We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at The Gonville and we were very impressed. We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking Parker's Piece and it was a good size with a small balcony. The room was spotless and housekeeping was excellent. The staff were all friendly polite and helpful. The breakfast was cooked perfectly and there was plenty of variety to chose from. We were also impressed with the smaller nice touches - beds were turned down nightly, bath sheets were enormous, complimentary bottled water, generous amounts of tea, coffee and drinking chocolate in the room and proper mugs not those piddly little cups and saucers you often get. Wifi was superfast. All this and parking too. We have visited Cambridge several times and stayed in a couple of other central hotels but they can't touch The Gonville for quality and value for money. Excellent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Elaine F

Thank you so much for you 5 star review.

We were delighted to see your comments and happy that you found the room to be spotless.

I was really pleased to see that you liked our turn down service and bedroom items in the room to be of good quality.

We have invested a lot in the Wifi so it is great to see that you found this to be super fast!

I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon

Thank you again for taking the time

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    575
    192
    45
    28
See reviews for
213
756
86
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Great place in Cambridge (with a few rooms) overlooking a well kept common. Very near all the highlights and eateries. Multilingual staff are so pleasant and accommodating, massive positive for this hotel. Negatives, not all rooms have a nice view and a glass door in the bathroom which is a little weird, especially if it doesn't close properly. Not very pleasant for a friend or parter you might be sharing with. When were back in town, we will stay there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MacyGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear MacyGM

Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5 star review! It is really appreciated thank you, my team and I are delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us. Next time book direct and ask for one of our rooms without the glass bathroom door it will be our pleasure to arrange this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Excellent attentive and friendly staff at a central location overlooking Parker's Piece with ample inclusive parking on site. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment but all was calm and quiet whilst wooden floors were being relaid downstairs. The room was large and the bed huge! All furnishings smart and a pleasing wet room. Good sound-proofing too. Would happily rebook.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Jill B

I was so pleased to see your comments about excellent, attentive and friendly staff, this is something we are always encouraging them to be. They will be delighted to hear your feedback thank you.

I am also pleased to tell you that the refurbishment work in our Atrium is now complete and looking great – again something we have implemented following our valued guests feedback.

I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Gonville Hotel again soon,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Cambridge hotel prices are very high and some of the expensive ones (eg University Arms) are seriously disappointing. The Gonville Hotel is, in that context, good value. Centrally-located alongside Parkers Piece, it is a good-quality hotel, with quite spacious rooms, good bathrooms and very comfortable beds. In a city where even parking is expensive, the free parking at the entrance to the hotel is welcome, and we've never had a problem finding a space. We never took the breakfast, because it was expensive and there are other places to have breakfast nearby. Fitzbillies at the end of Downing Street is our favourite, five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Geoff46

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was pleased to see that you found the hotel to be of great value. We are always looking for ways in which we can increase this such as the free high speed Wifi and generous on site parking as well as recently refurbished rooms.

I hope that on your next visit to Cambridge we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Gonville.

Thank you again

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have stayed at a number of hotels in the Cambridge area over the years, but this was our first time at The Gonville. It was all very impressive. The rooms are fairly small, but very modern, well fitted and equipped, and not at all noisy. The duvets and pillows, and the fantastic shower facilities, all impressed us. The hotel was experiencing a lot of updating and repainting during our two night stay, although it didn't seem at all in poor repair, but everything was aranged so this refurbishment did not inconvenience us. The team of staff is outstanding - intelligent, elegant, alert and incredibly helpful. It's probably Ben who gets the overall Top Star Award, but remarkably consistent, courteous service gave us a very competitive field to consider! Breakfasts were truly amazing - generous and very high quality provision - they kept us sustained all day, which is a bonus in Cambridge. As is having car parking FREE within walking distance of the historic centre. Well done, Gonville - the Best Western connection seems to have even enhanced your attention to detail and quality. You're highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilesB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Giles B

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are really pleased that you found our Hotel to be very impressive and that you had a great stay with us. Nothing gives us more pleasure to hear that our guests have had a great experience.

I am pleased that you didn’t get disturbed with the work going on which I am pleased to say is now complete and looking fabulous.

We spend a lot of time training and developing the team so I am pleased that you found them to be excellent, Ben has been informed of your praises thank you.

I hope that on your return to the Gonville Hotel I will have the chance to meet you.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed over Valentines weekend and took advantage of the valentine's meal offer.

Our room was very spacious and overlooked the common. Room facilities were excellent and the staff were very attentive.

Breakfast was very filling with plenty of options.

My wife is from Cambridge and therefore we had first hand knowledge of location and access to town. 15 minutes walk from main shopping area was no bother and quite pleasant.

We will look at staying again, location, staff and food all very good..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear stuart d,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review we were delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon for another enjoyable visit.

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Best bits: 15 mins from station and city centre. Great bed, great sleep. Liked the wet room my wife did not. Very attentive reception team. Room very clean, comfortable.
Reservations team, excellent by phone and emai. Breakfast on the second morning.
Not so great: Breakfast on the first morning, uncleared tables and dirty linen on our table, complaint well received. And it took 3 hours to get a dressing gown for my wife.
Overal it's a 3 star.

Room Tip: Front room wil overlook the park. If its important ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosslareharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Rosslareharbour

Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience not being to our usual high standard, it is certainly not acceptable that you had to wait 3 hours to receive your dressing gown, unfortunately due to a breakdown in communication this was sent to the wrong room and therefore only noticed some time later.

Please know that the correct procedures will be implemented to prevent this poor service from happening again to you or any other valued guest.

Providing excellent service is something we encourage our team to do so it is really disappointing to see that we missed this during your visit, especially being seated at a dirty table.

We are currently reviewing our meet and greet procedure to ensure all guests are shown to the right tables and not missed which sometimes results in going to a table that has not been serviced, more will also be done to ensure they are cleared as quickly as possible.

I pleased that this did not spoil your stay with us and that you found the room to be of a great standard and Reception team helpful, I hope that on return to the Hotel you will see a great improvement!

Thank you taking the time

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing