We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$156
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,353)
Filter reviews
2,353 results
Traveller rating
745
870
423
202
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
745
870
423
202
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverwarm cookiesa river view roomdouble treegarden housecar parksmall balconyper dayafternoon teaexcellent locationmini barlovely hotelroom ratecity centrelovely roombreakfast was excellentcam
Filter
Updating list...
1,337 - 1,342 of 2,353 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

There is no doubt that this hotel is very conveniently located but even that can't justify the eye watering room rate. The cookies on arrival don't do anything to justify it either, in fact they're rather pointless as there was such a poor selection of teas, herbal teas and coffee in the room.

As you would expect for a city hotel, rooms are compact. The bedroom was made to feel all the more so by the dark colours of the decor and perhaps the lack of space was the reason for no chair at the desk/dressing table. No plug sockets by the bedside mean charging phones on the desk which is a pain if you want to use the alarm on your phone - who wants to get out of bed to hit 'snooze'?

A widescreen tv dominates the wall above the desk and the only way to use a hairdryer and a mirror is to stand near the door to the room but this means there's nowhere to put hairbrushes etc. The bathroom decor is modern but this doesn't disguise the inadequate shower, over the bath, that was so difficult to turn on I almost gave up. There's no shower screen but a shower curtain which makes it all very reminiscent of the 1980's. The sink tap had to be run for several minutes to get cold water and there were no toothbrush glasses.

Car parking and wifi charges are steep. The hotel itself justifies charges based on location and facilities but how it can do this when it's more expensive than a stay at the Park Lane Hilton is difficult to understand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnBe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear EnBe3
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with the room and bathroom lay out and facilities, your valuable comments will be taken into consideration for future refurbishment of the hotel when we will try our best to accommodate as many suggestions as possible. With regards to your comment about the hotel prices, these are variable, based on occupancy at the time of booking and they could be higher as well as lower than other Hilton hotels in the country.
The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments with us is most appreciated as feedback from our guests is vitally important. We sincerely value your patronage and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We extend our apologies, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our first trip to Cambridge and it only took an hour from London.
The only complaint was the car parking charges, i don't see why we have to pay, if we are staying at the Hotel.Location and we had a balcony, which really did make our break away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear sweet4
Thank you for your review. I can see that on the whole you really had a nice stay with us for which we are ever so grateful. I was sorry to read that you did, nonetheless, have a small complaint regarding the car parking charges. We believe that these charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We are sorry that you were not of the opinion. We can only but hope that this will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future and enjoy another memorable break away with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is one of the nicest places to visit on a weekend afternoon for tea, drinks, coffee.
Even though the place, the view, and the service are very good, it suffers from not clean chairs and tables.
I strongly believe that they should pay more attention to this, in order to make it as good as it should be.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank midiangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

we had a business trip in cambridge and arrived on Monday afternoon, May 5th 2014 and checked out on wednesday, May 7th 2014. the best from this hotel is, it is located on the riverside and quite near to go by walking to other interesting places like Cambridge University Bookshop, punting station (1 or 2 minutes walking), king's college chapel, the museum, etc.
the breakfast was good, i enjoy the waffle with honey coz it is totally difficult to find halal food here.
the room was clean and quite spacey to stay, the air conditioner was good. the waitress and bartenders were kind and generous, nice to talk to.
we found no problem with the front officers/receptionists when checked in but as we checked out we found a big problem due to 1 room that we had cancelled since the first day we came was also charged by the management. it was quite hard to argue with them. we might say that they were not quite improvised in finding solutions for such problems (which we think it is very easy to solve in hotels in other cities).
anyway, for those who are seeking for a good view of Cambridge River, u may come and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rizal3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Rizal3003
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your business trip to Cambridge, including the hotel’s location, cleanliness and overall room allocation, breakfast and largely the staff service. Our apologies for the confusion over the cancelled room on check out. This is a valuable lesson for us to learn and I am sure that the Reception Manager will implement necessary staff training to make sure that it does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel is very well located and has good penitential. Rooms are fair, but the cooling system is completely inappropriate. Restaurant is poor and restaurant staff is incompetent , unorganized and unfriendly. The food quality is below standard for a hotel in this category. Beware of eating at the steakhouse and bring your own wine glass is you want to enjoy one of the good wines on the wine list

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Hartmut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Hartmut L
Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to read that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. I will pass on your valid comment about the cooling system to the relevant managers for immediate action where possible. I will not however acknowledge your remarks about our team members as I find them impolite, offensive and absolutely inaccurate. I am sorry that you feel so strongly and I can only hope that you will return to the hotel sometime in the future when I am sure you will enjoy the 5 star professional and caring service for which we are usual known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews