We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly Hotel”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
dorset
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I stayed while attending University for one night.Welcome by reception staff was very good.He told us everything that we needed to know from giving us a car park permit to room location and breakfast room location.Very friendly and chatty.Room was very clean and in very nice order,bathroom was very nice.Aircon in room was very welcome as weather was very hot.Single beds that were very comfy and were easy to push together to make a cosy double!
Breakfast served in nice room with friendly waitress service and could order anything for a cooked breakfast and everything else was laid out buffet style.Very impressed with the friendly staff and quality of room etc.The only thing I could mark them down was on the little green LED light that shone down from the ceiling in the bedroom at night.It was very bright and emitted a green glow in the room.Perhaps I am a too picky but my wife was not bothered by it!Overall I would stay here again without a second thought,If you want a nice hotel with easy access to universities and free parking and friendly staff choose this one!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twobigdogsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    596
    198
    46
    28
See reviews for
223
779
90
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

After 3 hours of bus ride from London Heathrow airport, I was thrilled to walk right into the hotel, which was half block away along side the park. With only 2 hrs of free time to tour Cambridge the first day, I was able to cover half of the place since the hotel is so conveniently located. For the next two days, I walked to all directions of Cambridge and enjoyed the town a lot. The hotel looks plain from outside, but is reasonably nice and modern inside. The glass lift gives a great view of the atrium in the middle. Room was of good size and comfortable. Breakfast was quite decent. Front desk staff were not there half of the time, but were pleasent when service you. Overall, the hotel is a good choice for a visit of Cambridge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGG00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and although room was small, it had been completely renovated and importantly the Bed was soft and comfortable. Only annoyance was no shower screen, which meant water splashed over bathroom floor. The Breakfast was excellent and the dining area had a nice ambience to it. The Breakfast choices were better than another and far more expensive 4 star Hotel we have since stayed at in Cambridge. The Gonville Best Western offers excellent value for money, in a central location . We would certainly stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Despite the free and ample car park, I decided to take the train to Cambridge. With only an overnight bag and good weather, I decided to walk to the hotel from the station, which took about 15 minutes. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was adequate. The public areas were attractive and spacious. I ate alone in the hotel in the evening. The service and food were quite satisfactory and the bar area made for a comfortable place to relax after my meal with a night-cap. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of breakfast and would have been quite happy to spend more than one night at The Gonville.
If I had to justify why I said the hotel was 'very good' and not 'excellent', I would say the room was clean but not spotless, and the prices are as much as you would consider paying for what you received. That said, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anybody wishing to visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastEndAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were a bit surprised to find there was no bath just a shower. Our booking email had stated 'double bath'.I had issues with the air conditioning. The room was hot and stuffy so I left the AC set at 18 C to cool the room whilst we were out for dinner. Didn't happen! Everything turns off when you remove the key card from the slot by the door. Unfortunately I am a light sleeper and there was a lot of door banging and plumbing noises well past 2 am. So being too hot and having disturbances I did not sleep well. The breakfast offered a good variety and my only beef was with the lack of filter decaff coffee. Why do decaff drinkers always have to put up with instant. I never get this problem in 5 star hotels. However this was a reunion and our very large group was catered for admirably though we did not eat dinner at the hotel. The price was very reasonable indeed.

Room Tip: Avoid 127. It is opposite the stairs door so human traffic is a problem late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RwRoddie, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Good morning and thank you for your review which i have found very informative.

I was sorry to learn that we were not able to offer the Double room with Bath that you had requested. I gather that this was due to a Maintnenance issue with a couple of bedrooms with bath and they had to be withdrawn from use. Clearly somone should have advised you at the time . I do apologise on out behalf for not meeting your expectation in this respect.
The A/c controls were installed as we refurbished our bedrooms in order to save energy wastage, as we are all being encouraged to do.. We do however leave a power point live at all times for customers to be able to recharge thier phone/ computer batteries.
Your observation regarding Decaf coffee is well made and certainly it is not something i have considered in the past , so i am pleased to be able to tell you that in future it will be availble in a cafeteria form on request.
Finally I was gald to learn that you and your group enjoyed youe visit to cambridge and that you found our offering Good value.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Regards
Roderick A S Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

A lovely boutique hotel slap bang in the middle of Cambridge. Our room was fabulous,exceptionally comfy bed,slipper bath and loads of fluffy towels and amazing view over the spires. The spa is reached by popping next door which was a bit annoying but the building is listed so can,t be knocked through..a small price to pay.
The staff couldnt have Ben more polite or helpful,will definitely be coming again soon.

Room Tip: Anything above 4 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosuddeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Being part of a large party can skew one's view of a hotel, but this one coped very well. Our room was huge, clean & well-furnished. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! Breakfast, which we took in the conservatory, was very good. Dinner was also well presented,hot and when the menu item not suitable the very helpful staff found an appropriate alternative. Even another large group didn't throw the service.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front, lovely view of Parkers' Piece. Some road noise but not enough to bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing