We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Perfect location and Good view of river from the balcony of the first floor and a price with a smelly toilet to match . We had put the complaint in to the front desk but seem to be the frond desk staff hearing that day malfunction .very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Blue D
Thank you for your review. It is most disappointing to know that the problems with the toilet were matched to problems with the front desk staff for which we offer our sincere apologies. These are issues easily solved and to see that we have failed you on this occasion is heartbreaking. Once again, we offer our apology and hope that this experience will not deterred you from returning to the hotel as we truly hope to be able to welcome you back and attest that we can be competent and caring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    754
    363
    167
    63
See reviews for
425
810
92
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed at the Doubletree Cambridge a few times and this last time was just as delightful as the others. My room had a great view over the River Cam and offered everything I needed. The staff were friendly and helpful as issues arose. One concern was that both lifts were not working at one point in the day, which was not a big issue for me, but my aunt and uncle had difficultly being on an upper floor with bad knees. Luckily the issue was sorted in a few hours, but was still a major inconvenience for family. The location of the hotel is wonderful, being in the City Centre on the river and close to the majority of sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear sunluff
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your kind comments about the service you received. Our apologies for the temporary problems with the lifts during your stay. I can only hope that this did not mar your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great first floor room overlooking the river Cam and the bar and restaurant area; so, perfectly located for a walk, run, punt on/ by the river. As Scudamore's punting company it right next door to the hotel, it's incredibly easy to hire a punt from your doorstep. One can also easily walk everywhere, colleges and town. So, everything one needs is on the doorstep.

The hotel is lovely and the room and view gorgeous, comfortable and spacious with all required facilities. One bit of a gripe was a recurrent generator noise, so, not sure if this is the case in all rooms, or, simply because of the location of ours?

The reception staff and concierges couldn't have been nicer, more welcoming and helpful. Brilliant thank you!

So, we started the day having a run by the river and then swimming in the hotel pool; all fab! Breakfast average, both in terms of choice of food and varied service. For example, were abrupt, bordering on rude and abrasive and a little aggressively, in our opinion and no, we weren't late for breakfast- far from it. So, some definitely in need of good, soft and efficient service and customer care training. What was good was no Muzak! Thank you!!

Similarly, when we had afternoon tea outside, fabulous setting overlooking the river, but, a little spoiled by the staff who were simply unhelpful and rude and only seemed interested in standing at the bar and gossiping; in attentive and in need of training would be our opinion.

So, great spot, but, even better hotel with improved service, in our opinion.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lisa R
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had a very good stay with us. We duly take on board your valuable and constructive comments about the service in the bar and thank you for the time taken to leave such comprehensive feedback. We will start immediately analysing these comments and schedule necessary training where possible. I am confident that on your next visit this will be shorted and you will have an all around enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having read a few of the previous reviews, we stayed at the hotel with open minds, so we were therefore in for a pleasant surprise, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were extremely helpful and I mean all of them, Laura initially checked us into our room and the rest of the staff also stood out. The leisure club was great to relax in after a hard day shopping and just what we needed before going out to eat.
I'm so impressed I'm going back in September.
Cambridge is such a fantastic place to visit and The Eagle Pub where DNA was discovered is also worth a visit, excellent food and good wine and beer.

Room Tip: We were only room only so can't comment on the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0rdan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear J0rdan2004
Thank you so very much for your great review. We are thrilled you see that you had such an enjoyable visit to Cambridge and very pleased with your kind compliments to our team members. I am sure that Laura together with all the team will be delighted to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Allocated a room to someone with a similar name who appeared nude at the door when room was entered with a key given to others. Mistake continued at check-out when payment was aggressively sought for wrong room, despite pre-payment. Incompetent and shambolic staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Nigel G
Please accept our most sincere apology for the error on our part when allocating the room. As you already know following our direct communications with yourself we are investigating further your comments, as consequence necessary and corrective measures will be taken so as to guarantee such episode from never happening again. Once again our hear fell apology, we can only now hope that you will give us a second chance and realize that this was a one off circumstance and have a most enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location beside the river with some rooms having a delightful river view. The staff were attentive and caring and everything requested or asked about was dealt with swiftly and efficiently. Overall the hotel was clean, quiet and everything you could ask for, it even has a reasonable amount of (charged for) parking which is a b nus for Cambridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Don't even touch anything in the minibar or on the tray or you will be charged. The signs advising this are really OTT and for the room rate being charged guests do not want to feel their actions are being monitored.No notice to say if tea and coffee in room was complimentary or not. Rubbish breakfast - cold croissants and lukewarm coffee and only one cup per person

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lorraine M
Thank you for your review. I know from our direct communications with yourself that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are really sorry to read of your feelings with regards the signage in the room, initially we didn't have signs by the minibars, but many guests were complaining that they did not understand the system and felt outraged when discovering at check out that they had been charged for something they had only lifted to read, hence the explanatory signs. On the other hand, and in order not to clutter the rooms we have not displayed any signs by the tea&coffee facilities as these are generally complimentary in most hotels and therefore guests usually don't need further clarifications. However, I am sorry if this was confusing for you or you felt monitored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
854 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing