We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality and style galore.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Quality and style galore.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have stayed at a number of hotels in the Cambridge area over the years, but this was our first time at The Gonville. It was all very impressive. The rooms are fairly small, but very modern, well fitted and equipped, and not at all noisy. The duvets and pillows, and the fantastic shower facilities, all impressed us. The hotel was experiencing a lot of updating and repainting during our two night stay, although it didn't seem at all in poor repair, but everything was aranged so this refurbishment did not inconvenience us. The team of staff is outstanding - intelligent, elegant, alert and incredibly helpful. It's probably Ben who gets the overall Top Star Award, but remarkably consistent, courteous service gave us a very competitive field to consider! Breakfasts were truly amazing - generous and very high quality provision - they kept us sustained all day, which is a bonus in Cambridge. As is having car parking FREE within walking distance of the historic centre. Well done, Gonville - the Best Western connection seems to have even enhanced your attention to detail and quality. You're highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilesB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Giles B

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are really pleased that you found our Hotel to be very impressive and that you had a great stay with us. Nothing gives us more pleasure to hear that our guests have had a great experience.

I am pleased that you didn’t get disturbed with the work going on which I am pleased to say is now complete and looking fabulous.

We spend a lot of time training and developing the team so I am pleased that you found them to be excellent, Ben has been informed of your praises thank you.

I hope that on your return to the Gonville Hotel I will have the chance to meet you.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    588
    196
    45
    28
See reviews for
222
771
86
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed over Valentines weekend and took advantage of the valentine's meal offer.

Our room was very spacious and overlooked the common. Room facilities were excellent and the staff were very attentive.

Breakfast was very filling with plenty of options.

My wife is from Cambridge and therefore we had first hand knowledge of location and access to town. 15 minutes walk from main shopping area was no bother and quite pleasant.

We will look at staying again, location, staff and food all very good..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear stuart d,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review we were delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon for another enjoyable visit.

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Best bits: 15 mins from station and city centre. Great bed, great sleep. Liked the wet room my wife did not. Very attentive reception team. Room very clean, comfortable.
Reservations team, excellent by phone and emai. Breakfast on the second morning.
Not so great: Breakfast on the first morning, uncleared tables and dirty linen on our table, complaint well received. And it took 3 hours to get a dressing gown for my wife.
Overal it's a 3 star.

Room Tip: Front room wil overlook the park. If its important ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosslareharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Rosslareharbour

Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience not being to our usual high standard, it is certainly not acceptable that you had to wait 3 hours to receive your dressing gown, unfortunately due to a breakdown in communication this was sent to the wrong room and therefore only noticed some time later.

Please know that the correct procedures will be implemented to prevent this poor service from happening again to you or any other valued guest.

Providing excellent service is something we encourage our team to do so it is really disappointing to see that we missed this during your visit, especially being seated at a dirty table.

We are currently reviewing our meet and greet procedure to ensure all guests are shown to the right tables and not missed which sometimes results in going to a table that has not been serviced, more will also be done to ensure they are cleared as quickly as possible.

I pleased that this did not spoil your stay with us and that you found the room to be of a great standard and Reception team helpful, I hope that on return to the Hotel you will see a great improvement!

Thank you taking the time

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed for one night in his hotel whilst on business in Cambridge, and was happy with everything during my stay.

The hotel is central to Cambridge City Centre, situated less than 10 minutes walk from the railway station and the heart of the city, and unusually for Cambridge the hotel offered free parking for residents (many hotels in the city charge up to £20 a day for residents).

The staff on the reception desk were friendly, and Alex on reception helped sort out a problem with connecting to the free Wi-Fi in my room by giving me an alternative login, which worked fine. The bedroom was of a good size and the air-con kept the room at a comfortable temperature. There was a TV in the room, plenty of coffee / tea / hot chocolate, and several power points. The bathroom contained a 'wet room' shower and the drench shower head was great...I could have stayed under it for hours!

Breakfast was tasty (arrangement was to give your name to the staff member who then lets you go through to the buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, etc, and then you are seated in the main restaurant and waiting staff take your order). I had the 'Cambridge Breakfast' (sausage, egg on thin toast, mushroom, thick cut bacon, Sauted potatoes), and was happy with the quality of the food and there wasn't too long to wait.

With a city centre location, free Wi-Fi, and free parking, it represents a good deal when comparing it to other city centre hotels in Cambridge...would happily recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidjellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely, modern and roomy rooms. Good to find a hotel with ample of free parking. Close to the city centre. Don't bother with the overpriced breakfast though - a not very appetizing buffet bit and a small portioned cooked breakie wasn't worth nearly £15.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear R K,

Thank you for leaving your much valued feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you found our accommodation contemporary and spacious and it suited all your requirements.

We do offer free car part facility which we feel adds value to the hotel stay experience and I am pleased to know you thought it was very appealing.

Additionally, I would agree our hotel’s location is perfect for touring the historical sites of Cambridge.

I was sorry to hear that you did not found our breakfast price competitive. In addition to our freshly cooked full English breakfast we offer a varied continental style buffet – both breakfasts proving to be very popular amongst our guests. Continental style includes: fish, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals, Danish pastries, fresh bread rolls, muffins, fruit and varied fruit salads. We pride ourselves in serving cooked to order breakfast as a lot of hotels do not provide this service anymore.

I hope we can have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Gonville Hotel again. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally, should you wish to discuss any details.

Again, thank you for your comments and your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna Russell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Everything impeccable from check in to check out: parking available, clean, quiet and comfortable room, good choice at breakfast, excellent service in every respect. Location ideal in terms of the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inspector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Inspector1,

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly care about providing a pleasant and memorable experience to every guest and nothing gives us more pleasure to see this.

Our newly refurbished, air-conditioned bedrooms and well appointed bathrooms are designed to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible; and we are pleased to know that you found your accommodation very satisfying.

The hotel’s location is certainly very attractive and I understand you found the close proximity to the historic city and its attractions very appealing. I am also pleased you thought that our free car park facility was a bonus to your stay.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna Russell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a great stay in Cambridge. The hotel is situated really close to the centre of Cambridge and provided an excellent base. We were able to leave the car parked at the hotel whilst exploring on the day that we left and all the staff were extremely welcoming, chatty and approachable without being overbearing- all in all it was a very enjoyable stay that we are looking forward to repeating in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing