We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located plus parking”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well located plus parking”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A perfectly pleasant place to stay and within walking distance of the centre of town. The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and the rooms nicely appointed. I believe they're renovating the hotel over time as the rooms seemed recently furnished whereas the reception needs some updating. We didn't use the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. Free parking is a huge bonus as central Cambridge is not an easy place to park. Overall a nice stay and would return if an overnight was required in Cambridge. As a general comment, I found hotels in Cambridge to be expensive (even more so if you have to pay for parking) and so £160ish for a Saturday night may seem a lot but for central Cambridge I think it represents one of the better value options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank SamPearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    608
    201
    46
    28
See reviews for
228
792
93
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a really good hotel.Ideally located for the centre of Cambridge.The room was very pleasantly decorated of a good size with a decent LG flat screen television.The bed was very comfortable.Complimentary bottles of water was a nice touch.The reception staff were excellent and acted on every request with no problems.I read previous reviews about the breakfast well if there was a problem it's behind them because the full English was superb .Also free parking wich is brilliant.I would definitely recommend this hotel and would use it again without a second thought.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papadopoulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Papadopoulous,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review! This was great to see, the team and I were delighted to see your comments and pleased that you had a great stay with us.

I hope that we will get to welcome you back to the Gonville soon!

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millport18
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

One night stay. Uninspiring reception but very nice welcome. Had a twin room which was very nicely appointed and had comfortable beds. Modern bathroom and plenty of hot water. We had a problem with something falling down the plug hole and had to leave for a meeting - told reception and the problem was resolved by the time we had returned - excellent service. Breakfast was excellent in the morning in a nice, airy and well sunlit restaurant. Everything very clean. Good parking and no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Milport18

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to tell you that soon our uninspiring reception will have a make over and will be looking fabulous!

We thought it was more important to get the guest rooms refurbished first before moving on to the public areas. We have recently finished the Atrium which as you say is airy and well sunlit.

I am pleased that you found everything to be to your satisfaction and you were able to have a great stay with us.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thanks again for taking the time,

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We very much enjoyed the restaurant here, dinner was lovely and the breakfast was superb. We had a very comfortable nights sleep in a clean room, and the free parking was a bonus. Good location opposite the green so a nice walk into town. All in all - winner!

Room Tip: The lift is tiny - not a big issue but if you have children / prams, be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great with parking included, it is only a 10min walk to the heart of the city. The rooms are really nice and quite big. It would be nice to have both a bath and shower rather than one or the other. We asked for a view of the park and this was provided which was great. The breakfast was lovely and they provided soya milk which was really appreciated. All staff were really friendly and helpful. My only issue is the cost, I think despite the many positives it is over priced, but this seems to be a theme in Cambridge. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingkit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for the night over the weekend. Great location, a couple of minutes walk from the bars and restaurants. Parking is an absolute bonus. The greeting was friendly and our room was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was spot on, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay with us over the weekend and everything including the breakfast was to our normal high standard.

Please know I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of the team who will also be very pleased.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thanks again,

Kind regards


Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton-Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was one of the best hotel experiences we've had. The room was spacious, well decorated, very clean and comfortable. From the reception, to the restaurant and the housekeeping team, the staff were helpful and courteous with a genuine friendliness. There was an excellent cooked breakfast available and also a buffet option with lots of choice. The hotel provides free parking, which is at a premium in Cambridge. It is within easy walking distance of all amenities and sites. At the time of our visit (March 2014) the pictures on the website didn't do the hotel justice which seemed to have been recently decorated throughout. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Craig R

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we are delighted to hear that we were one of the best hotel experiences you had.

Please know I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of the team who will also be really pleased that you had a great stay.

I am also pleased that you found the cooked breakfast to be excellent and our buffet selection to offer plenty of choice.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Cambridge - remember great savings can be made when booking direct!

Thanks again

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing