We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth stopping at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth stopping at this hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having read a few of the previous reviews, we stayed at the hotel with open minds, so we were therefore in for a pleasant surprise, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were extremely helpful and I mean all of them, Laura initially checked us into our room and the rest of the staff also stood out. The leisure club was great to relax in after a hard day shopping and just what we needed before going out to eat.
I'm so impressed I'm going back in September.
Cambridge is such a fantastic place to visit and The Eagle Pub where DNA was discovered is also worth a visit, excellent food and good wine and beer.

Room Tip: We were only room only so can't comment on the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0rdan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear J0rdan2004
Thank you so very much for your great review. We are thrilled you see that you had such an enjoyable visit to Cambridge and very pleased with your kind compliments to our team members. I am sure that Laura together with all the team will be delighted to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    768
    369
    168
    68
See reviews for
434
828
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Allocated a room to someone with a similar name who appeared nude at the door when room was entered with a key given to others. Mistake continued at check-out when payment was aggressively sought for wrong room, despite pre-payment. Incompetent and shambolic staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Nigel G
Please accept our most sincere apology for the error on our part when allocating the room. As you already know following our direct communications with yourself we are investigating further your comments, as consequence necessary and corrective measures will be taken so as to guarantee such episode from never happening again. Once again our hear fell apology, we can only now hope that you will give us a second chance and realize that this was a one off circumstance and have a most enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location beside the river with some rooms having a delightful river view. The staff were attentive and caring and everything requested or asked about was dealt with swiftly and efficiently. Overall the hotel was clean, quiet and everything you could ask for, it even has a reasonable amount of (charged for) parking which is a b nus for Cambridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Don't even touch anything in the minibar or on the tray or you will be charged. The signs advising this are really OTT and for the room rate being charged guests do not want to feel their actions are being monitored.No notice to say if tea and coffee in room was complimentary or not. Rubbish breakfast - cold croissants and lukewarm coffee and only one cup per person

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lorraine M
Thank you for your review. I know from our direct communications with yourself that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are really sorry to read of your feelings with regards the signage in the room, initially we didn't have signs by the minibars, but many guests were complaining that they did not understand the system and felt outraged when discovering at check out that they had been charged for something they had only lifted to read, hence the explanatory signs. On the other hand, and in order not to clutter the rooms we have not displayed any signs by the tea&coffee facilities as these are generally complimentary in most hotels and therefore guests usually don't need further clarifications. However, I am sorry if this was confusing for you or you felt monitored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last week as part of a two-week tour around the U.K, and I must admit I was a little disappointed with some key aspects of the hotel considering the high cost of the room rate. While the location was perfect and had a lovely view of the river, we too were disturbed by parties/weddings both nights we were there. The loud music went well beyond midnight, which was not helpful for two jet lagged travelers. Our room was also terribly warm and when we called to see if the air conditioning could be fixed we were informed it was not actually an "air conditioned" room...something about it being a cooler or a fan in the room but not a/c. Concierge was very helpful in eventually bringing us a portable a/c unit, but again, for $300 (U.S.) per night, I would expect air conditioning. There was also NO WIFI in the entire hotel. Not even in the lobby. Again, in a town that attracts many international guests, most with devices needing wifi to stay in touch with work and relatives outside of the U.K., I would expect to at least have free wifi in the lobby. Of course we were able to use the business center if we needed to access the internet, but in this day and age that is of little consolation (I can use wifi on my international flight over, but not my hotel room??!!) I would reiterate that the staff was as accommodating as they could possibly be, but if this hotel is going to continue asking prices well into the $300 range during peak season they need to up their game.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cfrogers83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We were very sorry to read that despite enjoying your stay at the hotel and mentioning that the staff were accommodating you felt a little disappointed. We have duly noted your constructive comments as feedback is always an important way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice hotel, we had a lovely corner room looking out over the River Cam. The hotel is a little difficult to get to especially on a Saturday when the traffic patterns are changed up for pedestrians, but once we walked to the hotel and were able to get specific directions it was easy enough to get there. Parking is conveniently located behind the hotel, be sure to get your ticket validated at the front desk for the resident rate.

Public facilities are very nice, we did not eat at the in-house restaurant for dinner however it was an impressive spread for the breakfast buffet. Service was good, check-in was a bit long but it was a very busy day.

Internet access was poor, quite slow when we were there. Could have been just demand or an issue with the service provider.

We would not hesitate to stay here again when we are next in Cambridge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Eric F
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return to the DoubleTree Cambridge on your next trip to Cambridge for which we are very grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Lovely garden on the bank on the river Cam. Pity the service isn't better.... I sat in the garden by the river for 15 minutes. I must have had an invisibility cloak on because the waiting staff obviously couldn't see me as nobody took my order. As I was being ignored I went inside to the bar where I was again ignored for another five minutes before I finally ordered my beer. The man at the bar told me he would bring the beer out to me so I went and sat back in the garden. My beer failed to materialise so I returned to the bar to fetch it myself. The staff seem completely disorganised and overwhelmed. Hilton hotels - get a grip!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lol85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Lol85
Thank you for your review. I am really appalled by the service you received at the bar from our team members, this is completely unacceptable and certainly not up to our usual levels of service for which I offer my most sincere apology. Although I understand this might be of no consolation to you please be assured that we take your comments very seriously and as consequence further staff training will be carried out to make sure that this does not happen again. For now, I can only hope that you will not be deterred from returning to the hotel as we would really hope to be given a second chance and show that we can provide the excellent service you ought to have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing