We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gonville Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fenners Hotel(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centennial Hotel(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamburlaine(Cambridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,037)
Filter reviews
2,039 results
Traveller rating
1,049
677
233
49
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,049
677
233
49
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingparker's piecewet roomcity centrelovely hotelcar parkwalk in showeron site parkingsuperior roomexcellent locationwithin easy walking distancethe air conditioningroom was largefew minutes walkvery pleasant stayvisit cambridgecooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,876 - 1,881 of 2,039 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2011

After a very bad experience at the Doubletree Hilton, I supposed this place could not be worse. I was generally happy with the room. There was some noise from a generator outside - although if you keep the window closed it would not stop you from sleeping. On the positive side, they don't charge for internet access. The restaurant looks a bit downmarket, but nice surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We were looking for a hotel from which to explore Cambridge on a weekend break. The Gonville Hotel was well-situated, with an attractive view over an expanse of parkland. The reception staff were both efficient and friendly, and we were impressed with the quality of both the rooms, and the hotel premises generally. With parking free at the hotel (a very welcome surprise) the car could be left, and a pleasant short walk took us into the heart of the city, and its many attractions. We would certainly recommend this as an excellent base for a visit to Cambridge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

The hotel is an average 3star hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean, toiletries bare minimum, location can't be faulted. What really let's it down is the service. Imagine coming back to your room at 2.30 pm to find that your room has not been made up. I was there for 5 days and every single day I had to haul someone in to make up my room.
Also, the hotel charges for everything. Need a travel adapter? No problem. Buy it for 10 pounds. What about a map of Cambridge? 1 pound please. Ice? Buy it!
No turn down service, bead spread laid out crooked, toiletries replenished only at whim.
H

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Good sized room with comfortable bed, free parking and internet, in great central location. What more could we want? Well, maybe a spare blanket for us cold bodies - the staff were so helpful that I was sure they'd have provided one if I could have been bothered to ask, but it was a bit surprising to find there wasn't one already there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProfessorOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel and on this occasion, we were disappointed with the standard of our room. In the hotel's defence I will say we were told it was the last available room, so perhaps it is the worst one, even though it had a lovely view of Parkers Piece. The room was outdated and the bathroom had a lot of unattractive, exposed pipework but it was clean although not very well insulated for sound! The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but this was quite good. Given our previous, better experience, we will return again but will request a better room if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perfumelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RwRoddie, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Thank you for your comments . Yes you are quirte right that you were in one of 17 rooms that we have yet to modernise . However all is not lost as they will have been upgraded by the end of this year.
We look forward to your return visit
Roderick Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews