We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Ideal location for visiting Cambridge.”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had a very pleasant weekend stay at the Gonville Hotel. My room was very comfortable & clean with a great view of the park. The staff were very friendly,professional & helpful. Breakfast & Dinner were both very tasty meals with the food being well presented. Yes there is some refurbishment going on which was explained to me on my arrival, but it didn't spoil my stay in any way. It's as much of an inconvenience to the Management & staff I'm sure as it is to the guests. I have no complaints about my stay whatsoever & will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Paul R

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your understanding.

Having previously worked in some well known prestigious hotel chains, I know first hand that it is not always easy to implement guest suggestions or feedback.

Which is why it is really rewarding to work in a family owned hotel that allows us to listen to our guests and make improvements that add to the overall guest experience.

At the moment we are tackling the reception area that looked old and out dated to make it look contemporary and fresh, because now that we have completed the bedroom refurbishment we really want to add to our guest’s first and last impression.

Apart from using a different reception area the inconvenience is really kept to a minimum and does not affect any of the bedrooms. I am pleased to say that it will be completed soon and will really add the wow factor!

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back and you will see the improvements made was really worth doing.

Thank you again for your understanding I am pleased it did not spoil your stay in any way.

Kind regards


Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked the hotel well in advance, but when I arrived there were building works going on, which I don't remember being warned of beforehand. Mostly this meant the layout was very odd - having to walk through the restaurant to get to the bedrooms, with paper signs directing the way etc.

Most importantly for me there was a temporary ramp leading into the building - I'm disabled so this matters and I would've preferred advance warning.

Breakfast was very busy and service very slow.

The staff were very impressive, very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. It is clearly a beautiful, high quality hotel and will be lovely when completed, but having paid £188 for B&B, I would've chosen differently if I'd known about the minor inconveniences.

Room Tip: Good hotel, probably brilliant when not being refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Wilma1977

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, I was pleased to see that you found the hotel staff to be very impressive and helpful, and the benefit of the improvements we are making will have on the hotel.

This is really exciting for us becuase this will connect the recently refurbished bedrooms with the public areas; however it was important for us to complete the bedrooms first before areas such as the Atrium and Reception area.

Now that the Atrium is complete this has made such a difference to the feel of the hotel and I am sure when reception is finished too will also really add to the guest experience.

I am sorry that you did not feel you were warned beforehand, we have tried to contact all of our guests and have also put notices up on our website and third part websites also to give warning that things are temporarily not as usual.

Please email me on gm@gonvillehotel.co.uk and let me know next time you are planning on visiting and we will ensure you are well looked after.

I am aware that we have had a couple of issues with Breakfast service recently and I am pleased to tell you that I am taking steps to rectify this.

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Beware as there is a major refurbishment going on and even the sections of the hotel that 'are not impacted'... they are. There is an overall feeling of dust everywhere. The lift area is like a building site, with cardboard and masking tape everywhere. The entrance is most unappealing - a bit like arriving at an old office building. For £170 it is not worth it at all. The experience was so disappointing that we checked out before wasting our life in a place that is so depressing. Amazing that the room fees remained the same. There are plenty of B&B's - even the Doubletree or Cambridge City Hotel are worth considering before shelling out for a room here. Also the rooms are so tiny and the furnishings tired there is no sense of freshness/cleanliness. Very disheartening experience. Never will grace these steps again... shocking.

Room Tip: Select a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear NikkiEssexEngland

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I was really disappointed to see that you had such a poor experience with us due to the improvements we are making with our current reception area, especially as we have taken every opportunity to ensure any inconvenience caused is kept to an absolute minimum.

We have also kept this in mind when setting the prices and looking at what other hotels charge for double occupancy, full English breakfast, on site parking and hi speed wifi feel that this represents great value.

I agree that the temporary set up is not ideal however with the location of reception this makes it difficult to navigate around however we have found that most of our guests have been very understanding about this.

I was also sorry and a bit surprised that you didn’t tell us about your disappointment before you left? This would have enabled us to put this right for you and explain the positive changes we are making.

I am pleased to say however that the reception area will soon be complete and will really look amazing, adding to our guests overall experience. Not only have we refurbished all of our bedrooms, we have also recently completed our Atrium restaurant and soon reception, all of which has been implemented following our guests feedback.

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We found this hotel to be excellent on a 3-night stay, with free parking thrown-in and just a short walk to the city centre. The staff were excellent, welcoming, friendly and attentive to our needs. Breakfast was good with a fair range of cold and hot options, the latter being prepared to order, so freshly cooked. We had a couple of pre-arranged group dinners and these were excellent too, and with good, but not intrusive, service. Possibly their wines did not quite match-up to the standard of their food, but they were passable. Our room and ensuite were both large, quiet (at the side, but rooms at the front may be more noisy) and the bed very comfortable, so we will definitely return here on a future visit.

Room Tip: Rear and side rooms are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripbayliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear tripbayliff,

Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased that your 3 night stay with us was excellent and you found the free parking to be of value! Many other hotels charge as much as £24.50 per night for this which we feel is unreasonable.

I was also pleased that you found my team to be welcoming, friendly and attentive. This is something we are always encouraging them to do in our focus to be the hotel of choice in Cambridge.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to our wines, this is something we will be taking up with our supplier, it is a shame that you did not get to try our award winning Tour De Belfort during your stay as this would have certainly impressed you, let me know next time you stay and I will ensure you get to try some.

Thank you again for taking the time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Gonville hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood in walking distance to Cambridge city center. The room was of medium-size, quiet during night, modern and clean, and the beds were comfortable. The air conditioning worked fine and the temerature was easy to control. The breakfast was good with both cold and hot dishes. The only things to complain about were the shower since the whole bathroom got flooded when you took a shower and the (complimentary) WiFi where the signal strength was a bit weak in the room. The staff was very nice and helpful. At this cost the hotel is good value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenSkibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear SwedenSkibum,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We were delighted to learn that you found us to be a very nice hotel well located to the city centre and the rooms to be quite and of a good size and clean.

We have not long refurbished our bedrooms and as part of this included some wet rooms, so it does appear to flood the bathroom however with the clever design of the floor tiles this is quickly drained away. I am also pleased to say that as part of our investment in the hotel we also refurbished some of the more traditional style rooms which have the normal bathrooms.

We did have a glitch with regards to the wifi due to the work we are currying out currently in reception, please accept my apologies for this affecting you, this is now back to our usually high speed.

I am pleased that you found us to be of good value and I hope that on your return to Cambridge you will decided to stay with us again.

Remember when booking direct that’s when the best savings can be made!
Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

In the run up to the wedding the staff were so helpful and efficient , and on the day everyone worked so hard and were so accomodating, everything went like clockwork. It really did surpass our expectation and our guests complimented us on what a tasteful event it had been. The hotel garden was great for photos (although a few more annuals wouldn't go amiss) and the sit down wedding breakfast for 30 was delicious and expertly served. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Natalie I,

We are delighted that your Wedding Reception was perfect!

It is so important for us to get such an important day right for you and ensure that you have positive memories of the best day of your lives.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the Garden this is something we have already started work on and will soon be looking more fabulous.

I hope that we will get another chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon for another great stay.

Thanks again

Kind regards,
Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £121 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing