We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location for Cambridge City”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Location for Cambridge City”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hotel is in a prime location for visiting the city centre. My husband and I enjoyed excellent service from all the staff who were very polite and obliging. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to visit Cambridge city centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    597
    198
    46
    28
See reviews for
224
781
90
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
903 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Chose the Gonville for a one night stay on Saturday night whist attending a concert at the Corn Exchange, primarily because we needed somewhere within walking distance of the centre of Cambridge with free parking. And in this respect the Gonville certainly delivered.
It is ideally located opposite the Parkers Piece open space and a 10-15 minute walk will have you by the river.
On arrival the greeting was courteous, and the procedure was quick and helpful, especially as our room was already ready when we arrived at 11.30AM and we were allowed to check in.
It’s only two storeys, and is quite compact so most rooms are a short walk from the restaurant and reception.
We had requested a quiet room, which meant we were allocated one facing out back rather than the road, so the view wasn’t great, but it certainly fitted the bill of being quiet.
The room itself was quite small with a compact bathroom with walk in shower. But it had all the bits you would expect from a modern hotel room, with the possible exception of a wardrobe. There was a rail with some coat hangers, but that was it. That was actually not a problem for us on an overnight but I would be concerned if allocated this type of room layout for anything longer.
But the key selling point of the room, as others have mentioned, was the bed which was extremely comfortable.
Did not eat in the restaurant, but had breakfast in the conservatory which was very pleasant and the provided breakfast could not be faulted.
So in conclusion this was a very pleasant stay, but agree with others that is rates as a Very good rather than the top prize due to the price you have to pay for a Saturday night stay this close to the Cambridge centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stopped her for a late Valentine's getaway with our Tesco vouchers. I prefer sampling the local hotelries so we didn't use the bar or restaurant. The breakfast though was excellent and not your normal buffet that you often get in these large hotels. The bedrooms were a good size and nice a clean. The two grumbles that we weren't keen on was there was very limited storage, there was no wardrobe but just a rail to hook all our clothes on and the bathroom door was smoked glass and was sliding so it didn't offer the full privacy you would prefer when doing what you have to do. The staff were friendly enough and supplied us with a few toiletries that we had forgotten to pack. A little grumble about the cleaners in that they were still using the vacuum cleaner in the corridor at 5.00 when I was trying to have an afternoon sleep after an exhausting day nad then proceeeded to knock on the door to give me a business card, why? On the whole though we would still stop again and the location was greta for exploring the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing one and you'll get a nice view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I stayed while attending University for one night.Welcome by reception staff was very good.He told us everything that we needed to know from giving us a car park permit to room location and breakfast room location.Very friendly and chatty.Room was very clean and in very nice order,bathroom was very nice.Aircon in room was very welcome as weather was very hot.Single beds that were very comfy and were easy to push together to make a cosy double!
Breakfast served in nice room with friendly waitress service and could order anything for a cooked breakfast and everything else was laid out buffet style.Very impressed with the friendly staff and quality of room etc.The only thing I could mark them down was on the little green LED light that shone down from the ceiling in the bedroom at night.It was very bright and emitted a green glow in the room.Perhaps I am a too picky but my wife was not bothered by it!Overall I would stay here again without a second thought,If you want a nice hotel with easy access to universities and free parking and friendly staff choose this one!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twobigdogsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

After 3 hours of bus ride from London Heathrow airport, I was thrilled to walk right into the hotel, which was half block away along side the park. With only 2 hrs of free time to tour Cambridge the first day, I was able to cover half of the place since the hotel is so conveniently located. For the next two days, I walked to all directions of Cambridge and enjoyed the town a lot. The hotel looks plain from outside, but is reasonably nice and modern inside. The glass lift gives a great view of the atrium in the middle. Room was of good size and comfortable. Breakfast was quite decent. Front desk staff were not there half of the time, but were pleasent when service you. Overall, the hotel is a good choice for a visit of Cambridge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGG00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and although room was small, it had been completely renovated and importantly the Bed was soft and comfortable. Only annoyance was no shower screen, which meant water splashed over bathroom floor. The Breakfast was excellent and the dining area had a nice ambience to it. The Breakfast choices were better than another and far more expensive 4 star Hotel we have since stayed at in Cambridge. The Gonville Best Western offers excellent value for money, in a central location . We would certainly stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Despite the free and ample car park, I decided to take the train to Cambridge. With only an overnight bag and good weather, I decided to walk to the hotel from the station, which took about 15 minutes. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was adequate. The public areas were attractive and spacious. I ate alone in the hotel in the evening. The service and food were quite satisfactory and the bar area made for a comfortable place to relax after my meal with a night-cap. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of breakfast and would have been quite happy to spend more than one night at The Gonville.
If I had to justify why I said the hotel was 'very good' and not 'excellent', I would say the room was clean but not spotless, and the prices are as much as you would consider paying for what you received. That said, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anybody wishing to visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastEndAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing