We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We often go here for a coffee on a sunny day. Very comfortable outside area overlooking the river Cam. Watch the punts and canoes go by and enjoy the atmosphere. It's an oasis of calm just 5 minutes from the busy city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zen_traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I'm 14 and was staying in an room with my 10 year old brother attached to are parents room. So for a 14 year old you would expect me not to have the highest standards but I did not like my stay at all. The curtains and the bolt lock on the door were broken the view sucked. The room was very hot. The rules of the pool and the gym are confusing with bad management. You can't use the pool without an adult unless you are over 16 which makes no sense I'm 6 ft and the pool is only 4 ft deep and if you are under 16 you can use the pool after 6:00pm even if you have an adult with you. You also can't use the gym if you under 16 witch kinda makes sense because they don't want kids messing around in there but I'm 14 and I need to workout for sports and to stay fit. The hotel is a maze and the wifi Is over priced and it is a hassle.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fakename22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

when you need a chair, you need a chair; needed an office chair to work at desk, the room chair far too low; 5 mins & one materialised by extremely polite, smart young man. I know this isnt really a 'review item' but it portrays the hotel ethos and attention to guests, so may be of interest. to frequent hotel users, its always the little kindnesses that remain in the memory!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Logiealmond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I apologise for the fact that this review is 6 months late. We have stayed here twice and loved it each time. The location is amazing, being a literal stones throw from "the sights". We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival, and happened to mention we were staying to celebrate my birthday, five minutes after entering the room a card from the hotel team was delivered. The room overlooked the river, and had a balcony, which even in January is lovely. We didn't eat at the hotel thus time, although on our previous visit we did and thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was a substantial buffet offering, as you would expect. In summary a great hotel, with great staff in a fantastic location. You must oh there immediately

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Chixdigska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location is a real plus. Situated right on the Cam River, you can enjoy the Backs, the boats punting by, and the rural feeling, with grazing cows and all.
Having stayed at this hotel in the past, we expected more than what it is now. The hotel is not well-maintained. The rugs in the halls were dirty. A room service tray sat outside a neighboring room for more than 24 hours - and would have been there longer had we not phoned. The heating/cooling in the room did not work. The bathroom has neither ventilation nor heated towel bars, necessary in this very rainy region. The hotel encourages the guests to reuse the towels, which is laudable. The problem was that the following day, the towels were still damp.

Room Tip: A river view gives a real feeling for the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yakherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We've been using this hotel on and off for about 45 years, ever since to was the Garden House, and it gets better all the time. The location by the river is wonderful and the new Marco Pierre White restaurant never disappoints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank r0bertb778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

when it comes to location this hotel is among the top three,i sat out in the garden which spans the banks of the river Cam and the beginning of the the "Cambridge Backs" where many people come to try their hand at punting.
Impersonal is the word,staff seem nonchalant,with very slow service if you stay in the garden,i had to go up to the bar to decide on food or drink,that said there are some good members of staff so my impression is one of inconsistency amongst the staff ethos,i must say a big thank you though to the blond lady member of staff who helped me that evening,and allowed me to leave my canoe on their lawn,so not all bad.
All round i would bring a friend or perhaps have a business meeting there,more the later.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fitzroy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear fitzcongo
Thank you for your review, I was sorry to read about the inconsistency in the service you found at the bar during your stay. This is quite unacceptable as every guest should receive the highest level of service from each and every team member. I am positive that on your next visit this will not be an issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,914 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £126 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing