We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

After a lengthy train journey we arrived The Gonville to a warm welcome from the Reception staff. Tired and hungry, we quickly dropped our bags in our very comfortable room and squeezed a booking at the hotel restaurant just minutes before it was due to close. Despite it being practically home-time for the staff, it didn't show at all and we were met with friendly, helpful service from the waiting team. Our meals were delicious. I had a lovely lamb dish - and the waitress' recommendation of a French wine, Tour De Belfort, to accompany it was faultless. Breakfast the following morning was a freshly cooked English breakfast (various options available) and once again we were impressed with the pleasant approach of all the staff we encountered. Although The Gonville isn't typical of the type of hotel we would usually chose to stay in, it was perfect for our purpose - well located for the delightful city of Cambridge, close to everything we wanted to do and see, with a young but polished team who couldn't do enough to please. For a business trip combined with sightseeing, what more could we want?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeandtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    573
    191
    44
    28
See reviews for
211
751
86
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Worcs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights.
The hotel is conveniently located.
The room was very good; clean, spacious and well decorated.
Service was good.
Breakfast was average.
The restaurant should be avoided. Our original meals were cold and had stood too long and had dried out. My wife's substitute meal was undercooked.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Third year in a row I've stayed at The Gonville at this time of year. As always, I appreciated the superb location within easy walk of all the sights, shops and services of central Cambridge. Free parking is a great bonus and the staff is always friendly and professional. Good breakfast and close proximity to a number of good restaurants and ok pubs makes it easy to pop out for a quick pint or bite to eat. Only down side is that it's getting a bit pricey for what it is - but saying that, I've no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itravell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The room was comfortable, and the staff was very helpful. The hotel is in a good location,
across the street from a large park but just around the corner from a street with restaurants etc
and a short walk from the colleges. Our rate included breakfast. It included cold items plus
a variety of items cooked to order.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had a nice big room, beds very comfortable, ideal location right opposite playing fields, short walk to bars & restaurant and approx only 10 min slow walk to great shopping. All the staff were very nice and friendly but without being over the top!! Breakfast was great & again restaurant staff very nice and efficient & plenty of them. As in some of the other reviews we to had problems with the TV as we had to keep switching it on and off to get the channels to work & yes the WFI is slow and strangely you do have to keep entering the password to use it. It wasn't a major issue for us as we were out and about on a leisure weekend but it might be more problematical if I had stayed on business. Overall the location of the hotel was ideal for our needs, the hotel very comfortable and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were generally pleased with the room, albeit rather small by US standards. The television was not working and management made little effort to fix the on-again/off-again problem. This hotel needs to update their cumbersome WiFi system (excessively long passwords, need to repeatedly re-enter to stay connected). On the positive side, we found the hotel's location central to the sightseeing we wanted to do, allowing us to walk to most destinations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Only2Retirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COgston1, Guest Relations Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, listening to our guests is important to us, because it enables us to improve our product and guest experience wherever possible.

I was sorry to learn that you felt little effort was made to rectify the problem with regards to the television. Please be assured that this is not our usual high standard of care and I will be discussing your comments with my team to ensure that they follow through so that problems raised are dealt with to our guests satisfaction.

We clearly missed an opportunity to turn this around for you.

When choosing our complimentary WiFi system for all of our recently refurbished double bedrooms, we went for a system that was comprehensive in quality, speed and security; however following your comments I will be looking to see if improvements can be made without any compromises.

I was pleased however to learn that you found the Hotel’s central location to be ideal for sightseeing which is also great for visiting the famous colleges and plentiful shops.

Thank you again for taking the time and I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Gonville Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechlade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Having stayed here many times over a period of something like 40 years I have seen the standard fall from very good to poor but I am glad to record that things are on the up again. The rooms have recently been upgraded and are very good. Food is now of a high standard and freshly cooked. There appears to be more staff on duty and they are very attentive, friendly and most helpful. Well done to all the staff.
Gillard

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donald g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing