We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“NIce experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The location by the river is really lovely and makes exploring the city on foot easy. Did not need to use the car once we had arrived. Staff were very pleasant and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent and dining room overlooking the river adds to the ambience. Only niggle is the long walk to the pool as it is in a separate building. The corridoors leading there should be better heated as when returning felt very chilly. Apart from that the stay was very enjoyable and wil be going back to the Hilton next time we are in Cambridge.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outrage18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    755
    363
    167
    63
See reviews for
426
811
92
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

30 years ago, the Garden House was the hotel to go to in Cambridge. I'd hoped it would have been redecorated in that time but unfortunately I didn't see much evidence of it. The room décor is tired and the restaurant is already looking dated. The presence of a few trendy and ornamental, but probably uncomfortable, chairs in reception does not make up for this. The bathroom fittings are similarly dated - a small, old bath tucked into a corner falls below the standard I would expect.

I had a room with a balcony and a river view. The balcony faced sideways on to the river and was therefore overlooked by other rooms, and it was very small. I didn't feel this really lived up to the river view and balcony description - I'd envisaged sitting on the balcony looking directly over the river. If you ask for a river view, it would be worth asking exact details of what is involved.

I resent being charged for the internet in this day and age, so I simply didn't use it. I had good 3G reception and stuck to that. We touched nothing in the minibar either given the prices and the warning that it will charge you for moving anything. I thought the car parking charge, at nearly £20, was unreasonably expensive. We didn't have time to use the gym or swimming pool but had a quick look round and they looked fine - not extraordinary, but ok.

Now on the positive side: the staff were excellent. Reception was welcoming and informative, and the barman was exceptionally courteous and helpful. The bed was very comfortable, and the view from the window in the room, over fields and cattle, was delightful (- and was what I'd thought we would be seeing from the balcony). Breakfast, which was included in our rate, was well presented, excellent variety, and it was delicious.

So, a lot of positives, but could be so much better if the rooms had a facelift, some attention was given to update the charges for extras that should be free, and care was taken to ensure that guests understand what they can expect from the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel located next to the river - quiet and beautiful. Staf pleasant and helpful. Room overlooked the river and gardens, but the balcony was very small, hardly big enough to stand in. The room air con, did not warm the room, and as it was a bit chilly this was a shortcoming. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chris1922014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from an Easter break here and we found it delightful. It is set on the Cam and ideally located for the sites in the city. We had great service from especially Laura Reynolds in the Marco Pierre White restaurant. Such a friendly and personable young lady who couldn't do enough to help! We also must mention Rachel Sargeant who made the most delicious 'Social Club' cocktail.

Room Tip: We loved the river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyWiggs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear GillyWiggs52
Thank you for your review and most kind comments about Laura and Rachel, I am sure that they will be very pleased to know that their dedication and professionalism does not go unnoticed. For now we simply hope to have you back with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went for lunch with friends as we have done at this hotel 2/3 times a year for approx. 20 years. The menu is now designed by Marco Pierre White. It is different, to be fair the old one was looking a bit tired but it is now more expensive, the wine list has an even bigger mark up and the restaurant was empty, this speaks volumes! It is such a shame as the location is quite lovely but for an "average" lunch at above average price there is no real value for money. then to cap it all having spent over £165 I was to be charged £2.50 for th car park! Farewell

Room Tip: Based on my experience with dining I could not recommend staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Robin P
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read that your experience at our newly opened restaurant was not up to your expectations. We have not yet advertised the Marco Pierre White brand enormously as we are still finding our ways on this soft opening of the restaurant hence the low levels of volumes. With regards to your comment about the car parking, this should have been complimentary up to three hours with a minimum spend and therefore please accept my apology if this was not waived on your departure. I can only hope that you will return to the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar and Grill in the future when I am sure that you will experience his simple yet exquisite cuisine as part of his no-frills food philosophy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Doubletree for one night on Good Friday. First impressions were good. The location is fantastic, right on the river and a 5 minute stroll to the colleges and centre of Cambridge. We arrived well before check-in expecting that we might be able to just leave our bags, but were kindly offered a room straight away. The room itself was spacious, but that is unfortunately where the positives end.

The room was on the ground floor overlooking the river. The net curtains were stained with what could have been chocolate, or blood, or something worse. There was a huge cobweb on the ceiling. The bathroom was clean, but the door was stained and it just didn't really feel cared for.

The heating in the room did not work, and it was a fairly cold day. When I phoned to check I was using the controls correctly, no apology was offered although an electric heater was provided. Not exactly a 4 star experience.

The technology throughout was poor. Sound on the TV cut our regularly, and the TVs in the gym didn't work properly. There are no plug sockets near the beds, so if you want to charge your phone and use as an alarm you will need to find a socket on the other side of the room. I used the plug for the alarm clock / stereo, which was telling the wrong time so seemed somewhat redundant anyway. The safe that was provided did not work, so we weren't able to lock anything away.

The worst by far on the tech front was the WiFi. The 'small fee' advertised on the website is actually a £15 charge for 24 hours of web use. This is simply not acceptable today. WiFi should be free in hotels of this standard. Not only that, but the £15 charge is for one device, so should you want to connect a phone and laptop, that is £30. The Mill pub down the road is lovely and offers free WiFi. I suggest popping in there and with your £15 you could get a nice meal and a drink.

The money grubbing doesn't stop there. The minibar in the room automatically charges you just for touching a bottle to look at it. They have some sort of pressure pad system. We had a bill put under our door in the morning for a bottle of wine and a bottle of water we hadn't used. We then had to get this knocked off at reception on check out (as did the guest in front of us). Oh, and breakfast would have cost £19 each.

I was amazed not to be charged for the gym, which was small but adequate. The pool however was tiny - much smaller than the pictures suggest.

Noise and disturbance was an issue. There was a wedding at the hotel which kept going until midnight, and the music could be heard from the room. This wasn't a big problem, but we were woken with people coming back to their room later in the evening. Maybe it would be better to keep weddings a bit more separate. Our room overlooked it completely which was too close.

The worst intrusion came in the morning, when our door was loudly knocked on at 10:30am by a member of staff who wanted to come in to refill the minibar (which we hadn't touched). We had to shout at him to go away as we were still in bed. He then knocked on the door next to us and proceeded into their room. By the sound of it he was greeted by a naked man trying to sleep. As there are no old fashioned 'do not disturb' signs provided, I wouldn't expect to be disturbed until check-out at 12pm.

I was willing to give feedback directly when we left, but nobody thought to ask if we'd had a nice stay. They seemed more interested in interrogating us over our use of the minibar.

Great location but a poor experience with too many additional charges. Avoid.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Chris G
Thank you for taking time to post a review on this website. We were very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel and would apologise for the problems with cleanliness of the curtains and the noise from the adjacent wedding.
We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great location but very tired in all senses. The service is very poor in the bar and restaurant. No service unless you ask: twice: and then it is grudging and slow. The reception area lacks personality from the staff who can hardly bring themselves to speak let alone smile. The rooms are pleasant but lack the luxury that the price tag would indicate. The pool and gym are very old and shabby. Broken equipment, dirty ceiling tiles and no customer focus. Overall a disappointing hotel. Parking and internet charged at high rates. Restaurant may be branded but is highly overpriced and understaffed.
The advertised spa is not a spa but a tiny unexciting hot tub alongside a boring and unkempt pool.
Had a fabulous weekend in Cambridge but would have liked more for our money on the hotel. Shame, it could be wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Ali M
Thank you for your comments on this website. I wanted to reply to you and take your valuable feedback to improve the services and products we offer. I have passed on your comments to the departments involved, especially your comments about the staff and we will take this feedback into account in future training. We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing