We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Hard to turn on lights.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel and found it to be nice. The rooms are reasonably up to date, but the hallways are a bit dreary and worn. The thing that I found most challenging was turning on the lights in the room. You have to leave a room key in a little slot by the door otherwise the lights will not turn on. I have never seen that before, and it took me a couple of minutes to figure it out. My room was on the river side and that was nice, but I was unable to open the window because the hinge was broken. The spa had a serviceable workout area, and the promise of a television on each piece of equipment was true, but you only got one channel of text-in request music videos and that did not come in well at all. Bring an MP3 player with you to work out. Nice place. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Mark B
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be staying with us again. I was sorry to know that you found difficult to turn on the lights, this is a very environmentally friendly system installed in the hotel few years back whereby you need the room key to activate the lights in the room, so as to avoid a very common but sad occurrence when guests and staff alike leave the lights on when not in the room, resulting in unnecessary energy wastage. I am really sorry that you had not come across such system before and that our Reception team did not explained this on check in. I will pass on this and all of your valid comments for all the managers for action as required. We truly look forward to having you with us some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel has a fab location, which is great for the warm days due to being on the River. However the rooms are tired and very dark, but they are clean and refreshed every day. Food is good and plenty of choice. Staff are pleasant but I do think the hotel needs a revamp to look more modern and up to date.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Louise P
Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate your comments about the decoration of the hotel bedrooms, most of them have recently been redecorated to the modern style of slightly darker colour patterns, however I understand that these might not be to everyone’s taste and I will pass on your valid comments to the relevant management for future redecoration brainstorming of the rooms. In the meantime, I can only hope that this will not deterred you from returning to the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

good location - poor value for money - poor bathroom experience - lifts sometimes not working - charge for internet - poor mobile phone reception - expensive parking - poor bar staff - will select an alternative hotel in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank scrumpygrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Close to the heart of town and on the river bank, this hotel is ideally located if you want to do Cambridge on foot - which is the only real option given its aversion to cars. It has elements, understandably enough, of a big chain hotel and some of the furnishings and decor now look somewhat dated but we found the staff, without exception, polite and friendly. Our room was spacious and very well equipped and delightfully quiet. The beds were big and comfortable and it is worth opting for a river/garden view, though that pushes the overnight cost well into the luxury bracket. At £200 a night for starters, this can quickly escalate into a very expensive place to stay. We ate one night in the restaurant and, while the food was perfectly acceptable, it was nothing special and one pasta dish was reminiscent of a school dinner, piled high and swimming in sauce. Breakfast was excellent. The visit was marred by repeated billing errors which were eventually resolved to our satisfaction. But the hotel compares well with its local competition.

Room Tip: River view..if your budget stretches to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeymancannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear journeymancannes
Thank you for your review. Although I really appreciate that overall you enjoyed your stay, I understand that there were some areas where we need to focus such as the lamentable billing errors and I can assure you that these will be addressed immediately. Thank you for your most kind comments about the politeness and friendliness of our staff, I am positive that they will be looking forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed with children in the week - but from the start did not meet expectations. Beautiful location and decor. Position of room not the best but it was the indifference and snootiness of staff that ruined it. Not one smiled and it all seemed an ordeal. No help with bags offered , no personal touches. Pool overcrowded due to kids swimming lessons. A real shame could be so much better. Not worth the £ 200 tag.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank barryraden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear barryraden
Thank you for taking the time post review on this website. We were very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel due to the service you received. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we have failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their immediate attention. We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future when I am sure you will receive the highest level of service for which we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It is a wonderful setting by the River Cam. We enjoyed a delicious champagne afternoon tea for two sitting in the lovely garden. The sun shone as we sipped champagne and enjoyed sandwiches, scones and cakes. The service was impeccable and the whole afternoon was a delight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyTelfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear JoyTelfordUk
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you had a delightful afternoon with us enjoying our wonderful setting by the river, delicious food and impeccable service. We hope on your next visit you also stay with us overnight and enjoy the rest of the facilities we have on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Spent a couple of weekends ago with 7 girlfriends celebrating a 50th birthday and stayed at the Doubletree Hilton in Cambridge. Had two rooms which were fine for four people in each. The hotel staff were excellent and any requests were dealt with efficiently and very pleasantly. Breakfast was very good, everything you could possibly want. Hygiene and cleanliness was extremely high. In fact we could not fault the hotel and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We were at the back. If you want a good view ask for rooms overlooking the river cam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear AmberNorfolk
Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted that you and the girls had such a great 50th birthday celebration at the DoubleTree Cambridge. Your observations and opinions are very much appreciated, as they enable us to access the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay. Thank you once again for staying with us. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,466 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £126 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing