We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny rooms - but modern - great location - good breakfast”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“tiny rooms - but modern - great location - good breakfast”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Recently renovated rooms are modern and trendy-ish - but very small and cramped. Location is excellent - easy walk to everything. Breakfast buffet and cooked meals were above average. Wifi available - just slow. Newspaper provided. Easy parking - free - out front. Modernization work was still going on in a few of the rooms but no noise or inconvenience. Friendly staff. Comfy beds. No separate conditioner in shower - this is starting to annoy me as a traveller. can't hotels provide a shampoo and a conditioner? don't get too cheap!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    608
    201
    46
    28
See reviews for
228
792
93
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here on a Friday night for a girls' night out. The location is great and the rooms appear to have been refurbished recently which was impressive (very nice shower, but compact & bijou bathroom overall). We paid £115 for bed and breakfast and the breakfast was great, cooked to order which was a pleasant surprise. Slight downer was that on checking my credit card bill after staying, I saw that an extra £38 ha been charged prior to our arrival in addition to the rate. I chased and was firstly told that it was because the number of people staying had changed - it hadn't - but I did get my money back and an apology. This place is a great base for getting around Cambridge and has parking included which, if anyone knows Cambridge, can cost a pretty penny if you have to stay separately.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buffgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend, Friday August 12th Till Sunday August 14th.
Very nice 4* rated refurbished room with great shower, flat screen TV, quality air conditioning and tea/coffee making facilities. It was at the back of the hotel so was lovely and quiet.

We booked the Dinner and B&B offer . Dinner was very nice, good service once we got in, (remember to make your dinner reservation when you sign in), the quality of the food was excellent and a good choice of reasonably priced wines £16 to £22. Breakfast was also very good with quality food and excellent service.

Would recommend this hotel for weekends/short stay in Cambridge and would be very happy to return again

Room Tip: Refurbished at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hotel is ideally situated for Cambridge City centre and all of the amenities that it offers, great shops, a good choice of restaurants and of course all the beautiful colleges of Cambridge University.
We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we walked through the door, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and had a wonderful view of Parker's Piece. The room was very beautifully furnished and immaculate, and the bed was so comfortable,(almost home from home).
Breakfast in the morning was an absolute spread of fruit, cereals, toast and pastries to choose from, and an extensive menu of freshly cooked food served by very friendly staff. A great start to the day!
We can thoroughly recommend The Gonville Hotel.

Room Tip: Getting a room at the front of the hotel if possible will ensure a beautiful view over one of Cambri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We enjoyed our three night stay at The Gonville, it felt very relaxed and comfortable. The hotel is only a short walk from the historical centre and so is ideal for site seeing. An added bonus is the free parking. (We saw one hotel charging £8 a night and another £16 a night.) We had a refurbished room which was very pleasant. The bed was very comfortable, slept very well every night. The one thing about the room that I did not like was the lack of a wardrobe, only a clothes rail. It seemed strange having all your clothes on display, joked that it looked like a jumble sale.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. At breakfast there was lots of choice, it was an enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here during the recent Cambridge Folk Festival (excellent BTW) and found the hotel friendly and clean
Free wifi and parking were both much appreciated as was the quiet location
The room was clean and generous with a good shower - much needed after a day's bopping!
The only criticism is that ventilation in the room was a limited meaning a couple of warm nights when the UK was almost mediteranean - not a problem normally I imagine!
One thing to be aware off is that while most of the rooms have recently been refurbished, some have not. And work on these started on 1st August 2011 so might cause some disruption
We only used the room, eating elsewhere and so can't comment on the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed here for two nights, the evening before my wedding which was at the hotel and then the wedding night. The operations manager Christopher is extremely efficient at organising weddings and a lovely person to deal with. I was happy that the wedding would run efficiently in his capable hands and we had a great day. Several guests stayed at the hotel and everyone was happy with the service.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are close to a busy road however the rooms have air con so with windows shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing