We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel, Excellent Location, no hot water!”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Excellent Location, no hot water!”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My girlfriend and I spent one night in the Best Western Gonville over the Bank Holiday weekend. We were attracted to the Hotel mostly by its location which is fantastic, sitting opposite a park and a mere 10minute walk up Regent Street to Cambridge town centre and all it has to offer.

The hotel itself was as decent as I expected. Nothing fancy, just modern interior with a good size room. The only problem we had was that repairs were happening on the day we arrived (which we hadnt been made aware of beforehand) which meant there was no hot water until 5pm that evening. This was fine, except the lack of hot water continued onto 6pm...then 7pm...then 8pm...you get the idea. We weren't that impressed, having paid a decent amount of money for a one night stay, the least you expect is some running hot water. Being typically British I was just going to deal with it and wait until the hot water returned, my girlfriend on the other hand fancied making a complaint. That said, having made the hotel receptionist aware of our problem she was very helpful, putting us in contact with the hotel manager who immediately apologised and gave us a generous discount on our booking. Thankyou very much!

As for Cambridge itself, what a lovely city. There is plenty on offer which will easily keep you entertained for a long weekend, if not more. Strolling through the colleges and their gardens, shopping along the countless side streets and malls, eating and drinking in the many and varied pubs, cafes, and restaurants (Don Pasquale being a favourite of ours), and of course punting along the Cam - a must!!!!

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay in Cambridge,and if the hot water is running then the Best Western Gonville is as good a choice as any.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RwRoddie, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
First of all may I add my apologises to those already made in this respect and I am glad that we were able to compensate you for the problem . What started out as routine turned into a bit of a nightmare. Frankly the Plumber made an error which caused the problem and this was not identified until later on on Friday evening. As a result he was dug out of his bed and fixed it early on Saturday morning. Not an occurrence that happens very often I am glad to say.
Thank you for your other comments and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Roderick Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    595
    198
    46
    28
See reviews for
223
779
90
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burgh St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed at the Gonville for two nights this August, and we were both very impressed with everything. The hotel bedrooms were undergoing some refurbishment, which we were made well aware of before booking, and we stayed in one that had been completed. There was very little noise or disruption due the work in progress and we stayed in a room that had bee updated. The standard of decor and fittings was high, and I'd have no hestitation in recommending a stay at this hotel. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant, but did have the breakfast, and this was also of a high standard - sereved by very helpful and friendly staff. The Gonville is only a short walk from all that Cambridge has to offer and gets my vote in all repects.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyr1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uerikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hotel was fine except the dinning room staff at breakfast were surly at best and the food was sub par, fine for a quick stopover but there are probably better options for anything more.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lad1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosinone, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I spent a week in this hotel, a nice experience, it was clean and located in a very quite area, in front a park, very close to downtown, a good price. I raccomend it

Room Tip: I had a room with the view on internal court, very quite, but if you ask for rooms on the front side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolo_celani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Recently renovated rooms are modern and trendy-ish - but very small and cramped. Location is excellent - easy walk to everything. Breakfast buffet and cooked meals were above average. Wifi available - just slow. Newspaper provided. Easy parking - free - out front. Modernization work was still going on in a few of the rooms but no noise or inconvenience. Friendly staff. Comfy beds. No separate conditioner in shower - this is starting to annoy me as a traveller. can't hotels provide a shampoo and a conditioner? don't get too cheap!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here on a Friday night for a girls' night out. The location is great and the rooms appear to have been refurbished recently which was impressive (very nice shower, but compact & bijou bathroom overall). We paid £115 for bed and breakfast and the breakfast was great, cooked to order which was a pleasant surprise. Slight downer was that on checking my credit card bill after staying, I saw that an extra £38 ha been charged prior to our arrival in addition to the rate. I chased and was firstly told that it was because the number of people staying had changed - it hadn't - but I did get my money back and an apology. This place is a great base for getting around Cambridge and has parking included which, if anyone knows Cambridge, can cost a pretty penny if you have to stay separately.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buffgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend, Friday August 12th Till Sunday August 14th.
Very nice 4* rated refurbished room with great shower, flat screen TV, quality air conditioning and tea/coffee making facilities. It was at the back of the hotel so was lovely and quiet.

We booked the Dinner and B&B offer . Dinner was very nice, good service once we got in, (remember to make your dinner reservation when you sign in), the quality of the food was excellent and a good choice of reasonably priced wines £16 to £22. Breakfast was also very good with quality food and excellent service.

Would recommend this hotel for weekends/short stay in Cambridge and would be very happy to return again

Room Tip: Refurbished at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing