We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely position on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely position on the river”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We decided to stay in Cambridge on the way back from the East coast. Being a Hilton member with some points to use, this seemed a good compromise. The hotel is right by the river and has great views from all the river side rooms - great to relax with a cup of tea of something stronger looking at life on the river ( mainly a huge number of punts !!!)
The only draw back is car parking which is £20/ day.
Cambridge is a wonderful city to stroll around, but you can hire bikes easily, or even a Kayak or punt for the adventureous

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domtheirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear domtheirishman
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to know that you had a nice holiday overall. And that you enjoyed the perfect location of the hotel, albeit not the car parking charges, these charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary.
As you rightly mentioned, Cambridge is a wonderful city to stroll around and our hotel is in the perfect location for that, we look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    760
    366
    167
    64
See reviews for
429
820
92
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just stayed at the DoubleTree Hilton in Cambridge for a short city break with 2 children. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting Cambridge by foot. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and the beds extremely comfortable, including the temporary bed for my teenage daughter. The only downside was no free Wi-Fi, but we managed without. A great place to stay to explore Cambridge.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORWICH, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My stay at this hotel was as enjoyable as ever. For me it is the only place to stay in Cambridge. In particular the restaurant staff were so friendly and obliging it was a pleasure to dine with them. The room was spotless and had every amenity I needed. The location is ideal for sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

very convenient location for the major cambridge colleges. nice setting by the river with meadows opposite. there is a slightly expensive but large car park which non residents can use. Comfortable rooms. walk in shower would have been most welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently I stayed at this hotel with my family. We booked 2 'King bed river view with private balcony' rooms. First room cost £249, but second room for my kids charge only 50% This is the only Hilton chain hotel in prestigious Cambridge, we choose this hotel for our stay. Fantastic location, walking distant to most of the Cambridge university collages. (We came to attend my daughters interview at Pembroke Collage, it's just 5 minutes walking distant from the hotel). Rooms and bathrooms clean but need some refurbishment, but the view of the River cam from the private balcony is marvelous! Our rooms at first floor, we enjoyed the views most of the time when we free at the room. Break fast also fine, overall we enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Not an aw inspiring main entrance a horrid modern concrete cube where it's like the service entrance of a lorry loading bay(you just have to wonder how they got planning for such a grotesque building)in historic old cambridge. We booked afternoon tea on internet and on arrival were told we could go in restaurant or bar. We opted for bar. Comfy seats but very dated and of course the Marco Pierre white pics staring at you everywhere looking utterly p...d off! Anyway it was bank holiday weekend and we enjoyed watching the punting, a wedding gathering from inside. The river bank is a nice spot out the back. We waited about 15 mins and our order was taken. It was actually very nice. Sarnies diddly with wafer wafer thin fillings. The cakes, scones were very divine the jam just a sweet cheap jam. But it was good value for two approx £40 with obviously tea. We were stuffed. I wouldn't recommend it if you like finesse or expect a traditional experience.If you have children a great venue. Just something lacking but it's more the building, ambience, a bit dingy. Get rid of misery looking m Pierre white pics(no need) any good all round chef could do a superb tea. But the young waiter was friendly. I can think of better places to go so don't strongly recommend this unless you can't get booked anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Really disappointing. As soon as we came in we were stung for £20 to park our car overnight and then found out there was no complimentary water in the room £4.75 for a single bottle! They even charged £7 for wifi. I wouldn't mind but we paid £250 for the room for 1 night. The leisure centre was out of date and dirty. The pool had so much chlorine in it it made your eyes sore and the showers trickled water. To top it all off we could hear the lifts going up and down in our room.

This is not what I would call a good hotel. Sorry.

On a positive note it is in a nice location by the river and a meadow. This is no excuse for the above....it's simply not a nice hotel to stay in

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsbar1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing