We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bedroom, tasty breakfast and free Wi-Fi and parking”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed for one night in his hotel whilst on business in Cambridge, and was happy with everything during my stay.

The hotel is central to Cambridge City Centre, situated less than 10 minutes walk from the railway station and the heart of the city, and unusually for Cambridge the hotel offered free parking for residents (many hotels in the city charge up to £20 a day for residents).

The staff on the reception desk were friendly, and Alex on reception helped sort out a problem with connecting to the free Wi-Fi in my room by giving me an alternative login, which worked fine. The bedroom was of a good size and the air-con kept the room at a comfortable temperature. There was a TV in the room, plenty of coffee / tea / hot chocolate, and several power points. The bathroom contained a 'wet room' shower and the drench shower head was great...I could have stayed under it for hours!

Breakfast was tasty (arrangement was to give your name to the staff member who then lets you go through to the buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, etc, and then you are seated in the main restaurant and waiting staff take your order). I had the 'Cambridge Breakfast' (sausage, egg on thin toast, mushroom, thick cut bacon, Sauted potatoes), and was happy with the quality of the food and there wasn't too long to wait.

With a city centre location, free Wi-Fi, and free parking, it represents a good deal when comparing it to other city centre hotels in Cambridge...would happily recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidjellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely, modern and roomy rooms. Good to find a hotel with ample of free parking. Close to the city centre. Don't bother with the overpriced breakfast though - a not very appetizing buffet bit and a small portioned cooked breakie wasn't worth nearly £15.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear R K,

Thank you for leaving your much valued feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you found our accommodation contemporary and spacious and it suited all your requirements.

We do offer free car part facility which we feel adds value to the hotel stay experience and I am pleased to know you thought it was very appealing.

Additionally, I would agree our hotel’s location is perfect for touring the historical sites of Cambridge.

I was sorry to hear that you did not found our breakfast price competitive. In addition to our freshly cooked full English breakfast we offer a varied continental style buffet – both breakfasts proving to be very popular amongst our guests. Continental style includes: fish, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals, Danish pastries, fresh bread rolls, muffins, fruit and varied fruit salads. We pride ourselves in serving cooked to order breakfast as a lot of hotels do not provide this service anymore.

I hope we can have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Gonville Hotel again. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally, should you wish to discuss any details.

Again, thank you for your comments and your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna Russell
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Everything impeccable from check in to check out: parking available, clean, quiet and comfortable room, good choice at breakfast, excellent service in every respect. Location ideal in terms of the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inspector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Inspector1,

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly care about providing a pleasant and memorable experience to every guest and nothing gives us more pleasure to see this.

Our newly refurbished, air-conditioned bedrooms and well appointed bathrooms are designed to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible; and we are pleased to know that you found your accommodation very satisfying.

The hotel’s location is certainly very attractive and I understand you found the close proximity to the historic city and its attractions very appealing. I am also pleased you thought that our free car park facility was a bonus to your stay.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna Russell
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a great stay in Cambridge. The hotel is situated really close to the centre of Cambridge and provided an excellent base. We were able to leave the car parked at the hotel whilst exploring on the day that we left and all the staff were extremely welcoming, chatty and approachable without being overbearing- all in all it was a very enjoyable stay that we are looking forward to repeating in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for a few nights when visiting Cambridge on business. The hotel was very comfortable and they put a chocolate on your bed after turning down in the evening. Quality! The bed was very comfortable and the room quite spacious. The rainforest shower head was really nice in the morning. Tried the restaurant the first night as couldn't be bothered to go out in the rain. The bangers and mash were pretty good but the beer selection was a bit limited. It is a close walk into Cambridge center where you have a great choice of good restaurants and sights. Would definitely stay here if going back to Cambridge. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was top quality with vegetarian options and free-rang chicken eggs. Nice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolate4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is very conveniently placed to the city centre. It is easily accessible by various routes into Cambridge and has amble FREE parking. The rooms a large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Also, has excellent lounge/seating area downstairs. If travelling to Cambridge again I wouldn't even bother to look at another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Leanne G,

I am very pleased to learn you chose our hotel due to our central location and that we lived up to your expectation.
To read that you had an enjoyable stay with us is such a great compliment and I would like to thank you for sharing your comments.
I am delighted you were able to appreciate our spotlessly clean, spacious and well appointed bedrooms.
I am pleased you liked our hotel lounge and bar which we also feel is very relaxing especially after a day of sightseeing around Cambridge.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Gonville hotel in near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna Russell
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here on Saturday night and enjoyed the whole experience. All staff, from front desk to serving were very friendly. In the evening we chose to have a light meal selection which was not expensive. The breakfast was more than enough and with plenty of choice. staff the We were allowed our pet dog in the room which was the reason for choosing this hotel, which, as we were facing a large green for dog exercise turned out a brilliant choice.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Bandp2,

I am so pleased to learn you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. It is wonderful to read our staff assisted in making sure you were comfortable and welcomed during your visit. The team and I take great care in looking after our guests whilst in our hospitality, it is therefore lovely to receive such positive feedback.
It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your light meal in the evening and also our breakfast. We are very proud to be able to offer a wide variety of snacks and breakfast options prepared and cooked freshly upon request. I have been sure to share your positive feedback with our head chef and his team and thank you for sharing these comments on Trip Advisor.

We hope you will have the opportunity to visit Cambridge soon and of course bring your lovely pet to stay at the Gonville hotel again.. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct for any assistance with your future bookings.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna Russell
Deputy General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 37 in Cambridge
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £115 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing