overcooked. The included bottle of wine was an excellent New World Malbec that we felt was good value. Wines by the glass were a bit on the pricey side as is the a la carte menu (£30 for an 8oz fillet needs to be seriously amazing). The chip portions were a bit on the shy side and the giant raw tomato was a needless touch (why not slow roast it?). However, the menu is good and the wine list also clearly given some thought. Cheeseboard was great too (although the suggestion of charging us for two, yes two, extra crackers seemed a bit rich given how we were knocking back the port!).

Breakfast was a decent standard, drinkable coffee and good quality sausages. Nothing worse than hotels that serve lousy coffee and cheap sausages at breakfast.

£18:50 to park your car for the night though does leave a bit of a sour taste. Overall though this hotel represents a good option for a well priced night's stay in Cambridge. The restaurant is priced more like a London steak house than a hotel brasserie so it's not a budget night out, but the experience was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Graeme M
Thank you for your constructive review. We are very happy to know that overall you had a very enjoyable stay with us. Especially delighted with your kind comments about Tom, he is indeed a very knowledgeable and passionate cocktail maker and we are blessed with his expertise.
On a different matter, I was sorry to read that the car parking charges left a sour taste on check out. These charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary.

I sincerely hope that this will not deter you from returning to the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Due to circumstances found myself needing lodging in Cambridge for 2 nights. The folks at the Double Tree were accommodating in every way. Really ideal location if visiting Cambridge. Situated on the River Cam, dinner, breakfast and drinks can all be had with a great view overlooking The Cam. The rooms are very welcoming and provide either the business or leisure traveller anything you would need.
I hope to one day return to Cambridge and certainly would look no further than the Double Tree for my stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mhargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Mhargo
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to know that a last minute crisis ended up in an amazing finding and a positive and enjoyable stay in Cambridge. We as well hope that you will get the chance to return to Cambridge and obviously thankful that you will look no further and stay again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We came to see our son who is in his final year at Cambridge and the rate this weekend made this lovely hotel affordable and quite competitive with the other hotels here. The central location overlooking the Cam is great and the breakfast sets you up for the whole day. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank spatchlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear spatchlet
Thank you for your time in posting this review on TripAdvisor. Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments, we are really pleased to know that you had such a great stay. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a forth visit at the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for one night in March 2014. The hotel's location could not be better as it is located next to the river (great for punting) and is within a 10 minute walk of all the major colleges and city center. One can get a punting tour from almost right outside the hotel. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite and the room was large and seemed to be recently refurbished with fantastic views of the river and a small balcony.

I cannot comment on the other rooms with respect to which other reviewers have commented unenthusiastically (old, worn-out) but I had no complaints about our room. Breakfast was decent with reasonable quality and variety. Would return again to the hotel, if I visit again.

Room Tip: Room with river views are of course better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelopensyoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that the hotel’s excellent location, bedrooms, stunning views and breakfast made your stay with us a very enjoyable visit to Cambridge. We will be more than happy to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great location and building, excellently handled early checkin. But wifi a great hassle: a fee even for basic service, complicated password that must be kept, dropped out once, couldn't get back at all after restarting computer. The gym and pool are excellent, but not open as advertised at 7.30am and reception had to be called.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing