We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable night”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We very much enjoyed the restaurant here, dinner was lovely and the breakfast was superb. We had a very comfortable nights sleep in a clean room, and the free parking was a bonus. Good location opposite the green so a nice walk into town. All in all - winner!

Room Tip: The lift is tiny - not a big issue but if you have children / prams, be aware
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for The Gonville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great with parking included, it is only a 10min walk to the heart of the city. The rooms are really nice and quite big. It would be nice to have both a bath and shower rather than one or the other. We asked for a view of the park and this was provided which was great. The breakfast was lovely and they provided soya milk which was really appreciated. All staff were really friendly and helpful. My only issue is the cost, I think despite the many positives it is over priced, but this seems to be a theme in Cambridge. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank travellingkit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for the night over the weekend. Great location, a couple of minutes walk from the bars and restaurants. Parking is an absolute bonus. The greeting was friendly and our room was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was spot on, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay with us over the weekend and everything including the breakfast was to our normal high standard.

Please know I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of the team who will also be very pleased.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thanks again,

Kind regards


Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was one of the best hotel experiences we've had. The room was spacious, well decorated, very clean and comfortable. From the reception, to the restaurant and the housekeeping team, the staff were helpful and courteous with a genuine friendliness. There was an excellent cooked breakfast available and also a buffet option with lots of choice. The hotel provides free parking, which is at a premium in Cambridge. It is within easy walking distance of all amenities and sites. At the time of our visit (March 2014) the pictures on the website didn't do the hotel justice which seemed to have been recently decorated throughout. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Craig R

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we are delighted to hear that we were one of the best hotel experiences you had.

Please know I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of the team who will also be really pleased that you had a great stay.

I am also pleased that you found the cooked breakfast to be excellent and our buffet selection to offer plenty of choice.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Cambridge - remember great savings can be made when booking direct!

Thanks again

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

some staff had difficulty understanding order, or what was requested especially at night. overall stay lovely so close to town, found the heating esepcially working the fan had to remove card from door to switch the sound off at night, but lovely hotel, lovely staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gareth0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Gareth0502

Thank you for your 5 star review following your recent visit to the Gonville Hotel.

I was sorry to see that initially we didn’t understand your request, please know that I will be taking this up with my team to ensure that we handle this better in future.

I am pleased however to see that this did not affect your stay and you were able to enjoy the beautiful sights of Cambridge given that we are so close to the centre.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I arranged a trustees meeting here, which required accommodation, meeting rooms and an evening reception. Everything was done with the utmost care and attention - the staff were really friendly and courteous (even the housekeeping staff ALL said good morning to me) but never in your face and always discreet - like I said everything a hotel should be. The room was immaculate, spacious and they even come in turn the sheets, organise the day cushions etc. at night. Great location and although at the higher end of the pricing scale, reasonable value given the exceptional location in central Cambridge. Would not hesitate to use this place again for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: From what I can gather the rooms are of a pretty consistent high standard.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Phil J

Firstly may I thank you for your 5 star review, my team and I are delighted to see your high score and feedback.

It was a real pleasure to have your trustees meeting here and we are really pleased we helped may it a success!

Providing excellent service is something we spend a lot of time training and developing the team to do and it is always nice to hear back when this is followed through.

I will also be passing on your comments with regards to the room being immaculate and I am glad you found it to be spacious as well as having a great central location.

I hope that I will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Gonville Hotel soon.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £140 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing